
 

   

 
 

 
 

 
     

 

               

ADDRESS CHANGE 
Change your address online at dmv.ny.gov 

NEW YORK STATE VOTER REGISTRATION APPLICATION INFORMATION 
(Please read before you complete the NYS Voter Registration application on Page 2.) 

 OFFICE USE ONLY 

To Register You Must:•
•• be a U.S. citizen 
•• be 18 years old (you may pre-register at 16 or 17 but cannot vote until you are 18) 

• not be in prison for a felony conviction 
•• not claim the right to vote elsewhere 
•• not found to be incompetent by a court 

If you do not complete the New York State Voter Registration Application, you will be considered to have declined to register to vote. If you decline to 
register to vote, the fact that you have declined to register will remain confidential and will be used only for voter registration purposes. If you do register to 
vote, the office at which you submit a voter registration application will remain confidential and will only be used for voter registration purposes. If you 
believe that someone has interfered with your right to register or decline to register to vote, your right to privacy in deciding whether to register or in applying 
to register to vote, or your right to choose your own political party or other political preference, you may file a complaint with the New York State Board of 
Elections, 40 North Pearl Street, Albany, NY 12207-2729 (phone: 1-800-469-6872). 

Your completed application will be sent to the Board of Elections and you will be notified by your County Board of Elections when your application has been 
processed. If you have any questions about filling out the voter registration application or registering to vote, you should call your County Board of Elections 
or call 1-800-FOR-VOTE (TDD/TTY enter 711) (only for voter registration questions). If you live in New York City, you should call 1-866-VOTE-NYC. You 
may also find answers or tools at the New York State Board of Elections website www.elections.ny.gov 
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    You can change your address online at dmv.ny.gov or at your local DMV office.

New York State (NYS) law requires you to notify DMV within 10 days of any PERMANENT address change if you have a NYS driver 
license, learner permit or non-driver ID card, or a NYS registration for a vehicle, boat, or snowmobile. DO NOT report a temporary address 
change.
You can change your address as part of the document renewal process. Complete the new address fields on your paper reminder notice, or 
update your address on your MyDMV account. For information about how to change your address online, visit dmv.ny.gov/address-change. 
You do not have to get a new license, permit, non-driver ID card, or registration document, but you have the option to get a new document.   
If you want a new document:   

1.  Complete Part 1 and Part 2 on page 2 of this form. 
2.  Sign your name in the “Certification” section. 
3.  Submit a copy (front and back) of your current valid NYS License/Permit/NDID or Military ID. 
4.  Write a check or money order made payable to “Commissioner of Motor Vehicles” for the total fee.   
5.  Mail the completed form and payment to:  

 
 
6.  Keep your current document(s) until you receive your new document(s) in the mail in 4 to 6 weeks. If you request  
     a new enhanced or REAL ID license, permit, or ID card, your residence address will be shown on your document and your 
     document will be mailed to your mailing address. If you request a standard license, permit, or ID card, your mailing 
     address will be shown on your document. 

 
NOTE: Personally identifiable information collected for the purpose of issuing a license or identification card may be verified against 
nationwide systems for accuracy. Upon issuance of a New York State credential, an out-of-state credential may be cancelled based on that 
issuing jurisdiction’s rules, laws or regulations and even when the applicant fails to report/disclose it. 

If you DO NOT want a new document:  
1. Complete Part 1 but do not complete Part 2. DMV will update your DMV record(s) at no cost.   
2. Update your address on your NYS license, permit, or non-driver ID card, and on your NYS registration document. To     

update your address, write your new address directly on the back of the document with permanent ink in the 
    “Enter Address Change” box. For registrations, put a line through the old address and enter new address on the front.  
3.  Submit a copy (front and back) of your current valid NYS License/Permit/NDID or Military ID.

NYS DMV License Production Bureau 
PO Box 2895 
Albany, NY 12220-0895 

If you change your address and have not paid the fines for traffic violations in New York City, you must call the Traffic Violations Bureau at 
(718) 488-5710. Be prepared to provide your new address and pay your fines. Visit dmv.ny.gov/tvboffice.htm for more information.      

Use the NYS Voter Registration Application to Register 

to Vote in NYS Elections, and/or:  
 l change the name or address on your voter registration 
 l become a member of a political party 
 l change your party membership 
 l pre-register to vote if you are 16 or 17 years of age
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PAGE 2 OF 2 ADDRESS CHANGE Change your address online at dmv.ny.gov 

 PART 1 - Complete this section to CHANGE YOUR ADDRESS 
Provide the information in Part 1 that applies to the type of document that you want to update.  Mark the box for each type of document that you have and 

••Standard Document ••Enhanced Document ••REAL ID Document ••Registration

IMPORTANT: If you are registered to vote, your voter registration record will be updated when you complete and submit this form.  If you do NOT want your new address 
on your voter registration record, mark this box  •.  If you do not mark the box, your new address will be sent to the Board of Elections of your county of residence.

LICENSE/PERMIT/NON-DRIVER ID CARD:  
Enter  the ID number  on New York  State  
license/permit/non-driver ID card. 

