




New York State's need for organ and tissue donation is tremendous. Each year, thousands of New Yorkers 
wait for a life-saving transplant. Just one person who donates their organs can save up 

to eight lives.

What can you do to help?

Enroll in the NYS Donate Life Registry Online:
If you are 16 years of age or older, simply go to dmv.ny.gov and sign up to be an organ donor through 

MyDMV, or go to donatelife.ny.gov.

Enroll By Mail:
If you prefer, enroll by signing the organ donation box on your driver license or non-driver identification 
card application or on your renewal form. If it's not time for you to renew your license or non-driver ID, 

simply go to donatelife.ny.gov to print and mail in your enrollment application or enroll online; 
it's just that easy!

What You Should Know if You Enroll in the NYS Registry:

• Tell your family you have enrolled in the   
 Registry and have given your legal   
 consent for donation to occur upon your death; 
• Your decision to donate will not a ect your   
 medical treatment;    
• The organs and tissues you donate will go   
 to the patients in the greatest need; 

• There is no cost to the donor's family; 
• You can have your name removed from 
 the Registry at any time; 
• After you enroll, you will receive a      
 confirmation email or letter to confirm   
 your enrollment and provide you with   
 additional information. 

For more information call 1-866-NYDONOR (693-6667)
visit donatelife.ny.gov or contact one of these organizations:

Donate Life NYS: 518-326-3237 www.donatelifenys.org
Center for Donation & Transplant: 1-800-256-7811 www.cdtny.org (Capital District)

Finger Lakes Donor Recovery Network: 1-800-810-5494 www.donorrecovery.org (Finger Lakes Region)
LiveOnNY, Inc.: 1-800-443-8469 www.liveonny.org (Metro NYC and Long Island Area)

ConnectLife: 1-800-227-4771 www.connectlife.org (Western NY/Bu alo)

Go the extra mile, be an 

ORGAN DONOR 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://donatelife.ny.gov/
https://donatelife.ny.gov/
https://donatelife.ny.gov/
https://donatelifenys.org/
http://www.cdtny.org/
http://www.donorrecovery.org/
https://www.liveonny.org/
https://www.connectlife.org/
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 You must have a valid driver license to drive le-
gally in New York State. If you reside in and hold a 
valid license from another state or nation, you can 
drive legally in New York State. However, even if 
you are licensed somewhere else, people under 
age 16 cannot drive in New York State.
 
 Drivers who have moved here must turn in their 
out-of-state driver license and get a New York 
license within 30 days of becoming a permanent 
resident. In most cases, it is illegal to hold a New 
York driver license and a driver license from an-
other state at the same time. It is also a violation 
of Federal and state law to hold more than one 
commercial driver license (CDL).
 
 It is a crime to alter or forge any motor vehicle 
document, including a driver license. This may 
cause suspension or revocation of the driver 
license and criminal prosecution resulting in a fine  
or imprisonment.
 

TYPES OF LICENSES
 
 New York State recognizes six types of 
non-commercial driver licenses. The information 
in this chapter applies to passenger car and mo-
torcycle licenses. Information about commercial 
driver licenses (CDL’s) can be found in the Com-
mercial Driver’s Manual (CDL-10). This is available 
from the DMV website (search under Forms) or at 
any motor vehicle office. You must have a CDL if 
you drive any vehicle that:
 
  •  Has a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight 

rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 pounds 
(11,794 kg); or  

  •  Has a gross combination weight rating 
(GCWR) of more than 26,000 pounds 
(11,794 kg), including any towed unit with a 
GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds (4,536 
kg); or,

  •  Is made or used to carry 15 or more  
persons, in addition to the driver; or, 

  •  Regardless of seating capacity, is defined  
as a bus by Article 19-A of the Vehicle and  
Traffic Law (including vehicles that carry 
school children or disabled people); or, 

  •  Carries hazardous materials required by 
federal law to contain a placard.

 
The non-commercial driver licenses in this 
manual are:
 
 Operator, Class D - Minimum age is 18, or age 
17 with a driver education Certificate of Comple-
tion (see Driver Education later in this chapter). 
Allows you to drive a vehicle with a manufactur-
er’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 
pounds (11,794 kg) or less; to tow a vehicle with a 
GVWR of 10,000 pounds (4,536 kg) or less; or tow 
a vehicle of more than 10,000 pounds if the gross 
combination weight rating (GCWR) of the two 
vehicles together is no more than 26,000 pounds 
(11,794 kg). You can also operate Class B and C 
mopeds with this driver license.
 
 Junior Operator, Class DJ - Minimum age is 
16. Allows you to drive a vehicle with a GVWR 
of 10,000 pounds (4,536 kg) or less, and tow a 
vehicle of 3,000 pounds (1,361 kg) or less. You can 
also operate Class B and C mopeds with this driv-
er license. Please note you are limited with where, 
when, and with whom you can drive – please 
refer to the section of this manual labelled “Junior 
Operator Restrictions” found later in this chapter.
 
 Non-CDL Class C - Minimum age is 18. Allows 
you to drive some vehicles with a GVWR of 
26,000 pounds or less, or to tow a vehicle with 
a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less providing the 
GCWR is not more than 26,000 pounds (11,794 kg) 
where no CDL endorsement is required.
 
 Taxi/Livery, Class E - Minimum age is 18. 
Allows you to drive the same vehicles as a Class 

INFORMATION FOR DRIVERS  
& VEHICLE OWNERS

CHAPTER 1 / DRIVER LICENSES
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D license, and transport passengers for hire in a 
vehicle designed or used to carry 14 or fewer pas-
sengers. If the vehicle is defined as a bus under 
Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law (e.g., a 
school car or a van that transports physically or 
mentally disabled persons), regardless of seating 
capacity, you must have a CDL.
 
 Motorcycle, Class M - Minimum age is 18, or 
age 17 with a driver education Certificate of Com-
pletion (see Driver Education later in this chapter). 
Allows you to drive motorcycles and mopeds.  
 
 Junior Motorcycle, Class MJ - Minimum age is 
16. Allows you to drive motorcycles and mopeds. 
You are also limited with where, when, and with 
whom you can drive – please refer to the section 
of this manual labelled “Junior Operator Restric-
tions” found later in this chapter.
 
  Note: If you have a motorcycle license and 

another type of driver license, both classes will 
be listed on one document (e.g., “Class DM”).

 
 Enhanced Driver License - Can be used for 
land and sea border crossings to and from the 
U.S., Canada, Mexico, Bermuda and the Caribbe-
an. This license can be used instead of a passport 
as an identity and Citizenship document at these 
crossings and for air travel within the U.S. This is 
an option for NYS residents who are U.S. citizens. 
Commercial driver licenses and motorcycle licens-
es can also be issued as an EDL.
 
 REAL ID License – The REAL ID Act is a federal 
law passed by Congress resulting from the 9/11 
Commission’s recommendation that establishes 
specific federal requirements for state-issued 
driver licenses, permits and ID cards to be accept-
able for certain federal purposes. Soon, every air 
traveler flying within the United States will need to 
present a REAL ID or an Enhanced Driver License, 
or bring another acceptable form of identification, 
determined by the federal government, to get 
through security at U.S. airports. To get a REAL 
ID, you will need to go to a DMV Office. For more 
information, visit dmv.ny.gov.

 Personal Use Vehicle (Rental, Recreational 
Vehicle) or “R” endorsement - The Personal Use 
Vehicle “R” endorsement is required for opera-
tion of recreational and/or rental vehicles used 
to transport personal household goods when the 
vehicle is over 26,000 pounds (11,794 kg.) GVWR 
and/or forty (40) feet in length. This endorsement 
is available to Class D and E license drivers.
 
 To get an “R” endorsement: Submit a complet-
ed Application for Driver License or ID Card (MV-
44) to a state or county motor vehicle office; pay 
a permit fee, which is valid for a maximum of two 
road tests; and pass a road test in the size and 
type of vehicle you will drive. No written test is re-
quired. For the road test, a driver who is at least 21 
years old, with a license valid for the vehicle you 
will drive during the test, must accompany you. 
(e.g., a driver license with an “R” endorsement 
or the correct Commercial Driver License). The 
road test will take approximately 15 minutes and 
will include turns, intersections and backing the 
vehicle to the curb. When you pass the road test, 
you must go to a motor vehicle office and pay  
the required fee to complete the license  
amendment process.
 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
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WHEN YOU APPLY FOR YOUR FIRST 
LICENSE
 
 The information and required application forms 
you need to apply for a learner permit or driver 
license are available at any motor vehicle office. 
You can also download them from the DMV 
website. To apply for a learner permit or driver 
license you must complete an Application for 
Driver License (MV-44). You must pass a vision 
and knowledge test and pay the application and 
license fees. Most drivers must also complete an 
approved 5-hour Pre-Licensing Course and pass 
a road test. For more information about how to ap-
ply for and receive a license to drive a motorcycle 
or a commercial vehicle that requires a CDL, refer 
to the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual (MV-21MC) 
or the Commercial Driver’s Manual (CDL-10).
 
 You must bring your completed application to 
any motor vehicle office, show the required proof 
of name and date of birth, provide your Social 
Security card and pay the correct fee.
 
 Your first New York driver license will be issued 
for a period not to exceed 5 years, on your month 
and day of birth. Your fee for a learner permit and 
license in Class D, DJ, M or MJ will be based on 
your age and date of birth.
 

Proof of Identity and Age
 
 For your protection, DMV must be sure who 
you are. As part of the application, you must pro-
vide your Social Security card. You must present 
documents that prove your name and age. All 
proofs must be in English or accompanied by a 
certified English translation. The list of acceptable 
documents and assigned point values, described 
below, are on form How to apply for a New York 
Learner Permit, Driver License, or Non-Driver ID 
Card (ID-44) available from the DMV  
website (search under Forms) or at any  
motor vehicle office.
 
Proof of Name
  
 Documents that prove your name are assigned 
a point value. You must present proofs that total 
six points or more. At least one of the proofs must 
have your signature. 

Examples of common proofs and their point val-
ues are listed below.
 
Each document below has a value of 6 points:
 
  •  New York Photo Driver License/Permit/

Non-Driver ID Card (Must be current or not 
expired for more than 2 years.)

 
Each document below has a value of 4 points:
 
  •  DMV Statement of Identity and/or Resi-

dence by Parent/Guardian (MV-45)  
( If under 21. See special instructions and 
requirements on the DMV form). Proof of 
date of birth and an original Social Security 
card are required for the applicant.

 
  •  DMV Statement of Identity and/or 

Residence (MV-45A) (For applicants 
represented by Government or 
Government Approved Facilities.)

 
  •  DMV Statement of Identity (MV-45B) 

(For applicants who can be considered 
a disenfranchised, homeless youth; 
not usable for an Enhanced or REAL ID 
Document.*)  

  •  U.S. Passport or Passport Card (Must  
be valid.)

 
  •  Foreign passport - in English and with a 

U.S. Visa and valid I-94 or unexpired I-551 
stamp or statement on visa. If the document 
is not in English, a certified translation by 
the embassy or consulate of the issuing 
country is required. See the publication 
Proofs of Identity (ID-44).

 
  • Consular ID Document
 
  •  Foreign Driver License with Photo. Must be 

current or expired no longer than 2 years.
 
  •  Photo Driver License/Permit/Non-Driver 

ID Card issued by another U.S. state, 
jurisdiction, territory or possession, or, a 
Canadian province or territory (must be 
current or expired no longer than 2 years.)
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Each document below has a value of 3 points:
 
  • Valid U.S. Re-entry Permit (I-327) 
 
  •  Valid U.S. Refugee Travel Document (I-571)

  •  Certificate of Citizenship or Certificate of 
Naturalization (N-550, N-560, N-561, N-570)

 
  •  Unexpired Permanent Resident 

Identification Card (INS I-551)
 
  •  Valid U.S. Employment Authorization Card 

(INS I-688B or I-766, with photo)
 
  •  U.S. Military Photo Identification Card 

(issued to active, reserve, and retired 
military personnel only)

 
  • NYS /Benefit/ Medicaid Card, with photo 
 
  • Border Crossing Card
 
Each document below has a value of 2 points:
   
  • U.S. Military Dependent ID card
 
  •  NYS DMV Non-Photo Interim License or 

Computer Generated Learner Permit
 
  • NYS Vehicle Certificate of Title
 
  • NYS Vehicle or Boat Registration Document
 
  • U.S. Social Security Card 
 
  •  U.S. High School Photo ID with Report Card 

or Official Transcript 
 
  •  U.S. College Photo ID with Official 

Transcript
 
  •  U.S. Marriage or Divorce Record issued by 

a state or local government OR  
Court-Issued Name Change Decree

 
  • NYS Professional License
 
  • NYS or New York City Pistol Permit
 
  • St. Regis Mohawk Tribal Photo ID Card

 •  Foreign Marriage or Divorce Record issued by 
a government entity OR Court-Issued Name 
Change Decree*

 
 • NYS Benefit/Medicaid Card WITHOUT Photo
 
 •  Foreign School Report Card/Record with 

Photo*
 
 •  Expired Permanent Resident Card (expired  

no longer than 2 years)
 
 •  Expired U.S. Employment Authorization Card 

(INS I-688B or I-766, with photo) (expired  
no longer than 2 years)

 
Each document below has a value of 1 point:
 
 • Valid U.S. Major Credit Card, or
 
 •  U.S. Cash (ATM) Card (with pre-printed name 

and signature), or
 
 •  U.S. Canceled Check (with your pre-printed 

name), or
 
 •  U.S. Bank/Financial Institution Statement/

Record
 
 • U.S. Employee Identification Card
 
 •  U.S. Computerized Pay Stub (must include 

your name)
 
 •  U.S. Supermarket Check Cashing Card (must 

have your pre-printed name and signature)
 
 •  U.S. Life Insurance Policy (in effect at least  

two years)
 
 •  U.S. Health Insurance Card/Prescription Card 

to show current proof of health insurance 
coverage

 
 •  U.S. Utility Bill (must have your name and 

address)
 
 •  U.S. High School Diploma or General 

Equivalency Diploma (GED)
  
 •  Federal or New York State W-2 Form (must 

include Social Security Number)
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 • U.S. Union Card
 
 • Veteran Universal Access Photo ID Card
 
 •  U.S. Court Document with the applicant 

named as a party*
 
 •  Foreign School Report Card/Record 

WITHOUT Photo*
 
 • U.S. Municipal ID Card with Photo
 
 •  IRS Tax Transcript or Individual Taxpayer 

Identification Number Issuance Letter*
 
 • Annual Social Security Statement (SSA-1099)

Proof of Age
 
 You must prove your date of birth. The DMV will 
accept the original or certified copy of ANY ONE 
of these documents from the issuing agency:
 
 •  Birth Certificate issued and certified by the 

U.S. Department of State or a Board of Health 
or Bureau of Vital Statistics in the U.S., its terri-
tories or possessions

 
 •  Certificate of Birth Registration issued by the 

Department of Health of New York State or 
New York City

 
 • U.S. Military Photo Identification Card
 
 • U.S. Passport
 
 •  Foreign Passport (with INS documentation) or 

Immigration Documents - See the publication 
Proofs of Identity (ID-44) for details

 
 •  Certification of Citizenship or Certificate of 

Naturalization
 
Vision and Knowledge Tests
 
 To pass the vision test, you must have 20/40  
vision in at least one eye with or without correc-
tive lenses. If you cannot pass this test or if you 
wear special lenses, contact a DMV Call Center 
for additional instruction.
 
 The written test for a Class D, M, DJ, MJ or E 

license examines knowledge of the rules of the 
road, safe driving techniques, road signs and the 
laws about alcohol and drug use while driving. To 
pass the written test, you must correctly answer at 
least 14 of the 20 questions asked, but you must 
correctly answer two of the four questions about 
road signs. You can practice for the written test 
with the questions included in this Driver’s Manual 
and you can take practice quizzes online at the 
DMV website. (dmv.ny.gov)
 
 If you require a motorcycle license, also study 
the Motorcycle Operator’s Manual (MV-21MC). 
There is a separate commercial driver license 
written test for a CDL Class A, B, or C. If you want 
to apply for a commercial driver license, also 
study the Commercial Driver Manual (CDL-10).
 
Automated Knowledge Test
 
 Class D knowledge tests are offered in multiple 
languages and can be taken via touch screen test 
stations or on paper. For practice tests, please 
visit our website by scanning the QR code below. 
The QR code can be scanned with your smart-
phone once you’ve downloaded a free QR Code 
Reader to your phone.
 

Online Knowledge Test Application
 
 Before you apply for a learner permit, students 
who are at least age 15 and 11 months can take 
the written test through the DMV Online Knowl-
edge Test Application (OKTA) program. The test 
is given at participating high schools across New 
York State. The test is given in an easy-to-use 
format and is offered in English and Spanish.
 
 It is not necessary for schools that participate 
to have a driver education program. They must 
provide a personal computer with Internet access, 
a printer and at least one staff person to monitor 
the tests. The OKTA program automatically scores 
each test and displays the results for the student 
on the computer screen.
 
 Students who pass the test online will receive 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
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a receipt, instructions and all required forms to 
apply for a learner permit. Students who are at 
least age 16 can bring their receipt and completed 
forms to any state or county motor vehicle office 
to apply for a learner permit. Students who fail the 
test can take it again online as many times as the 
school allows.
 

THE LEARNER PERMIT AND ROAD TEST
 
The Learner Permit
 
 When you pass the vision and written tests and 
pay your fees, your learner permit will be issued 
and you can start to learn to drive. When you 
practice, you must be supervised by a licensed 
driver who is at least 21 years old, has a license 
valid for the type of vehicle you are driving, and 
is seated in the front seat with you when you 
are driving. New York State also has additional 
restrictions that apply to drivers under the age of 
18. Based on the Graduated Driver Licensing laws, 
if you have a DJ Learner Permit you are restricted 
by where and when you drive, and who can be in 
the car with you when you drive. These restric-
tions are based on where you are driving and are 
best explained by the chart on the next page:
 
 The restrictions for drivers with learner permits 
are also available at state or county motor vehicle 
offices or online, “Important Information About 
Learners’ Permits” (MV-500H), at the DMV  
website, dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv500h.pdf.

https://dmv.ny.gov/forms/mv500h.pdf
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Definitions (For the purpose of this section of 
the manual)
 
 “Properly Licensed” means has a license valid 
in this state to drive the type of vehicle being 
driven by the new or junior driver.
 
 “Guardian” means a person who has, on a reg-
ular and extended basis, assumed the character 
of a parent and discharges parental duties as the 
result of a court appointment. 
 
 “In Loco Parentis” means a person who 
assumes the role of a parent for the purpose of 

performing parental duties with the implied or 
actual consent of a parent (e.g. as a result of the 
death, incapacity, or in the absence, of a parent). 
 
 “School Course” means instruction that is 
licensed or approved by a state agency or depart-
ment, or training conducted by the U.S. Armed 
Forces. The term “school course” does NOT 
include activities or events for which no scholastic 
credits are given.

You must drive only under the  
immediate supervision of your:
 
1. Parent
2. Guardian
3. Person “in loco parentis”
4. Driver Education Teacher
5. Driving School Instructor

Those listed above must be age 
21 or older and have a license 
valid for the vehicle being driven.

Vehicle must have dual controls 
(dual brakes)

REGIONAL RESTRICTIONS FOR A JUNIOR PERMIT

 New York City (5 Boroughs) Long Island (Nassau & Suffolk) Upstate (All Other Counties)

 5AM – 9PM 5AM – 9PM 5AM – 9PM

You must drive only under the 
immediate supervision of your:
1. Parent
2. Guardian
3. Person “in loco parentis”
4. Driver Education Teacher
5. Driving School Instructor;  
 or
6.  Anyone who has been desig-

nated in writing by the parent, 
guardian, or person “in loco 
parentis”.

 
Those listed above must be age 
21 or older and have a license 
valid for the vehicle being driven.

You must drive only under the 
immediate supervision of:
A person who is age 21 or older 
and has a license valid for the 
vehicle being driven.

 9PM – 5AM 9PM – 5AM 9PM – 5AM

You must NOT drive. You must NOT drive You must drive only under the 
immediate supervision of your:
1. Parent
2. Guardian
3. Person “in loco parentis”
4. Driver Education Teacher
5. Driving School Instructor

Those listed above must be age 
21 or older and have a license 
valid for the vehicle being driven.
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 “Employment” means a place of business at 
which you are paid to work on a scheduled basis. 
You cannot drive during work or as part of your 
work duties.
 

 “Work Study Program” means a state-ap-
proved work-study program. For example, a 
Board of Cooperative Educational Services 
(BOCES) course for which academic credit is 
granted for work experience.
 

 “Medical Appointment” means medical treat-
ment that is necessary for you or a member of 
your household.
 

 “Daycare” applies to travel to and from child 
care if the attendance of the child is necessary 
for a family member to maintain employment or 
attend a school course.
 

General Rules for All Drivers with Learner 
Permits
 

If you hold a learner permit, you cannot drive:
 

  •  Unless you are accompanied by a super-
vising driver who is at least age 21 and has 
a license to operate the vehicle you are 
driving. In Long Island and New York City, 
this person must be a parent, guardian or 
driving instructor. For example, a person 
with a motorcycle license can supervise a 
motorcycle learner.

 

  • In a DMV road test area.
 

  •  On any street within a park in New York City 
or any bridge or tunnel under the jurisdic-
tion of the Triborough Bridge and  
Tunnel Authority.

 

  •  On the Cross County, Hutchinson River, 
Saw Mill River, or Taconic State parkways in  
Westchester County.

 

Driving with a Junior Learner Permit
 

  •  You cannot drive with more than one 
passenger under the age of 21 unless they 
are members of your immediate family or 
if your supervising driver is your parent, 
guardian, person “in loco parentis,” 
driver education teacher or driving  
school instructor.

  •  You and each passenger must wear a seat 
belt: one per person. Every child passenger 
must use a correct child restraint. (See:  
Chapter 8, “Seat Belts, Child Safety Seats, 
and Air Bags”)

 

  •  If you hold a junior permit, the only pas-
senger allowed in the front seat is your 
supervising driver.

 

  •  Also see “Special Rules for Drivers with 
Junior Permits and Licenses,” Chapter 2.

 

Preparing for the Road Test
 

 Safe drivers often find their amount of practice 
before the road test makes a positive difference. 
Before you take the test, it is important that you 
have had at least 50 hours of practice, with at 
least 15 hours after sunset. It is recommended 
that at least 10 hours of the supervised practice 
be in moderate to heavy traffic. Road tests are 
given on city streets, but you should practice 
on expressways and other types of highways as 
well. DMV suggests you take a high school or 
college driver education course or lessons from a 
DMV-licensed driving school. If you cannot take a 
course or lessons, have the person who teaches 
you read Parts 2 and 3 of this manual.
 

 You cannot practice in a DMV road test area 
or on any restricted roads. In New York City, 
these areas include any street within a park and 
all bridges and tunnels under the jurisdiction of 
the Triborough Bridge and Tunnel Authority. In 
Westchester County, the streets and roadways 
you cannot practice on include these parkways: 
Cross County, Hutchinson River, Saw Mill River 
and Taconic State.
 

Safe Driving Course Requirement
 

 Before you can make a road test appointment, 
you must first complete an approved safe driver 
course. This requirement is automatically fulfilled 
as part of every high school or college driver 
education course. Or you can complete this re-
quirement when you take a special Pre-Licensing 
course available at most licensed driving schools. 
For motorists 18 years of age or older a pilot 
Online Pre-Licensing Course is now available. 
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(See https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/prepare-
your-road-test) When you complete the safe driv-
ing course in person, you will receive a certificate 
to show when you make your road test appoint-
ment. The certificate is valid for one year.
 
 Note:    The DMV-certified Point & Insurance 

Reduction Program (a.k.a. Accident 
Prevention Course or Defensive Driving 
Course) does NOT meet the Safe Driving 
course requirement.

 
Driver Education
 
 If you are 17, you are eligible for a senior driver 
license (Class D or M) if you have a junior driver 
license and have completed a state-approved 
high school or college driver education course. 
To change your junior license to a senior license, 
bring your junior license and the Student Certif-
icate of Completion (MV-285) that you received 
from your instructor to any motor vehicle office. 
You must return your certificate and junior license 
to receive the senior license. If you do not change 
your junior license to a senior license, you are 
subject to the restrictions for junior drivers until 
you are age 18, even if you carry the completion 
certificate with you. You can also give your certifi-
cate with your junior permit to the license examin-
er at your road test. You will automatically receive 
a senior license when you become eligible. 
 
For Junior Drivers with Permits
 
 Your permit must be held, in valid status for a 
minimum of six months in order to take the road 
test. When you pass the road test, you will be 
issued a Junior License (Class DJ or MJ). See 
“Regional Restrictions for a Junior License.”
 
 A DMV motor vehicle license examiner will 
conduct the road test. You must give the license 
examiner your photo learner permit, your 5-hour 
pre-licensing course completion certificate 
(MV-278) or your Student Certificate of Comple-
tion (MV-285) and a completed Certification of 
Supervised Driving (MV-262). All junior drivers 
with permits are required to present a completed 
MV-262 at the time of the road test.
 
 The Certification of Supervised Driving (MV-
262) is available from the DMV website dmv.

ny.gov and at any motor vehicle office. With this 
statement, your parent or guardian certifies that 
you completed at least 50 hours of practice driv-
ing, including at least 15 hours after sunset, with 
an appropriate supervising driver  
(See chart “Regional Restrictions for a Junior 
Permit” later in this chapter).
 
 You must bring a vehicle to drive during the 
road test. The vehicle must be correctly regis-
tered, inspected, insured and equipped, and in 
good working order. This includes doors and 
seat belts. The passenger side seat belt must be 
available and clean for use by the examiner. If you 
drive to the road test site, you must also bring a 
supervising driver who is at least 21 and holds a 
license valid for the vehicle you will drive during 
the road test. Motorcycle applicants must bring a 
car or truck and a licensed driver to transport the 
license examiner during the test.
 
For All Other Drivers with Permits
 
 When you take your road test, you must give 
the license examiner your photo learner permit, 
your 5-hour pre-licensing course completion 
certificate (MV-278) or your Student Certificate of 
Completion (MV-285). As described for “Junior 
Drivers with Permits,” you must also provide a  
vehicle to drive during the road test and a correct-
ly licensed driver.
 
The Road Test
 
 After you have completed the Safe Driving 
Course Requirement, and you feel you are ready 
for your road test, you can schedule your road 
test appointment using the Road Test Scheduling 
System online or by telephone at 1-518-402-
2100. If you took your Pre-Licensing Course in 
person, you must have your Pre-Licensing Course 
Completion Certificate (MV-278) or driver edu-
cation course Student Certificate of Completion 
(MV-285) before you schedule your appointment. 
When scheduling your appointment, you will need 
to have your Learner Permit and Safe Driving 
Course certificate (MV-278 or MV-285) with you. 
 
 

https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/prepare-your-road-test
https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/prepare-your-road-test
https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/


15  |  Driver’s Manual

 The DMV can cancel road tests because of bad 
weather. Check the website for any cancellation 
information.
 