TELEPHONE NUMBER 

NAME (Print your name - Last, First, MI)   DATE OF BIRTH 

•••M ••F  ••X 

NEW ADDRESS - WHERE YOU GET YOUR MAIL (Required - Include Street No. and Name, Rural Delivery, Apt. No., and/or P.O. Box No. Also fill in residence address below.) 

CITY OR TOWN STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY •• Mark this box if the address where you get mail is the same as the 
address where you live. (If you mark this box, do not complete the "New 
Address - Where You Live" fields. Go to the “Previous NYS Address” row.) 

NEW ADDRESS – WHERE YOU LIVE (Required if different from your address for mail - DO NOT GIVE P.O. BOX. Include Street No. and Name, and  Apt. No.) 

CITY OR TOWN STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY 

PREVIOUS NYS ADDRESS (Include Street No. and Name, Rural Delivery, Apt. No., and/or Box No.) CITY OR TOWN COUNTY 

CERTIFICATION: I certify that I am the individual named above and that the information provided is true to the best of my knowledge.

Sign Here: x 
Sign Name in Full Date 

WARNING!  Knowingly providing false information on this form is a misdemeanor and will result in penalties authorized by law.

 PART 2  Complete this section to PURCHASE A REPLACEMENT DOCUMENT THAT SHOWS YOUR NEW ADDRESS
Mark the box for each type of document that you currently have and want to update to show your new address. Then, pay the fee(s) with a 
check that has the account holder’s name pre-printed or a money order, payable to “Commissioner of Motor Vehicles” for the total fee. 
• Driver License (Fee:  $17.50)•••• • Learner Permit (Fee:  $17.50) • Non-Driver ID Card (Fee:  $8.00)*

      (do not select if you are requesting a license document) • Registration (Fee: $3.00 per registration)••• Boat Registration (Fee: $2.00 per registration)
      Visit dmv.ny.gov/offices for more information about how to process your snowmobile registration in the county where you live. 

Additional information to replace a non-driver ID: *
• If you are 62 years old OR a Supplemental Security Income recipient, the fee is $6.50. 
• If you are 62 years old AND a Supplemental Security Income recipient, there is no fee.
• If you are a Supplemental Security Income recipient, you must provide proof with this 
•

 PART 3  NEW YORK STATE VOTER REGISTRATION APPLICATION
Complete this application if you want to register to vote or update your voter registration information with the Board of Elections.  
Are you a citizen of the U.S.?  
• Yes • No
If you answer NO,  
you cannot register to vote. 

Will you be 18 years of age or older on or before election day? • Yes • No 
Are you at least 16 years of age and understand that you must be 18 years of age on or before election day to vote, and that until you will be eighteen years 
of age at the time of such election your registration will be marked “pending” and you will be unable to cast a ballot in any election?  • Yes • No 
If you answer NO to both of the prior questions, you cannot register to vote. 

Have you voted before? 
• Yes • No 
What Year?

Voting information that Your name was 
has changed: 
Skip if this has not changed or Your address was Your state or New York State County was: 
you have not voted before. 

More Information Email Telephone Number 
(Optional) 

Political Party I wish to enroll in a political party: 

You must make 1 

selection. Political party 

enrollment is optional 

• Democratic party 

• Republican party 

AFFIDAVIT: I swear or affirm that 

• I am a citizen of the United States. 
• I will have lived in the county, city, or village for at least 30 days before the election. 

but that, in order to vote 
•• Conservative party • I meet all requirements to register to vote in New York State. 

in a primary election of 

a political party, a voter •• Working Families party 
• This is my signature or mark on the line below. 
• The above information is true. I understand that if it is not true, I can be convicted 

must enroll  in that 

political party unless 
• Other: and fined up to $5,000 and/or jailed for up to four years.

state party rules allow I do not wish to enroll in any political party and wish to 

otherwise. remain an independent voter 

• No party Sign X Date 

reset/clear 

that must be changed to show your new address. Must include a copy ( front and back) of your current valid NYS License/Permit/NDID or Military ID.
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o Passenger  o Commercial  o Snowmobile  o Boat  o Other (Specify)

License Plate No.  Different Owner /Registrant *Type of Registration (Mark One)

* Title certificate records are also updated IF they are issued in the same registrant name.  Mark the box for each registration where your name also appears on the title  
  certificate, but the name(s) on the registration and title do not exactly match.  For example, the registration is in your name only but the title is issued in two names.

o Passenger  o Commercial  o Snowmobile  o Boat  o Other (Specify)

o Passenger  o Commercial  o Snowmobile  o Boat  o Other (Specify)

o          

o          

o          

o Snowmobile Registration (Fee: $1.00 per registration)  

form.** 
After October 1, 2020, there is no fee for public assistance recipients. You must provide proof with this form.**

** Visit dmv.ny.gov/non-driver-id-fees      
    for more information on acceptable proofs.

REGISTRATION: Provide the information below for each registration in your name that you would like updated to your new address. 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/offices/county-offices
https://dmv.ny.gov/non-driver-id/non-driver-id-fees-and-refunds
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