After the Road Test
 
 At the conclusion of the road test, the Examiner 
will give you instructions on how to receive your 
test results. An interim license that allows you to 
drive will be available to you online. Keep your 
interim license with your photo learner permit 
until you receive your photo driver license. You 
will receive your photo driver license in the mail, 
in about 2 weeks.
 
 When you qualify for a license, you must 
continue to be careful and obey the traffic laws to 
gain experience as a capable driver. Many motor-
ists enroll in a DMV-certified Accident Prevention 
Course to help them gain knowledge of safe 
driving practices and important highway safety 
issues. This course, commonly known as the Point 
and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP), is avail-
able through private companies or corporations in 
New York State.

 The course is available as a classroom course 
or online (called I-PIRP) and reviews time-tested 
safe driving tips and provides a summary of the 
vehicle and traffic laws. If you are eligible for 
point reduction, as many as four (4) points can be 
reduced from your driving record. (For more infor-
mation on the point system, see The Point System 
in Chapter 2.) You can complete this course every 
18 months for the purpose of point reduction. You 
can also qualify for a minimum 10% reduction in 
the base rate of liability and collision insurance 
premiums for three years. More information 
regarding the Point and Insurance Reduction 
Program, including lists of sponsors approved to 
provide this course, is available on DMV’s website 
at https://dmv.ny.gov/learn-more-about/pirp.
 

JUNIOR OPERATOR RESTRICTIONS
 
Driving with a Junior License
 
  •  You cannot drive with more than one pas-

senger under the age of 21 unless they are 
members of your immediate family.

 

  •  You and each passenger must wear a seat 
belt: one per person. Every child passenger 
must use a correct child restraint. (See:  
Chapter 8, “Seat Belts, Child Safety Seats, 
and Air Bags”)

 
  •  Also see “Special Rules for Drivers with 

Junior Permits and Licenses,” Chapter 2.
 
 New York State also has additional restrictions 
that apply to drivers under the age of 18. Based 
on the Graduated Driver Licensing laws, if you 
have a Class DJ Driver License (also known as 
a Junior Operator License) you are restricted to 
where and when and who can be in the car with 
you when you drive. These restrictions are based 
on where you are driving and are best explained 
by the chart on the next page:

https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/point-insurance-reduction-program
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Driving Alone with a Junior License 
 
Please see this important information:
 
If you hold a Junior License and drive in the coun-
ties of Nassau or Suffolk:
 
 You can drive by yourself between home and 
your employment, which can include farm work, if 
you carry the correct proof of employment. Your 
employer can complete a Certificate of Employ-
ment (MV-58A), available from the DMV website 
(search under Forms) or at local motor vehicle 
offices. In the upstate counties only, instead of an 
employment certificate, you can carry a letter from 
your employer. The letter must be marked with 
a date and signed by your employer, and must 
show the business name, address and telephone 
number where you work.
 

 It also must list your name, date of birth, driver 
license number, job description, and days, hours 
and location of employment. The address and 
telephone number at which the employer can be 
contacted must be included for verification by a 
magistrate or police officer.
 
 When you drive by yourself between your 
home and a qualified school course or approved 
work-study program, you must carry proof of en-
rollment. This must be a letter, marked with a date 
and signed by an appropriate school or program 
official, on the school or program letterhead. It 
must include the address and telephone number 
of the official for verification by a magistrate or 
police officer. The letter also must include the 
date(s), hour(s) and location(s) of the school 
course or program activity, your name, date of 
birth, and driver license number.

You must NOT drive.

 New York City (5 Boroughs) Long Island (Nassau & Suffolk) Upstate (All Other Counties)

 5AM – 9PM 5AM – 9PM 5AM – 9PM

You may drive alone only directly 
between your home and employ-
ment, a work-study program, a 
course at a college, university, or 
registered evening high school, a 
driver education course, or while 
engaged in farm employment. 
 
You may drive when accompa-
nied by your licensed parent, 
guardian, person “in loco paren-
tis”, driver education teacher, or 
driving school instructor.

You may drive without being 
accompanied.

 9PM – 5AM 9PM – 5AM 9PM – 5AM

You must NOT drive. You may drive alone only directly 
between your home and a work-
study program, a course at a 
college, university, or registered 
evening high school, a driver  
education course, or while  
engaged in farm employment.

You may drive alone only directly 
between your home and employ-
ment or a school course.

All other driving must be accom-
panied by your licensed parent, 
guardian, or person “in loco 
parentis”.

REGIONAL RESTRICTIONS FOR A JUNIOR LICENSE
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Motorcyclists and Moped Operators
 
 The restrictions in this manual also apply to 
operating a motorcycle or moped. Your learner 
permit or junior license (Class M or MJ) does not 
allow you to carry any passenger except your 
supervising driver. Your supervising driver must 
have a driver license valid to operate the same 
class motorcycle or moped you are driving, and 
must exercise general supervision and control by 
remaining within one-quarter mile. It is strongly 
recommended that your supervising driver be 
able to see you at all times.
 
NYS Drivers Visiting Other States
 
 You can drive outside New York State with 
your learner permit, junior learner permit or junior 
license if it is allowed by the laws of the other 
state. You must obey that state’s permit, junior 
permit and driver license restrictions that may 
apply. Ask the police or motor vehicle authorities 
in the state you are visiting.
 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS
 
 If you change your address you must notify 
DMV within 10 days by mail, on a Change-of-Ad-
dress Form (MV-232), or online at the DMV web-
site dmv.ny.gov. You must write the new address 
in the space provided on the back of your  
driver license.
 

LICENSE RENEWAL
 
 You are responsible to know when your 
driver license expires and to renew it on time. If 
the DMV has your current address, you should 
receive a renewal notice and instructions in the 
mail approximately 45 days before your license 
expires. If you do not receive the notice, you can 
apply for renewal at a motor vehicle office. You 
can renew your license up to one year before its 
printed expiration date.
 
 Soon the federal government will require your 
driver license, permit or ID card to be REAL ID 
compliant if you wish to use it as identification to 
board a domestic flight (within the U.S.), or enter 
military bases and certain federal facilities. You 
may also use an Enhanced driver license, permit, 

or non-driver ID or valid U.S. Passport or other 
identification acceptable to the federal govern-
ment. To get a REAL ID, you will need to go to a 
DMV Office. 
 
 To get a Real ID you MUST bring to the office 
the following original or certified proof documents: 
 
  • Proof of identity.
 
  •  Proof of Social Security Number or Social 

Security Number ineligibility. 
 
  • Proof of your date of birth.
 
  •  Proof of U.S. citizenship, lawful permanent 

residency or temporary lawful status in  
the U.S.

 
  •  Two proofs of New York State residence 

such as utility bill or mortgage statement 
(P.O. Box not acceptable). This address will 
be displayed on your card. 

 
  •  The application process also requires the 

DMV to take a new photo. 
 
 If you decide you do not want a REAL ID or 
Enhanced document, your license most likely can 
be renewed through the mail or through the DMV 
website, but be advised that any license, permit 
or ID card issued after October 30, 2017 will be 
marked “Not for Federal Purposes”. If you renew 
by mail or through the DMV website you must 
prove you have passed an eye test within the past 
six months or within one year as determined by a 
licensed health care professional before the date 
you renew your license. To renew by mail, you 
must return to the DMV your renewal application 
and a completed Eye Test Report (MV-619) which 
documents that you passed the vision test. If you 
renew through the DMV website dmv.ny.gov, you 
will need information from a completed Eye Test 
Report by your health care professional. An Eye 
Test Report form is available from the DMV web-
site dmv.ny.gov (search under Forms) or at any 
motor vehicle office. Make sure to renew early if 
your license will expire while you are out of state. 
If you cannot renew early or a serious illness 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
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prevents you from doing so, contact a DMV  
Call Center. 
 
 If you enter military service, your license can 
be automatically extended throughout your active 
service and for six months after discharge. You 
must notify the department within 60 days of the 
entry date into service. You must submit the form, 
Notification of Military Service (MV-75), available 
from the DMV website (search under Forms) or at 
any motor vehicle office.
 

NON-RESIDENT AND NEW RESIDENT 
DRIVERS
 
 If you are a resident of another state or country 
and hold a valid driver license there, you can 
legally drive in New York State. You should not 
apply for a New York driver license unless you 
become a resident of this state. Then, to remain 
legally licensed, you must apply for a New York 
driver license within 30 days after you establish 
you are a New York State resident.
 
 If you are a new resident with a valid driver 
license issued by a U.S. state, territory or posses-
sion, or a Canadian province or territory, you must 
turn in your out-of-state license to get a New York 
driver license. You must show additional proof of 
name and date of birth (see “Applying for your 
First License”), and provide your Social Security 
card. You must pass the vision test. If your out-
of-state license has been valid for less than six 
months or had expired more than one year ago, 
you must also pass the written and road tests and 
complete the safe driving course. 
 
 If you are a new resident licensed in a country 
other than Canada, you must pass the vision 
test, complete the safe driving course, turn in 
your foreign license, and you must pass a written 
and road test. When you pass the road test, you 
must give your foreign license to the DMV motor 
vehicle license examiner who conducted the 
test. Your foreign driver license will be destroyed 
unless you provide the examiner a written request 
to hold your foreign license on file at a New York 
State Department of Motor Vehicles office. The 
license examiner will tell you which DMV District 
Office will hold your foreign license. Your foreign 

license will be returned at your request, but only 
after you return your New York license.
 
Drivers from Outside New York State 
 
 If you are under age 18 and hold a learner 
permit, junior permit or junior driver license from 
outside New York State, you must obey the 
restrictions described in this publication as well as 
the restrictions from your home state. Make sure 
your permit or license is valid to drive outside 
your home state before you operate a vehicle in 
New York. If you are less than 16 years of age, you 
cannot drive in New York State even if you have 
an out-of-state license.
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 If you commit a serious traffic violation or 
several violations that are less serious, you can 
lose your driving privilege through suspension or 
revocation of your license.
 
 “Suspension” means your license (or privilege 
to drive) is taken away for a period of time before 
it is returned. You may be required to pay a sus-
pension termination fee.
 
 “Revocation” means your license (or privilege 
to drive) is cancelled. To get a new license, you 
must re-apply to the Department of Motor  
Vehicles (DMV) once the revocation period is 
over. You may be required to pay a license  
re-application fee. Your application may be denied 
if you have a poor driving record or refuse to 
meet DMV requirements. Revocation periods  
may be longer than the minimum periods listed in 
this publication.
 
 “Driving privilege” means the courtesy extend-
ed to out-of-state-drivers that allows them to drive 
a motor vehicle in New York State. It also refers 
to permission from New York State for a person 
without a license to get a New York driver license. 
A driving privilege can be suspended or revoked 
for the same reasons as are New York driver 
licenses. Driving with a suspended or revoked 
privilege carries the same penalties as driving 
with a suspended or revoked license.

 
SPECIAL RULES FOR DRIVERS WITH 
JUNIOR PERMITS AND LICENSES
 
 Every driver with a junior permit or driver 
license could face sanctions and other penalties. 
For example, your permit, license or privileges will 
be suspended for 60 days if you are convicted of 
a serious traffic violation (three points or more) or 
two other violations.
 
 Your junior permit, license or privileges will be 
revoked for 60 days if you are convicted of a se-
rious violation (three points or more), or two other 
violations within the first six months after you 
receive your license or privileges back following 
suspension or revocation.

 In addition, your junior permit, license or priv-
ileges will be suspended for 120 days when you 
are convicted of a texting or cell phone violation.
 
 A junior permit must be held for a minimum 
of six months, excluding any time the permit is 
suspended or revoked, before a road test can  
be scheduled. 
 

PROBATION PERIOD FOR ALL OTHER 
NEWLY LICENSED DRIVERS
 
 If you are 18 or older when you pass your road 
test for a driver license, or obtain a license follow-
ing revocation, you will be on probation for  
six months.
 
 If you are convicted of DWAI (alcohol), 
speeding, reckless driving, following too closely, 
participating in a speed contest, or any two traffic 
violations while on probation, your license will be 
suspended for 60 days. Following the end of the 
60-day suspension, a new six month probationary 
period will begin. If you are found guilty of one of 
the above violations or any two traffic violations 
during this second probationary period, your 
license will be revoked for at least six months. If 
your license is restored following the revocation, 
you will be on probation for another six months. 
 
 If you are convicted of a texting or cell phone 
violation, your probationary license will be sus-
pended for 120 days.

 
IF YOU RECEIVE A TRAFFIC TICKET
 
 If you receive a traffic ticket, do not delay – 
follow the instructions on the ticket for the plea 
you want to make. Your driver license will be 
suspended indefinitely. If you do not respond that 
you have received the ticket, you could be found 
guilty by default conviction.  
 
 The DMV Traffic Violations Bureau (TVB) pro-
cesses the tickets for non-criminal moving traffic 
violations issued in the five boroughs of New York 
City. The TVB system allows the other courts in 
these areas to concentrate on criminal cases. This 
includes driving offenses like Driving While Intox-
icated (DWI) and driving while suspended or re-

CHAPTER 2 / HOW TO KEEP YOUR LICENSE
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voked. In other areas of the state, traffic violations 
are processed in the criminal and traffic court of 
the city, county, town or village where the alleged 
offense occurred. No matter what court system 
is involved, every motorist who receives a traffic 
ticket can present a defense and be represented 
by a lawyer.
 

TRAFFIC TICKETS RECEIVED  
OUT OF STATE
 

 The New York State Department of Motor 
Vehicles does not record convictions of moving 
traffic violations by NYS non-commercial licensed 
drivers in other jurisdictions, except traffic offens-
es committed in the provinces of Ontario and 
Quebec in Canada. Out-of-state traffic convic-
tions, except for Ontario and Quebec, are not 
added to your New York State “violation point” 
driving record.
 

 However, your New York driver license will 
be suspended if you fail to answer a ticket for a 
moving traffic violation in any state except Alaska, 
California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, Virginia 
or Wisconsin. Your license will remain suspended 
until you answer the ticket. For clearance of your 
NYS driver license or permit you must submit 
proof to the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles 
that the ticket has been satisfied. If you are a 
driver from any state, except one of the six states 
listed above, you will have your driver license 
suspended in your own state if you fail to answer 
a moving traffic violation summons in New York 
State.
 

 If you are over 21 years old and are convicted 
of an alcohol- or drug-related driving violation 
(e.g., DUI) in another state or the provinces of 
Ontario and Quebec in Canada, your New York 
driver license will be revoked for at least 90 days. 
Out-of-state drivers who get tickets in New York 
State can contact the motor vehicle department of 
their own state or province about how a  
conviction affects them.

 If you are under 21 years old and convicted of 
any alcohol or drug-related violation that occurred 
out of state, your New York driver license will be 
revoked for at least one year. If you have any 
alcohol conviction your license will be revoked for 
at least one year or until the age of 21, whichever 
is longer.
 

 The New York State Department of Motor 
Vehicles records the conviction of any New York 
driver for criminal negligence, homicide, or assault 
that arises from the operation of a motor vehicle 
and which results in death. The driver license or 
privilege to drive will be revoked and vehicle  
registrations may also be revoked. It does not 
matter if the conviction occurred in this state or 
another state.
 

MANDATORY SUSPENSION  
OR REVOCATION
 

 Your driver license or driving privilege can be 
suspended or revoked for many reasons. NOTE: 
Motorboat and snowmobile operators less than 21 
years old who drink alcohol face similar penalties 
and sanctions against their privileges to operate a 
motorboat or snowmobile. Examples of revoca-
tions and suspensions that are required by law:
 

Alcohol and Drug Violations (Also see  
Chapter 9: Alcohol and Other Drugs)
 

  •  Aggravated driving while intoxicated (Agg-
DWI), with .18 of one percent blood alcohol 
content (.18 BAC): minimum one-year  
revocation.

 
  •  Driving while intoxicated (DWI), with .08 

of one percent blood alcohol content (.08 
BAC): minimum six-month revocation

 
  •  Driving while ability impaired by alcohol 

(DWAI): 90-day suspension.
 
  •  Driving while ability impaired by drugs 

(DWAI-drug): minimum six-month revocation
 
  •  Driving under the influence of alcohol or 

drugs out-of-state (DUI): minimum 90-day  
to six-month revocation, depending  
on conviction.
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Chemical Test Refusals (Also see Chapter 9: 
Alcohol and Other Drugs)
 
  •  Chemical test refusal, drivers over age 21: 

minimum one-year revocation
 
  •  Chemical test refusal, drivers over age 21, 

within five years of a prior refusal revocation 
or any alcohol or drug-related violation: 
minimum 18-month revocation

 
  •  Chemical test refusal, drivers under age 21, 

first time: minimum one-year revocation
 
  •  Chemical test refusal, drivers under age 21, 

second time: Minimum revocation until age 
21 or one year, whichever is longer

 
  •  Zero Tolerance test refusal: Minimum  

one-year revocation
 
Drivers Under Age 21
 
 If you are under age 21 when arrested, 
conviction for any of the alcohol or drug-related 
violations listed above will result in a minimum 
one-year revocation. A second violation while 
under age 21 requires a revocation for one year 
or until you reach age 21, whichever is longer. 
These penalties apply to youthful offenders, or if 
you were arrested or convicted out of state (see 
Traffic Tickets Received Out-Of-State).
 
 Under the state’s “Zero Tolerance Law,” a driver 
under age 21 will have their license suspended 
for six months if found to have a BAC from .02 to 
.07. A .02 BAC could occur from only one drink. 
For a second Zero Tolerance violation, the driver 
license will be revoked for one year or until the 
driver turns age 21, whichever is longer.
 
Speeding and Other Violations
 
 Your driver license will be revoked for at least 
six months if you are found guilty of:
 
  •  Three speeding and/or misdemeanor traffic 

violations within 18 months (based on date 
of violation, not date of conviction).

 
  •  Three “passing a stopped school bus”  

violations within three years.

  •  One violation of “leaving the scene of a 
personal injury or fatal accident.”

 
  •  One “participating in a speed contest” viola-

tion. Conviction of a second speed contest 
violation within 12 months results  
in a revocation of at least one year.

 
No Insurance
 
 Your driver license will be revoked for at least 
one year if you operate or allow another person 
to operate your uninsured vehicle, or if the DMV 
receives evidence that you were involved in a 
traffic crash without being insured. If the insurance 
coverage for your vehicle has expired, you must 
turn in the license plates and registration to a mo-
tor vehicle office. If the vehicle is removed from 
the road and not being driven, you must return the 
plates or you can face civil penalties or registra-
tion suspension and/or license suspension.
 
Indefinite Suspensions/Revocations
 
 Your driver license will also be suspended in-
definitely if you fail to file an accident report, fail to 
pay child support, fail to pay taxes or fail to fulfill a 
court judgment that results from a traffic accident. 
This suspension will be in effect until you correct 
the condition that led to the suspension. 
 

THE POINT SYSTEM
 

 The DMV point system identifies “persistent 
violators”, that is, drivers who commit a series of 
violations in a short time period. The table in this 
chapter lists the point values assigned to various 
moving traffic violations.* Note that traffic laws 
which must be obeyed on public highways, roads 
and streets also apply to parking lots open to  
the public.
 

 While each violation listed alone is not serious 
enough to require license suspension or revoca-
tion, the accumulation of several violations on  
your driving record can indicate that action must 
be taken.  
 
 *All V&T Law violations result in fines to the 
driver in addition to license sanctions.
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Violation Points
  Speeding MPH not specified 3

  Speeding MPH over
  posted limit: 

3

11 to 20

21 to 30

31 to 40

More than 40  

4

6

8

11

  Reckless driving 5

  Passing a stopped school bus 5

  Following too closely (tailgating)

  Inadequate brakes 4

   Use of mobile telephone or portable electron-
ic device while operating a motor vehicle

4

5

Violation Points

   Improper passing, unsafe lane change, drove 
left of center, or drove wrong direction

3

3

3

3

5

   Safety restraint violation involving  
person under 16

   Inadequate brakes (while driving  
employer’s vehicle)

3

2

   Violation involving a traffic signal, stop sign 
or yield sign

  Failing to yield right-of-way

  Railroad crossing violation

   Leaving scene of incident involving property 
damage or injury to domestic animal

  Any other moving violation 2

The point values charged against your record 
are from the date you commit the violation, not 
the date you are convicted. If you get 11 or more 
points within 18 months, you will be notified by 
mail that your driver license will be suspended. 
You can request a DMV hearing only to show that 
the convictions in question were not yours. You 
cannot re-argue the convictions or request  
the suspension be waived based on  
special circumstances.
 
 You can reduce your point total by up to four 
points and save up to 10 percent on your auto lia-
bility and collision insurance premiums by taking 
a DMV-approved “Motor Vehicle Accident Pre-
vention Course.” Completion of a point reduction 
course cannot prevent a mandatory suspension 
or revocation or be applied as a “credit” against 
future points, or prevent or reduce a Driver Re-
sponsibility Assessment by the DMV. 
 

TRAFFIC CRASHES
 
 At this time, except where required by law, 
the term “accident” is frequently replaced by 
“crash.” This is because a “crash” can normally be 
prevented. If you are involved in a traffic crash in 
which another person is killed, your license can 
be suspended or revoked after a DMV hearing 
even if you were not charged with a violation 
when the incident occurred.

FEES AND CIVIL PENALTIES
 
 In most cases, if your driver license has been 
suspended for an exact period, like 30 days or 90 
days, your license will not be returned until you 
pay a non-refundable $50 suspension termination 
fee. If your license was suspended as a result of 
the Zero Tolerance Law, you will be required to 
pay a $125 civil penalty and a $100 suspension 
termination fee.
 
 In most cases, if your driver license has been 
revoked, you cannot apply for a new license until 
you pay a non-refundable $100 fee to reapply for 
the license. This fee is not required if your license 
was revoked for operating without insurance or 
if you were issued a license with conditions or 
restricted uses.
 
 Vehicle Owners - A law was passed in 2019 
that authorizes school districts and municipalities 
to use stop-arm cameras on school buses to 
impose penalties on the owners of vehicles which 
pass a school bus while the school bus is stopped 
for the purpose of dropping off or picking up 
passengers and red lights on the school bus  
are flashing.  
 
  • First violation - penalty of $250
 
  •  Second violation within 18 months - penalty 

of $275

Note: Insurance companies can have their own point systems. These have no relationship to and should not be confused 
with the DMV point system.

1 to 10
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  •  Third violation (or more) within 18 months - 
penalty of $300

 
 After the following revocations, you must pay a 
civil penalty to DMV before your application for a 
new license can be accepted:
 
  •  Operating without insurance or accident 

without insurance: $750 civil penalty.
 
  •  Chemical test refusal: $500 civil penalty 

($550 if while driving a commercial motor 
vehicle).

 
  •  Chemical test refusal within five years of 

an earlier alcohol, drug or refusal-related 
revocation: $750 civil penalty.

DRIVER RESPONSIBILITY  
ASSESSMENTS
 
 In addition to any fines, fees, penalties and sur-
charges authorized by law, you may have to pay 
a “Driver Responsibility Assessment” for some 
violations that result in a conviction or administra-
tive finding. Your learner permit, driver license or 
driving privileges will be suspended if you do not 
make these payments.
 
 If you are convicted of Aggravated Driving 
While Intoxicated (Agg-DWI), Driving While Intoxi-
cated (DWI), Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI), 
Driving While Ability Impaired by Drugs, DWAI-al-
cohol combined with drugs, or if you refused to 
submit to a chemical test, you will be required to 
pay a driver responsibility assessment of $250 
each year for the next three years.
 
 If you are convicted of one or more traffic 
violations resulting in six points in any 18-month 
period, you will be required to pay $100 each 
year for the next three years. For each additional 
point you receive during that period, you will be 
required to pay another $25 per point every year 
for three years. For information about how points 
are assessed, see “The Point System” in  
this chapter. 
 
 This assessment applies to motorists convicted 
of violations while driving motor vehicles, and 
in some cases, motorboats and snowmobiles. 

Completion of a DMV-approved “Motor Vehicle 
Accident Prevention Course” will not prevent or 
reduce the calculation of points that affect the 
Driver Responsibility Assessment.
 

DRIVING WHILE SUSPENDED  
OR REVOKED
 
 It is a criminal offense to drive while your 
license is suspended or revoked, and there are 
mandatory fines from $200 to $5,000. You can 
face mandatory imprisonment or probation. The 
vehicle being driven could be seized and forfeit-
ed. More severe penalties apply to drivers who 
drive while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol or 
drugs while their license or privilege are already 
under suspension or revocation for a previous 
alcohol or drug-related incident. Drivers with 10 or 
more suspensions for failure to answer traffic tick-
ets are also subject to severe penalties. Drivers 
with 20 or more suspensions for failure to answer 
tickets face a criminal charge, even if you were 
not driving when arrested. 
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 Whether you are a vehicle owner or registrant, 
or a driver of a vehicle owned or registered by 
someone else, it is your responsibility to make 
sure it is registered, insured and inspected before 
the vehicle operates on a public roadway.
 

REGISTRATION AND TITLE
 

 A registration allows a vehicle to be driven 
on public roads and highways. A title certificate 
proves who owns the vehicle. 
 

 You must be at least 16 to register a vehicle. 
You can title a vehicle at any age. A new resident 
of the state must get a New York registration 
within 30 days of establishing residence.
 

To Register a Vehicle
 

 To register a vehicle, you must prove you own 
the vehicle or that the owner authorizes you to 
register it, that the vehicle is insured, that the 
state and county sales taxes have been paid and 
provide any required odometer reading and/or 
damage disclosure statement. If the ownership 
proofs listed below are not available from the 
seller, contact any motor vehicle office or a DMV 
Call Center before you purchase the vehicle.
 

 To apply for registration, you must complete 
a Vehicle Registration/Title Application (MV-82). 
You must also present proof of name (6 points) 
and proof of date of birth. For additional informa-
tion see Registering a Vehicle in New York State 
(MV-82.1), available from the DMV website (search 
under Forms) or at any motor vehicle office. When 
your vehicle is registered, you will get vehicle 
plates, a registration document and a registration 
sticker for the windshield or vehicle plates. If you 
purchased the vehicle from someone other than 
a New York State registered dealership, you will 
also receive a 10-day inspection extension sticker 
on request when you register the vehicle. You 
must then have the vehicle inspected within 10 
days from the date of registration. It should have 
a valid inspection sticker if you purchased the 
vehicle from a New York State registered dealer. 
The dealer must have the vehicle inspected within 
30 days before they sell the vehicle to you.
 

 When you purchase a new or used vehicle 
from a dealer registered with the DMV, the dealer 
can register the vehicle for you and give you a 
temporary registration and, if you need them, 
new vehicle plates. The dealer can charge a 
processing fee for this service. It can also charge 
registration, vehicle plate and title fees.
 

 Your title certificate will be mailed to you sever-
al weeks after the vehicle is registered.
 

Proof of Ownership
 

 If you purchase your vehicle from a New York 
State registered dealer, the proof of ownership for 
a new vehicle will be a Manufacturer’s Certificate 
of Origin (MCO) and a dealer’s Certificate of Sale 
(MV-50). For a used vehicle, proof of ownership is 
the previous owner’s Certificate of Title (MV-999), 
the correct odometer and salvage disclosure 
statement and the dealer’s Certificate of  
Sale (MV-50).
 

 If the dealership does not register the vehicle 
for you, make sure it gives you the ownership 
documents listed above and a completed Appli-
cation for Registration/Title (MV-82) signed by the 
dealer’s representative. Examine the ownership 
documents carefully before closing the sale.
 

 If you purchase a used vehicle from a dealer 
registered outside New York State – the proof of 
ownership is the title certificate or transferable 
registration signed over to the dealer by the previ-
ous owner, plus the bill of sale and/or invoice from 
the dealer and other proofs from the dealer.  
 
 For a used vehicle purchased from a private 
seller – the proof of ownership is the “Certificate 
of Title” (MV-999), or a transferable registration for 
1972 or older models, signed over to you. The sell-
er must complete and you must acknowledge with 
your signature, the correct odometer and damage 
disclosure statements.
 

 Before you accept the title certificate from any 
seller, check the front of the title for the names 
and addresses of “lien” holders. A lien indicates 
the current owner owes money on a loan for the 
vehicle. If a lien is listed on the title, ask the seller 
to give you proof the lien has been paid – in most 
cases, it is an official lien release from the lender. 

CHAPTER 3 / OWNING A VEHICLE
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If proof is not provided and the loan has not been 
paid, the lien holder could repossess the vehicle. 
 

 A motor vehicle office will not accept a title cer-
tificate if the correct odometer or damage disclo-
sure statement is not completed, or if information 
on the title is adjusted, erased or canceled. This 
includes any name or signature.
 

Disclosure Statements
 

  •  If you purchase a vehicle eight model  
years old or newer, the DMV will NOT reg-
ister your vehicle or issue you a new title 
certificate unless the seller has completed, 
and you have signed, both the odometer 
and the damage disclosure statements 
on the Certificate of Title (MV-999). These 
statements indicate whether the new title 
certificate should be described as  
“Rebuilt Salvage.” 

 

  •  If you purchase a vehicle 10 model years 
old or newer, make sure the private seller 
has completed the odometer statement on 
the back of the Certificate of Title (MV-999). 
The damage disclosure statement is not 
required for vehicles nine model years old 
or older. As the buyer, you must confirm 
the odometer statement as shown on the 
title certificate by writing your initials next 
to the odometer box on the title certificate. 
Compare the odometer statement on the 
title certificate with the odometer reading  
in the vehicle.

 

IMPORTANT: The DMV must examine every ve-
hicle described as “Rebuilt Salvage”, OR SIMILAR 
WORDS, for stolen parts before the vehicle can 
be registered or titled. If you are to purchase a 
vehicle that is registered or titled out-of-state, 
contact a DMV Call Center for more information.  
 

Proof of Sales Tax Payment
 

 When you purchase a vehicle from a New York 
State registered dealer, the dealer collects the 
sales tax.
 

 If you purchase a vehicle from someone other 
than a NYS registered dealer, you need to fill out 
a Statement of Transaction/Sale or Gift of Motor 
Vehicle (DTF-802), which is available at any motor 
vehicle office and from the DMV website dmv.

ny.gov. This form certifies the purchase price and 
determines the sales tax you must pay when you 
register the vehicle. One side of the form must 
be completed and signed by the buyer. The other 
side must be signed by the seller if the selling 
price is below fair market value or if the vehicle is 
being given as a gift from someone who is not a 
family member. If the form is not completed by the 
seller, you will be charged sales tax based on the 
current fair market value of the vehicle. Bring the 
completed form to a state or county motor vehicle 
office when you register your vehicle.
 

Proof of Insurance
 

 When you purchase vehicle liability insurance, 
the insurance agent or broker gives you two 
insurance identification cards. The name(s) and 
vehicle identification number (VIN) on these cards 
must exactly match the information on the reg-
istration application. You must present one card 
when you register your vehicle. Keep the second 
card with the vehicle.
 

Fees
 

 Registrations for most vehicles with a maximum 
gross weight of not more than 18,000 pounds 
(8,165 kg) are valid for two years, and fees are 
based on vehicle weight. There are also vehicle 
plate and title fees.
 

 By law, registration fees cannot be refunded if 
you use the vehicle plates or registration sticker 
on your vehicle even for one day. However, if 
your vehicle plates and registration sticker are 
returned unused within 60 days after you register 
your vehicle, you can receive a full refund, minus 
a processing fee. You may receive a refund of the 
fee for the second year of a two-year registration, 
minus a processing fee, if you use the plates & 
registration only during the first year. Make sure 
to get a DMV Universal Receipt (FS-6T) to turn in 
your plates.
 

 If you transfer a registration from one vehicle 
to a replacement vehicle, you will receive credit 
for the remaining part of your current registration. 
This credit cannot be applied to other vehicles 
registered to you.
 

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
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Trading In or Selling Your Old Car
 

 Before you trade in or sell your old vehicle, 
make sure to remove the vehicle plates and the 
windshield registration sticker, which shows your 
plate number. This can prevent you from being 
charged with parking tickets that are not yours.
 

REGISTRATION RENEWAL
 

 Most registrations are renewed every two 
years. Approximately 45 to 60 days before your 
registration will expire, you should receive a 
renewal reminder in the mail. If you changed your 
address and did not notify the DMV, you will not 
receive the reminder. If you did not answer three 
or more parking tickets, or if your registration is 
suspended or revoked, you will not receive the 
reminder. Allow two weeks to process and deliver 
the registration. You are responsible to know 
when your registration expires and to renew it on 
time. This is true even if you do not get a reminder 
in the mail.
 

 If the expiration date falls on a weekend or le-
gal state holiday, your registration is automatically 
extended to midnight of the next business day. 
Make sure you maintain liability insurance on your 
vehicle during the extension period.
 

 If you have not received a renewal notice, you 
may be able to renew your registration –
 

 By mail: Complete a Vehicle Registration/Title 
Application (MV-82), available at any motor vehi-
cle office and from the DMV website dmv.ny.gov 
(search under Forms). If your registration must be 
sent to an address that is not the mailing address 
you entered on the application form (MV-82), 
enclose a separate note that requests the DMV 
to mail your registration to the other address. Do 
not put this mailing address on form MV-82 unless 
you want it to appear on the registration and 
your DMV registration record. Reminder – if you 
indicate a change of address on your registration, 
it will affect ONLY that registration. Use a Change 
of Address Form (MV-232) to change all your 
DMV records. This form is available at any motor 
vehicle office and from the DMV website (search 
under Forms).
 

 Enclose a check or money order for the correct 
fee, payable to the “Commissioner of Motor 

Vehicles.” If you do not know the exact fee you 
must pay, you can determine the fee using the 
Schedules of Registration Fees (MV-204A) avail-
able at any motor vehicle office or through a work 
page at the DMV website. Make sure to include 
your insurance card with your renewal application 
if your insurance company has changed and you 
have not responded to a DMV Insurance  
Inquiry Letter. 
 

Mail your completed Vehicle Registration/Title 
Application and other documents to:  
 

NYS DMV Utica Processing Center, P.O. Box 
359, Utica, NY 13503.
 

 Allow two weeks to receive your registration 
renewal. If you do not receive it after two weeks, 
contact a DMV Call Center or visit any state or 
county motor vehicle office. Allow more time for 
overseas mail.
 

 If your name has changed and you have not 
notified the DMV, you must visit a DMV office and 
show proofs of your identity. For more informa-
tion, contact a DMV Call Center.
 

 Online at the DMV website dmv.ny.gov: Online 
registration renewal requires that you have not 
changed your address or insurance company, and 
that the registration is for a passenger car, small 
commercial truck or a motorcycle that is not used 
exclusively off road. Your registration fee, and any 
related fees, will be displayed on the computer 
screen. In three quick steps, you can renew your 
registration online and use your credit card for 
payment. Your renewal will be automatically pro-
cessed and mailed to you. Allow two weeks for 
delivery.
 

 In person at a state or county motor vehicle 
office: You must complete and submit a Vehicle 
Registration/Title Application (MV-82). Note: An 
application brought into an office by a second 
party (someone who is not the registrant) must be 
accompanied by the original New York license/
permit/non-driver identification card for the sec-
ond party and either the original or a photocopy 
for the registrant. This includes spouses (hus-
bands and wives). The application must be signed 
by the registrant, not the person who brings the 
form into the office.

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
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Insurance
 
 Your vehicle must be covered by liability insur-
ance as long as it is registered, even if you do not 
drive it.
 
 Minimum liability coverage is required of 
$50,000 against the death of one person and 
$100,000 against the death of two or more per-
sons, $25,000 against injury to one person and 
$50,000 against injury to two or more persons 
and $10,000 against property damage. Insurance 
coverage limits refer to death, injury or damage 
related to any one incident.
 
 Before your liability insurance expires or is 
discontinued, return vehicle plates at any state 
or county motor vehicle office. Be sure to obtain 
a DMV Universal Receipt (FS-6T) to turn in your 
vehicle plates. If you do not do this, you may have 
to pay a civil penalty for each day the vehicle 
was not insured or your vehicle registration can 
be suspended. If your vehicle is not insured for 
90 days, unless you have turned in your vehicle 
plates, your driver license will also be suspended.
 
 If you receive a letter from DMV that asks 
about your vehicle insurance, read it carefully and 
respond as directed in the letter.
 
 Motorcycles must be insured, but you are not 
required to turn in the vehicle plate when your 
motorcycle insurance is discontinued or expires.

 
RESIDENT AND NON-RESIDENT  
RESPONSIBILITY
 
 Anyone who drives or permits a vehicle to be 
driven in New York State, this includes people 
who are not New York residents, must be able 
to prove the vehicle has acceptable liability 
insurance, (see “Insurance,” above, for minimum 
insurance coverage required). If you are convicted 
of driving an uninsured vehicle or if you allow an-
other person to drive your uninsured vehicle, your 
license or privilege to drive in New York State will 
be revoked for at least one year. The same penal-
ty applies if the DMV receives evidence that you 
were involved in a traffic crash without insurance.
 

INSPECTION
 
 Most vehicles sold in New York State must be 
inspected within 30 days of the date of transfer 
or sale and must have a certificate of inspection 
before delivery. If you purchase a vehicle from 
someone who is not a NYS dealer, you must have 
the vehicle inspected within 10 days after you 
register it. Make sure to request a “Ten-Day Time 
Extension for Motor Vehicle Inspection” (VS-1077). 
If a person moves to NYS, an inspection certifi-
cate that was issued before is valid until it expires 
or one year from the date it was issued,  
whichever occurs first.
 
 Under some conditions, vehicles sold at retail 
are exempt from the inspection requirement. 
These conditions are: transfer to a “welfare to 
work” program; transfer of a chassis; transfer of 
a vehicle through factory direct delivery; transfer 
of a vehicle for registration in another state or 
country; transfer of a scrap vehicle; and transfer of 
a vehicle to a long-term lessee (lease buyout).
 
 After the first inspection of your vehicle, it 
must be inspected at an official state-licensed 
inspection station before the expiration date on 
the current inspection certificate. An inspection is 
also required on change of registrant. Inspection  
stations have yellow and black “Official Motor 
Vehicle Inspection Station” signs. Heavy trucks, 
buses, tractors and semi-trailers must be inspect-
ed at special “Heavy Vehicle” Inspection Stations 
and motorcycles at special Motorcycle 
Inspection Stations.
 
 Putting your signature on a registration renewal 
form certifies that the vehicle was inspected as 
required by law. Keep track of when your annual 
inspection is. Schedule a new inspection early, so 
you will have time to repair your vehicle if it does 
not pass.
 
 After inspection, the vehicle inspector will issue 
a sticker for the vehicle to prove it has passed in-
spection. If your vehicle did not pass, the inspec-
tor will give you a rejection notice. In most cases, 
your vehicle must be repaired to meet standards 
and must be inspected again. A vehicle that is
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subject to a high enhanced or OBD II emissions 
inspection that fails a first inspection can qualify 
for a waiver. An attempt must be made to repair 
the malfunction and the cost for repairs must be 
at least $450. Many gasoline-powered vehicles 
(except motorcycles) must be inspected for 
exhaust emissions during the safety inspection. 
Exceptions are gasoline-powered vehicles that 
are 26 or more model years old, or less than two 
model years old, or registered as historic. Those 
vehicles are subject to a safety inspection only. 
 
 Diesel-powered vehicles that operate in NYS, 
even if registered elsewhere, are subject to ran-
dom roadside safety tests by the NYS Police and 
the NYS Department of Transportation. Vehicles 
with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) more 
than 8,500 pounds are subject to a Diesel fuel 
emissions inspection. 
 

COMPLAINTS AGAINST BUSINESSES
 
 The DMV regulates motor vehicle dealers, 
inspection stations and auto repair shops. These 
businesses should be identified by registration or 

license certificates and outside signs. Make sure 
you are dealing with a registered or  
licensed business.
 
 If you have a complaint against one of these 
businesses, first try to resolve it with the manage-
ment. If that fails, call (518) 474-8943 between 
8:30 a.m. and 4:15 p.m. weekdays. You can also 
write to Vehicle Safety Services, DMV, Bureau of 
Consumer and Facility Services, Box 2700-ESP, 
Albany, N.Y., 12220-0700. By regulation, the DMV 
can receive a repair shop complaint only within 
90 days or 3,000 miles (4,828 km) of the vehicle 
repairs, whichever comes first.
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SIGNS
 
 Traffic signs tell you about traffic rules, special 
hazards, where you are, how to get where you are 
going and where services are available.
 
The shape and color of traffic signs give indica-
tions to the type of information they provide:
 
REGULATION SIGNS normally are white rectan-
gles with black letters or symbols, but some are 
different shapes, and some can use red letters  
or symbols.
 
WARNING SIGNS normally are yellow and dia-
mond-shaped, with black letters or symbols.
 
DESTINATION SIGNS are green with white letters 
and symbols.
 
SERVICE SIGNS are blue with white letters and 
symbols.
 
Know the signs shown below and what they 
indicate. You will be asked about them on your 
written test.
 
Here are descriptions of common traffic signs 
and what they indicate.
 

REGULATION SIGNS
 
Stop Sign
 
COLOR: Red, with white 
letters
 
MEANING: Come to a full 
stop, yield the right-of-way to vehicles and pedes-
trians in or heading toward the intersection. Go 
when it is safe. You must come to a stop before 
the stop line, if there is one. If not, you must 

stop before you enter the crosswalk. (See “Stop 
Crosswalk Lines” under the “Pavement Markings” 
section of this chapter.) If there is no stop line or 
crosswalk, you must stop before you enter the 
intersection, at the point nearest the intersection 
that gives you a view of traffic on the  
intersecting roadway.  
 
Yield Sign
 
COLOR: Red and white, with 
red letters.
 
MEANING: Decrease speed 
as you reach the intersec-
tion. Prepare to stop and yield the right-of-way 
to vehicles and pedestrians in or heading toward 
the intersection. You must come to a full stop at 
a YIELD sign if traffic conditions require it. When 
you approach a YIELD sign, check carefully for 
traffic, and be prepared to stop.  
 
Other Regulation Signs
 
COLOR: White, 
with black and/
or red letters or 
symbols
 
MEANING: 
These signs give information about rules for traffic 
direction, lane use, turns, speed, parking and 
other special requirements.  
 
 Some regulation signs have a red circle with 
a slash over a symbol. This indicates that an 
action, like a right turn, is not allowed or that some 
vehicles are restricted from the road. Rectangular 
white signs with black or red letters or symbols 
are indications to be alert for special rules.

RULES OF THE ROAD

CHAPTER 4 / TRAFFIC CONTROL
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WARNING SIGNS:
 
COLOR: Yellow, 
with black letters or 
symbols
 
MEANING: You are 
approaching a haz-
ardous location or a 
location where there 
is a special rule, as shown in the sample signs. 
Sometimes a warning sign is joined with a yellow 
and black “recommended speed” sign. This indi-
cates reduced speed is advised in that area. 
 
 
Work Area Signs
 
COLOR: 
Orange, with 
black letters  
or symbols
 
MEANING: People are at work on or near the 
roadway and traffic can be controlled by a flag 
person. A work area speed limit as low as 25 MPH 
(40 km/h) can be posted. Even if no speed limit 
is provided, you must drive at a reduced speed 
through the work zone and you must always obey 
the flag persons. These illustrations show some 
signals a flag person will use. Know and  
obey them. 

DESTINATION SIGNS:
 
COLOR: Green, with white 
letters
 
MEANING: Show the direction and distance to 
locations.  
 
Route Signs
 
COLOR: Varied.
 
MEANING: Indicate interstate, U.S., state  
or county routes. The shape tells you the type of 
route you are on. The sample signs, left to right, 
are for state, U.S., and interstate routes. When you 
plan a trip, use a highway map to decide which 
routes to take. During the trip, watch for destina-
tion signs so you will not get lost, or have to turn 
or stop suddenly.
 
SERVICE SIGNS:
 
COLOR: Blue,  
with white letters  
or symbols
 
MEANING: Show the location of services,  
like rest areas, gas stations, camping or  
medical facilities.  
 

TRAFFIC SIGNALS
 
Traffic Lights
 
 Traffic lights are normally 
red, yellow and green from 
the top to bottom or left to 
right. At some intersections, 
there are lone red, yellow 
or green lights. Some traffic 
lights are steady, others flash. 
Some are round, and some are arrows. State law 
requires that if the traffic lights or controls are out 
of service or do not operate correctly when you 
approach an intersection, you must come to a 
stop as you would for a stop sign. You must then 
continue according to the rules of right-of-way, 
unless you are told to continue by a  
traffic officer.
 

 

STOP

SLOW

PROCEED
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Here is what different traffic lights indicate:
 

STEADY RED: Stop. Do not go until the light is 
green. If a green arrow is shown with the red light, 
you can go only toward the arrow and only if the 
intersection is clear.
 

 You can make a right turn at a steady red light 
after you come to a full stop and yield the right-of-
way to oncoming traffic and pedestrians. You can 
make a left turn at a steady red light when you 
turn from a one-way road into another one-way 
road after you come to a full stop and yield the 
right-of-way to oncoming traffic and pedestrians.
 

 You cannot make a turn at a red light if there is 
a NO TURN ON RED sign posted or another sign, 
signal or pavement marking prevents the turn. 
You are not allowed to turn on a red light in New 
York City unless a sign that permits it is posted.
 

 The driver of a school bus containing students 
cannot turn right on any red light.
 

FLASHING RED: Means the same 
as a STOP sign: Stop, yield the 
right-of-way, and go when it is safe.
 

RED ARROW: Do not go in the di-
rection of the arrow until the red arrow light is off 
and a green light or arrow light goes on. A right or 
left turn on red is not permitted at a red arrow.
 

STEADY YELLOW: Be prepared to 
stop. A steady yellow light means 
the traffic signal is about to turn red.
 

FLASHING YELLOW: Drive with 
caution.
 

YELLOW ARROW: The protection of a green 
arrow will end. If you intend to turn in the direction 
of the arrow, be prepared to stop.
 

STEADY GREEN: Go, but yield the 
right-of-way to other traffic at the 
intersection as required by law (see 
Chapter 5).
 

GREEN ARROW: You can go in the 
direction of the arrow, but you must 
yield the right-of-way to other traffic 
at the intersection as required by 
law (see Chapter 5).  
 

Lane Use Control Lights
Special above the pavement lights are sometimes 
used to indicate which lanes of a highway can be 
used at certain times:
 

STEADY RED “X”: Do not drive in this lane.
 

STEADY YELLOW “X”: Move from this lane.
 

FLASHING YELLOW “X”: This lane can only be 
used for a left turn.
 

GREEN ARROW: You can use this lane.  
 

PAVEMENT MARKINGS
 

 Lines and symbols on the roadway divide lanes 
and tell you when you can pass other vehicles or 
change lanes. They also tell you which lanes to 
use for turns and where you must stop for signs 
or traffic signals. The arrows on these illustrations 
show the direction of traffic.
 

Edge and Lane Lines
 

 Solid lines along the side of the road tell you 
where its edge is – where the travel lane ends 
and the shoulder begins. It is illegal to drive 
across the edge line, except when told to by a 
police officer or other authorized official or when 
allowed by an official sign. An edge line that 
angles towards the center of the road shows that 
the road is narrower ahead.  
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Lines that separate lanes of traffic that move in 
the same direction are white. Lines that separate 
traffic that moves in opposite directions are yel-
low. There may be two lines between lanes and 
lines can be solid or broken. Read Chapter 6 for 
the Rules on how to pass other vehicles.
 
What some lane lines indicate:
 
One broken line: You can pass other vehicles 
or change lanes if you can do so safely without 
interfering with traffic.

 
Solid line with broken line: If you are on the side 
with the solid line, you cannot pass other vehicles 
or go across the line except to make a left turn 
into a driveway. If you are on the side with the 
broken line, you can pass if it is safe to and you 
will not interfere with traffic.

Double solid lines: You cannot pass or change 
lanes. You cannot go across the lines except to 
turn left to enter or leave the highway (e.g. to or 
from a driveway or to do a U-turn, see  
Chapter 5).  

 

One solid line: You can pass other vehicles or 
change lanes, but you can only do so when ob-
structions in the road or traffic conditions make  
it necessary.  

Stop and Crosswalk Lines: At an intersection 
controlled by a STOP sign, YIELD sign or 
traffic light, there can 
be a white stop line 
painted across the 
lane, (called a Stop 
Line) and/or two 
parallel lines painted 
across the road (called 
a Crosswalk). When  
required to stop be-
cause of a sign or light, 
you must stop before 
you reach the stop line, 
if there is one, or the 
crosswalk. You need 
only stop at a stop line 
or crosswalk if required 
to by a light, sign or 
traffic officer, or to yield 
to a pedestrian, in-line 
skater or scooter at a 
marked or unmarked crosswalk. A single stop line 
may be placed at intersections to allow room for 
larger vehicles (such as tractor-trailers, buses, and 
trucks) to turn without forcing other traffic to back 
up. It’s important that you stop before you reach 
this stop line (See “Pedestrians” in Chapter 11).
 
Arrows: Arrows show which lanes you must use. 
In this illustration, for example, you can turn right 
only from the right lane. To go straight, you must 
use the left lane. You must be in the correct lane 
before you reach the solid line that separates 
 the lanes.    
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Diamond Symbol: This symbol indicates the lane 
is reserved lanes for buses, HOV (High-Occupan-
cy Vehicles) like car-pools and van-pools, bicycles 
or other special vehicles. You cannot enter and 
use these lanes unless your vehicle complies with 
the occupancy or other requirements indicated 
by signs for the times the special conditions are 
in effect. When used to designate reserved lanes 
on city streets, sections of the solid white line that 
separates the diamond lanes from the normal 
lanes can be replaced by broken white lines. In 
these locations, non-HOV can enter the HOV lane 
if they make a right turn at the next intersection. 
Bus lanes and HOV lanes are to promote the 
most efficient use of limited street and highway 
capacity. They assure that vehicles with the  
highest importance move the fastest. 

TRAFFIC OFFICERS
 
 Directions given by traffic officers take prece-
dence over signs, signals or pavement markings. 
If a traffic officer signals you to stop at a green 
light, for example, you must stop. If an officer sig-
nals you to drive through a red light or stop sign, 
you must do it.
 
 Among the persons authorized to direct traffic 
are police officers, fire police, highway work area 
flag persons and school crossing persons, and 
school bus drivers.
 

QUESTIONS
 
 Before you move on to Chapter 5, make sure 
you can identify the signs in this chapter and 
know what they mean. Also, make sure you can 
answer these questions:
 
  • A regulation sign is normally what shape?
 
  •  What is the normal color and shape of a 

warning sign?
 
  • What color and shape is a destination sign?

  • What must you do at a STOP sign?
 
  •  What must you do when you encounter each 

of the following: a flashing red light, flashing 
yellow light, steady yellow light, a red light 
with a green arrow?

 
  •  What does it indicate if an edge line angles 

in toward the center of the road?
 
  •  What do each of these lines indicate: one 

broken, one solid, double solid, solid and 
broken together?

 
  •  If an intersection has crosswalk lines but no 

STOP line, where must you stop for a red 
light at that intersection?

 
  •  What type of pavement marking shows you 

which lane you must use for a turn?
 
  •  Which of the following must you obey over 

the other three: red light, flashing red light, 
STOP sign, police officer?
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 Most traffic crashes occur at intersections when 
a driver makes a turn. Many occur in large parking 
lots like at shopping centers. To prevent this type 
of crash, you must understand the right-of-way 
rules and how to make correct turns.
 

RIGHT-OF-WAY
 

 Traffic signs, signals and pavement markings 
do not always resolve traffic conflicts. A green 
light, for example, does not resolve the conflict 
of when a car turns left at an intersection while 
an approaching car goes straight through the 
intersection. The right-of-way rules help resolve 
these conflicts. They tell you who goes first and 
who must wait in different conditions.
 

Here are examples of right-of-way rules:
 

  •  A driver who approaches an intersection 
must yield the right-of-way to traffic that is  
in the intersection.

 

Example: You approach an intersection. The 
traffic light is green and you want to drive straight 
through. Another vehicle, is already in the 
intersection making a left turn. You must let that 
vehicle complete its turn before you enter the 
intersection.
 

  •  If drivers approaching from opposite di-
rections reach an intersection at about the 
same time, a driver that turns left must yield 
to traffic that moves straight or turns right.

 
Example: You want to turn left at an intersection 
ahead. A vehicle reaches the intersection from the 
opposite direction and moves straight ahead. You 
must wait for approaching traffic to go through 
before you turn. You may enter the intersection to 
prepare for your left turn if the light is green and 
no other vehicle ahead of you plans to make a 
left turn (see “Turns” later in this chapter). When 
you enter the intersection, keep to the right of the 
center line. Keep your wheels straight to prevent 
being pushed into oncoming traffic if your vehicle 
is hit from behind. When traffic headed toward 
you clears or stops for a red light, complete your 
turn when you can do so safely.
 

 You must also yield to traffic headed toward 
you when you turn left into a driveway, parking lot 
or other area, even if there are no signs or signals 
that control the turn.
 

 For any left turn, the law requires you to yield 
to any traffic headed toward you that is close 
enough to be a hazard. The decision about when 
traffic is too close takes experience and judg-
ment. If you have any concern, wait for traffic to 
pass before you turn left.
 

  •  At intersections not controlled by signs or 
signals, or where two or more drivers stop at 
STOP signs at the same time and they  
are at right angles, the driver on the left 
must yield the right-of-way to the driver on 
the right.

 

Example: You are stopped at a stop sign and you 
are going to go straight through the intersection. 
A driver on the cross road has stopped at a stop 
sign on your right and is also going to go straight. 
You must yield the right-of-way to the other driver.
 

  •  A vehicle that enters a roadway from a 
driveway, private road or another place that 
is not a roadway, must stop and yield the 
right-of-way to traffic on the roadway and  
to pedestrians.

Example: You intend to leave a parking lot and 
turn right when you enter a street. You are driving 
out of a parking lot and turn right as you enter a 
street. A vehicle approaches from your left. You 
must stop and wait for the vehicle to pass before 
you enter the street. If you were to turn left, you 
would have to yield to vehicles that approach 
from both directions. If a pedestrian walked 
across the parking lot exit, you would have to  
wait for that person to go across.
 

  •  Drivers must yield to pedestrians who  
legally use marked or unmarked crosswalks. 
This means you must slow down or stop  
if necessary. In all situations, drivers must 
take care to avoid colliding with pedestrians 
and bicyclists.

 
Example: You are stopped at a red light. A pedes-
trian steps into the crosswalk, and then the light 
turns green. You must wait for the pedestrian to 
go across. You must also yield to pedestrians in 

CHAPTER 5 / INTERSECTIONS AND TURNS
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crosswalks on your left or right before you turn.
 
  •  You cannot enter an intersection if traffic is 

backed up on the other side and you can-
not get completely through the intersection. 
Wait until traffic ahead clears, so you do not 
block the intersection.

 
  •  Be alert to cross-streets or offset intersec-

tions, so that you don’t cause gridlock by 
blocking another street.

 
  •  A driver who approaches a traffic circle or 

rotary must yield the right-of-way to drivers 
already in the circle. (For more information 
on how to drive in a rotary see “How to 
Drive Through a Roundabout” in Chapter 8 
of this manual.)

 

EMERGENCY VEHICLES
 
 You must yield the right-of-way to fire, ambu-
lance, police and other authorized emergency ve-
hicles when they respond to emergencies. They 
will display lights that are flashing red, red and 
blue or red and white and/or may sound a siren or 
air-horn. (Vehicles responding to emergencies for 
a Police Department, Sheriff Department or the 
New York State Troopers are not always required 
to use an audible siren or horn.) When you hear or 
see an emergency vehicle heading toward your 
vehicle from any direction, safely pull over im-
mediately to the right edge of the road and stop. 
Wait until the emergency vehicle passes before 
you drive on. If you are in an intersection, drive 
out of it before you pull over.
 
 You must pull over and stop for an emergency 
vehicle even if it is headed toward you in the 
opposite lane of a two-way roadway.
 
 If you hear a siren or air-horn close by but do 
not know exactly where the emergency vehicle 
is, you must safely pull over to the right-side edge 
of the road and stop until you are sure it is not 
headed toward you.
 
 An emergency vehicle that uses lights and a 
siren or air-horn can be unpredictable. The driver 
can legally exceed the speed limit, pass red lights 
and STOP or YIELD signs, go the wrong way on 

one-way streets and turn in directions not normal-
ly allowed. Although emergency vehicle drivers 
are required to be careful, you must be cautious 
when an emergency vehicle heads toward you. 
 
Move Over Law
 
 This law requires every driver to exercise care 
to avoid colliding with an authorized emergen-
cy or hazard vehicle that is parked, stopped or 
standing on the shoulder or any portion of the 
highway with its emergency lights activated or 
one or more amber hazard lights activated or 
combination of one or more amber hazard lights 
and one or more blue lights activated. Drivers 
must reduce speed on all roads when encoun-
tering such vehicles, but on parkways, interstates 
and other controlled access roads with multiple 
lanes, drivers are further required to move from 
the lane adjacent to the emergency or hazard 
vehicle unless traffic or other hazards prevent 
doing so safely. Drivers are also required to move 
over for vehicles with blue and green lights which 
are described in the next section. Violations of 
this law are punishable as a moving violation.
 

BLUE, GREEN AND AMBER LIGHTS
 
 Personal vehicles driven by volunteer fire 
fighters responding to alarms are allowed to 
display blue lights and those driven by volunteer 
ambulance or rescue squad members can display 
green lights. Amber lights on hazard vehicles 
such as snow plows and tow trucks or the com-
bination of amber lights and rear projected blue 
lights on hazard vehicles designed for towing or 
pushing disabled vehicles, warn other drivers of 
possible dangers. Flashing amber lights are also 
used on rural mail delivery vehicles and school 
buses to warn traffic of their presence. The vehi-
cles that display blue, green or amber lights are 
not authorized emergency vehicles. Their drivers 
must obey all traffic laws. While you are not 
required to yield the right-of-way, you should yield 
as a courtesy if you can safely do so.
 

TURNS
 
 Always signal before you turn or change lanes. 
It is important that other highway users know your 
intentions. The law requires you to 
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signal a turn or lane change with your turn lights 
or hand signals at least 100 feet (30 m) ahead. 
A good safety tip is, when possible, to signal 
your intention to turn before you begin to brake 
or make the turn. The proper hand signals are 
shown below.

Remember these other tips when you prepare 
to turn: 
 

  • Reduce your speed.
 

  •  Be alert for traffic on all sides. Take special 
caution to check for motorcycles. Most 
crashes that involve motorcycles and other 
vehicles are caused because the driver  
of the other vehicle has failed to see  
the motorcycle.  

 

  •  Keep your wheels straight until you actually 
begin to make your turn. If your wheels are 
turned, and you are hit from behind, your 
vehicle could be pushed into the oncoming  
lane of traffic.

 

  •  Remember that your rear wheels will travel 
inside the path of the front wheels, nearer 
to the curb (right turn) or to traffic headed 
toward you (left turn).

 

  •  Watch for pedestrians, bicyclists and mo-
ped riders, especially on right turns. They 
are often difficult to see in traffic.

 

  •  Be especially alert to individuals in wheel 
chairs, people pushing strollers, or some-
one pulling a wheeled suitcase behind 
them. They may be closer to the ground 
and hidden behind a car.

 

 The following illustrations show the correct 
position of your vehicle for turns. These positions 
are from requirements in the law and are not just 
good advice.
 

RIGHT TURN:
 

 As you prepare to turn, get as far to the right 
as possible. Do not make wide, sweeping turns. 
Unless signs direct you to do otherwise, turn into 
the right lane of the road you enter.  

LEFT TURN FROM ONE-WAY ROAD INTO ONE-
WAY ROAD:
 
 Move into the left lane when you prepare to 
turn. If the road you enter has two lanes, you must 
turn into its left lane.  

LEFT TURN FROM ONE-WAY ROAD INTO  
TWO-WAY ROAD:
 
 Approach the turn in the left lane. As you pro-
ceed through the intersection, enter the two-way 
road to the right of its center line, but as close as 
possible to the center line. Be alert for traffic that 
approaches from the road to the left. Motorcycles 
are hard to see, and it is hard to judge their speed 
and distance away.



37  |  Driver’s Manual

LEFT TURN FROM TWO-WAY ROAD INTO  
TWO-WAY ROAD:
       

 Approach the turn from the right half of the 
roadway closest to the center. Try to use the left 
side of the intersection to help make sure that you 
do not interfere with traffic headed toward you 
that wants to turn left. Keep to the right of the cen-
terline of the road you enter, but as close as pos-
sible to the center line. Be alert for traffic heading 
toward you from the left and from the lane you are 
about to go across. Motorcycles headed toward 
you are hard to see and it is difficult to judge their 
speed and distance away. Drivers often fail to see 
a motorcycle headed toward them and hit it while 
they turn across a traffic lane.
 
 
LEFT TURN FROM TWO-WAY ROAD INTO ONE-
WAY ROAD:
 

Approach the turn from the right half of the road-
way closest to the center. Make the turn before 
you reach the center of the intersection and turn 
into the left lane of the road you enter.  
 

LEFT TURN FROM TWO-WAY ROAD INTO 
FOUR-LANE HIGHWAY:

 

 Approach the turn from the right half of the 
roadway closest to the center. Enter the left lane, 
to the right of the center line. When traffic permits, 
you can move out of the left lane. 
 

U-TURNS
 
 A “U-turn” is any turn you make so you can 
proceed in the opposite direction.
 
 Do not try a U-turn on a highway unless 
absolutely necessary. If you must turn around, 
use a parking lot, driveway or other area, and, if 
possible, enter the roadway as you move forward, 
not backing up.
 
 You can make a U-turn only from the left 
portion of the lane nearest to the centerline of the 
roadway, never from the right lane. Unless signs 
tell you otherwise, you can make a U-turn when 
you get permission to proceed by a green arrow 
left turn traffic signal, provided it is allowed and 
you yield to other traffic.
 
 You cannot make a U-turn near the top of a hill, 
a curve or any other location where other drivers 
cannot see your vehicle from 500 feet (150 m) 
away in either direction. U-turns are also illegal in 
business districts of New York City and where NO 
U-TURN signs are provided. You can never make 
a U-turn on a limited access expressway, even if 
paths connect your side of the expressway with 
the other side. In addition, it is prohibited for a 
vehicle to make a U-turn in a school zone.
 
 Unless prohibited, a three-point turn can be 
used to turn around on a narrow, two-way street. 
You may be required to make a three-point turn 
on your road test.
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To make a three-point turn:
 
1. Signal with your right turn signal, then pull over 
to the right and stop. Signal with your left turn 
signal, then check carefully for traffic from  
all directions.  
 
2. Turn left, go across the road so you come to  
a stop while you face the left curb or edge of  
the road.
 
3. Look again for traffic. Turn your steering wheel 
as far to the right as possible, then look behind 
you as you back up. Stop before you reach the 
right curb or any obstacle to the right curb or 
edge of the road.
 
4. Stop, check again for other traffic, then turn 
your steering wheel all the way to the left and pull 
forward to complete your turn when it is safe.
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

QUESTIONS
 
Before you go on to Chapter 6, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
  •  What is the hand signal for a stop?  

  • A right turn?
 
  •  If two drivers enter an intersection from op-

posite directions at the same time, and one 
travels straight, the other prepares to turn 
left, which must yield the right-of-way?

 
  •  If you enter an intersection to make a left 

turn, but oncoming traffic prevents the turn 
immediately, what should you do?

 
  •  If you reach an intersection that is not con-

trolled at the same time as a driver on your 

right, and both of you prepare to go straight, 
who has the right-of-way?

 
  •  What must you do if you enter a road from  

a driveway?
 
  •  You face a green light, but traffic on the 

other side of the intersection does not allow 
you to travel all the way through the inter-
section. May you enter the intersection?

 
  •  Does a vehicle prepared to enter a traffic cir-

cle or rotary have right-of-way over vehicles 
in the circle?

 
  •  What will you do if you hear a siren nearby 

but cannot see where the emergency  
vehicle is?

 
  • How far before a turn must you signal?
 
  •  When you prepare for a right turn, should 

you remain as near the center of the lane  
as possible?

 
  •  Where must you position your vehicle when 

you prepare to make a left turn from a two-
way roadway into a one-way roadway?
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 The law requires that we drive on the right 
side of the road. When we are allowed to pass 
other vehicles, we usually pass on the left. You 
are permitted to pass on the right only in certain 
circumstances and it must be done only when 
necessary and safe. When you pass other vehicles 
or change lanes to keep away from hazards, do 
so with caution and only when necessary. You 
must not exceed the speed limit to pass another 
vehicle.
 

 When you pass a motorcycle, remember to 
give the motorcycle the same full-lane width as 
other vehicles are allowed. Never move into the 
same lane space as a motorcycle, even if the lane 
is wide and the motorcycle is to one side.
 

When you pass a bicycle, be sure to give the 
cyclist sufficient space to ride. When overtaking a 
bicyclist from behind, the law requires you to pass 
on the left at a safe distance until the bicycle has 
been cleared. 
 

 The law requires you to use turn signal lamps 
or hand and arm signals to indicate your intention 
to change lanes at least 100 feet (30 m) before 
you make a lane change. You must never pass a 
vehicle that has stopped at a crosswalk to allow a 
pedestrian to go across.
 

HOW TO PASS ON THE LEFT
 

 The left lane is normally used to pass other 
vehicles. You cannot pass a vehicle on the left if:
 

  • Your lane has a solid yellow center line.
 

  •  You cannot safely return to the right lane 
before you reach a solid yellow center line 
for the right lane.

 

  •  You cannot safely return to the right lane 
before any oncoming vehicle comes within 
200 feet (60 m) of you.

 

  •  You approach a curve or the top of a hill on  
a two-way road and cannot see around or 
over it.

 

  •  You are within 100 feet (30 m) of a railroad 
crossing on a two-way roadway.

  •  You are within 100 feet (30 m) of a bridge, 
tunnel or viaduct on a two-way road and 
your view is obstructed.

 

  •  If you try to pass, you will interfere with 
oncoming traffic.

 

 If conditions are correct to pass, check in your 
mirrors and signal your lane change. Before you 
pull into the left lane, look quickly over your left 
shoulder, through the back side window, to make 
sure there is no vehicle close behind you in the 
left lane. Never depend on your mirrors when you 
prepare to change lanes. Even correctly adjusted 
mirrors will leave “blind spots” behind both sides 
of your vehicle. If a vehicle is in the blind spot, you 
may not see it in your mirrors. Always quickly look 
over your shoulder before you change lanes  
or pass.
 
 When you pass, move completely into the left 
lane. Before you return to the right lane, signal 
and look at your interior rear-view mirror and 
make sure you can see the front bumper of the 
vehicle you passed. Look quickly over your right 
shoulder to make sure that you can see at least 
several feet of pavement between your vehicle 
and the one you passed. Then return to the  
right lane. 
 

HOW TO PASS ON THE RIGHT
 

 You can normally pass other vehicles on the 
left, some situations allow you to pass on the 
right. You can pass a vehicle on the right only in 
the conditions listed below and only if you can 
pass safely. You cannot drive on or across the 
shoulder or edge line of the road unless a sign 
allows it or when indicated by a traffic officer (see 
Chapter 4). You can pass on the right:
 
  • When a vehicle ahead makes a left turn.
 
  •  When you are on a two-way road that is 

marked for two or more lanes or is wide 
enough for two or more lanes in each  
direction and passing is not prohibited by  
signs or restricted by parked cars or  
other obstructions.

 
  •  When you drive on a one-way road that is 

marked for two or more lanes or is wide 

CHAPTER 6 / HOW TO PASS
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enough for two or more lanes, and to pass 
is not prohibited by signs or restricted by 
parked cars or other obstructions.

 
 If you prepare to pass on the right at an inter-
section, check the traffic ahead carefully. Make 
sure a vehicle that is approaching is not prepared 
to turn left into your path, and watch at the right 
side of the road for pedestrians, bicyclists, in-line 
skaters and moped riders.
 
 Before a school bus stops to load or discharge 
passengers, the driver will usually flash yellow 
warning lights, which are located on the front 
and back of the bus near the roof. When you see 
them, decrease speed and be prepared to stop. 
 

BEING PASSED
 
 If another vehicle passes you on the left, 
decrease your speed slightly and stay centered in 
your lane. When the vehicle has safely passed and 
is ahead of you, continue at your normal speed.
 
 If you find that you are being passed on the 
right by many vehicles, you should move into the 
right lane and allow them to pass you on the left.
 

SCHOOL BUSES
 
 When a stopped school bus flashes its red 
light(s), traffic that approaches from either direc-
tion, even in front of the school and in school 
parking lots, must stop before it reaches the bus. 
You should stop at least 20 feet (6 m) away from 
the bus. You can identify this bus by a “SCHOOL 
BUS” sign, the red lights on the top and its unique 
yellow-orange color.
 
 Before a school bus stops to load or discharge 
passengers, the driver will usually yellow flash 
warning lights, which are located on the front 
and back of the bus near the roof. When you see 
them, decrease speed and be prepared to stop.
 
 When you stop for a school bus, you cannot 
drive again until the bus starts moving again or 
when the bus driver or a traffic officer signals  
that you can proceed. This law applies on all  
roadways in New York State. You must stop for a 

school bus even if it is on the opposite side of a 
divided highway.
 
 After you stop for a school bus, look for chil-
dren along the side of the road. Drive slowly until 
you have passed them.
 

Safety Tip: Most school bus-related deaths and 
injuries occur while children cross the street after 
being discharged from the bus, not in collisions 
that involve school buses.
 

 Remember that vehicles that transport people 
with disabilities can be equipped as school buses 
and you must stop for them as you would for 
other school buses.
 
 The fine when you pass a stopped school bus 
ranges from a minimum of $250 for a first viola-
tion to a maximum of $1,000 for three violations in 
three years. If you are convicted of three of these 
violations in three years, your driver license will 
be revoked for a minimum of  
six months.

 Vehicle Owners - A law was passed in 2019 
that authorizes school districts and municipalities 
to use stop-arm cameras on school buses to 
impose penalties on the owners of vehicles which 
pass a school bus while the school bus is stopped 
for the purpose of dropping off or picking up 
passengers and red lights on the school bus are 
flashing. 
 
• First violation - penalty of $250
 
•  Second violation within 18 months - penalty  

of $275
 
•  Third violation (or more) within 18 months - 

penalty of $300
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QUESTIONS
 

 Before you go on to Chapter 7, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 

  •  Under most conditions, on which side can 
you pass another vehicle that is headed the 
same direction?

 

  •  What should you do before you pass  
another vehicle?

 

  •  What should you see in your rear-view mir-
ror before you attempt to return to the right 
lane after you pass a vehicle on the left?

 

  •  Under what conditions can you pass a  
vehicle on the right?

 

  •  When can you pass a vehicle stopped at  
a crosswalk to allow a pedestrian to  
go across?

 

  •  What action should you take when another 
vehicle passes you on the left?

 

  •  What do yellow lights going on and off on a 
school bus indicate?

 

  •  What do red lights going on and off on a 
school bus indicate?
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 Parallel parking takes skill and is part of every 
road test. You must know where parking is illegal 
and what NO PARKING, NO STANDING and NO 
STOPPING signs indicate.
 

HOW TO PARK
 
 Many motorists consider parallel parking the 
most difficult part of driving. But practice will 
teach you how to back up correctly and to judge 
distances and angles.
 
 Some vehicles have additional safety equip-
ment (such as back up cameras and range-de-
tecting sensors) to help the driver back up safely. 
Some vehicles can even park themselves (in 
certain conditions). Although these can be useful 
features, you need to be alert and check the area 
behind your vehicle before you back up. YOU – 
as the driver – are ultimately responsible for the 
safe operation of your vehicle. 
 
The following instructions are general. You must 
adjust parallel-parking procedures to the particu-
lar situation. Practice is the only method to  
learn correctly. 

 
 

1.  Select a space that is large enough for your ve-
hicle on your side of the road. Check your mirrors 
before you stop and signal to warn other drivers. 
Stop next to the vehicle in front of the space and 
leave about two feet between the other vehicle 
and your vehicle.
 

2.  Look behind you over both shoulders to make 
sure you will not interfere with pedestrians or on-
coming traffic. Back the vehicle slowly and begin 

to turn your steering wheel completely toward the 
near curb. Look through the rear window, not the 
mirrors, when you back up. Look to the side and 
front occasionally to make sure you will not touch 
the vehicle ahead.

3.  When your front wheels are opposite the back 
bumper of the vehicle ahead, turn the steering 
wheel the other way while you continue to back 
up. Make sure you clear the vehicle ahead. Look 
back and stop to ensure that you do not bump the 
vehicle behind you.  

4.  Bring your wheels straight and pull forward. Al-
low room for the vehicles ahead and behind you. 
In your final parking position, your wheels must be 
no more than one foot (30 cm) from the curb.
 

To get nearer to the curb, alternately pull forward 
and back up, and turn the steering wheel first 
toward the curb and then quickly straight again.
 

After parking, remember that you must not open 
the door on the road side if it will interfere with 
bicyclists and other traffic.
 

HOW TO PARK ON A HILL
 
 After you park on a hill, make sure to set your 
parking brake. Put the transmission in “Park” (or, 
if your vehicle has a manual transmission, put 
the transmission into 1st gear). Turn the wheels 
toward the curb or side of the road, so they will 
keep your vehicle from heading into traffic. 
 

HOW TO PULL OUT FROM PARALLEL 
PARKING
 

To pull away from a parallel parking space, make 
sure your wheels are straight, back up to the 

1.

2.

3.

4.
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vehicle behind you and turn your wheels away 
from the curb.
 

Six steps to enter safely into traffic: 
 

  1)  Turn your head to look over your right  
shoulder and check through the rear-win-
dow for pedestrians, bicyclists, motorcyclists 
and other vehicles that can become  
a hazard; 

 

  2)  Use your interior rear-view mirror to  
help keep an eye on hazards behind  
your vehicle; 

 

  3  Signal your intentions to move from your 
parking space into traffic; 

 

  4)  Check your side mirrors for oncoming vehi-
cles, pedestrians, bicyclists, in-line skaters, 
motorcyclists and other highway users; 

 

  5)  Turn your head to look over your left shoul-
der out through the rear-window and begin 
to slowly drive forward. Make sure you can 
avoid the vehicle parked ahead when you 
enter traffic; 

 

  6)  Turn your head and look over your left 
shoulder to look through the rear-window, 
drive into the traffic lane when it is safe  
to do so.

 

PARKING REGULATIONS
 

 What people understand as “parking” is legally 
divided into three categories: parking, stand-
ing and stopping. Parking is when a vehicle is 
stopped, occupied or not, other than temporarily 
for the purpose of loading or unloading merchan-
dise or passengers. Standing is similar to Parking, 
except that it only relates to receiving or discharg-
ing passengers. Stopping is literally that, bringing 
the vehicle to a stop (even temporarily).
 

A NO PARKING sign means you can make a 
temporary stop to load or discharge merchandise 
or passengers.
 

A NO STANDING sign means you can only make 
a temporary stop to load or discharge passen-
gers. The driver cannot exit the vehicle.
 

A NO STOPPING sign means you can stop only to 

obey a traffic sign, signal or officer or to prevent 
conflicts with other vehicles.
 

Besides parking, standing and stopping rules, 
there are statewide rules not always indicated  
by signs:
 

You cannot park, stop or stand:
 

  •  Within 15 feet (5 m) of a fire hydrant, unless 
a licensed driver remains in the vehicle to 
move it in an emergency.

 

  •  On the road side of a parked vehicle  
(“double parking”). 

  • On a sidewalk or in a crosswalk.
 

  •  In an intersection, unless permitted by signs 
or parking meters.

 

  • On railroad tracks.
 

  •  Next to or opposite road work, construction 
or other obstructions if your vehicle  
blocks traffic. 

  •  Within 30 feet (10 m) of a pedestrian safety 
area, unless another distance is marked. 

  • On a bridge or in a tunnel. 
 

Parking or standing is not allowed:
 

  • In front of a driveway. 
 

  •  Within 20 feet (6 m) of a crosswalk at  
an intersection.

 

  •  Within 30 feet (10 m) of a traffic light, STOP 
sign or YIELD sign. 

  •  Within 20 feet (6 m) of a fire station driveway 
or within 75 feet (23 m) on the opposite side 
of the road. 

  •  Along a curb that is cut, lowered or made for 
access to the sidewalk. 

 You cannot park your vehicle within 50 feet  
(15 m) of a railroad crossing.
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RESERVED PARKING FOR PEOPLE  
WITH DISABILITIES
 
 Parking reserved for persons with disabilities 
is a legal requirement. These special parking 
spaces for motorists with disabilities ensure safe 
and equal access to goods and services, access 
which is taken for granted by 
many persons. You can park 
in reserved spaces only if you 
have a permit or vehicle plates 
for persons with disabilities 
and only when the person who 
received the permit or vehicle 
plates is in the vehicle.  
 
 It is illegal for any vehicle to 
park, stop or stand in a space 
reserved for the disabled unless it has vehicle 
plates for the disabled issued by the DMV, a New 
York State Parking Permit for the Disabled issued 
by a city, town, county or village or a similar 
vehicle plate or permit issued by another state. 
The vehicle must be in operation to transport the 
disabled person described in the registration or 
permit. This law applies to spaces reserved and 
provided by local ordinance on streets and high-
ways and those held for special use by state law 
in shopping centers that have five or more stores 
and 20 or more off-street public parking spaces.
 
 It is a misdemeanor to make a false statement 
or give false information on an application for 
vehicle plates, and you would be subject to a 
mandatory license revocation and could face a 
fine, incarceration, or both, plus a mandatory  
surcharge. Additionally, if you make a false state-
ment or provide false information to get a parking 
permit for a person with a disability, you face 
possible civil penalties from $250 to $1,000 and 
a mandatory surcharge. These penalties apply 
to the applicant and to a doctor who provides 
certification.
 
 To apply for vehicle plates for the disabled or 
for a NYS Parking Permit for the Disabled use 
the MV-664.1 Instructions and Application for a 
Parking Permit or License Plates for People with 
Severe Disabilities.
 
 Reserved spaces must be marked with signs 

like the one shown above, and also can be des-
ignated with pavement markings. Do not park in 
the spaces with diagonal stripes next to reserved 
parking areas. These spaces are needed to give 
access to those with wheelchairs and vehicles 
with special equipment.
 
 The fines for parking violations on a street are 
set by municipalities. Unless a municipality sets 
higher penalties, the fine for a shopping center 
violation is $50 to $75 for a first offense and $75 
to $150 for a second offense within two years in 
the same municipality. A mandatory surcharge of 
$30 will be added to each penalty.
 
QUESTIONS
 
Before you go on to Chapter 8, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
   •  After you have parallel parked, how near to 

the curb must your vehicle be?
 
  •  May you open a door on the road side of 

your vehicle if there is no oncoming traffic? 

  •  Before you leave a parking space, what 
should you do?

 
  • What does a NO STOPPING sign mean? 

  •  Can you stop to load or drop off passengers 
at a NO STANDING or NO PARKING sign?

 
   •  May you park on a crosswalk in the middle 

of a block?
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 Most drivers are good drivers. But even the 
best drivers make errors now and then. Equip-
ment fails, weather conditions can be bad, and 
some drivers ignore traffic laws or drive in an 
erratic manner. To prevent making errors or being 
involved in a crash because of someone else’s 
error, learn to drive in a defensive manner:
 

  • Be prepared and look ahead.
 

  • Maintain the correct speed.
 

  • Signal before you turn or change lanes.
 

  • Allow space.
 

  • Wear your seat belt.
 

  •  Do not drive if you are very weary, are on 
medication or have been drinking beverag-
es that contain alcohol.

 

  • Keep your vehicle in good condition.
 

  •  Do not use hand held mobile devices  
while driving.

 

BE PREPARED AND LOOK AHEAD
 
 You should sit in a comfortable but vertical 
position and keep both hands on the steering 
wheel. Slouching in the driver’s seat or using only 
one hand on the wheel makes it more difficult or 
even dangerous to control your vehicle.
 
 Traffic conditions change continuously. Always 
scan the road ahead. Do not use the road or even 
the vehicle ahead as your only points of focus. 
Look ahead so you can prevent, or decrease, 
possible problems.
 
 Keep your eyes moving, notice what is happen-
ing at the sides of the road, and check behind 
you through your mirrors every few seconds.
 

 Anticipate errors by other drivers, bicyclists and 
pedestrians and think about what you will do if 
an error occurs. Do not assume that a driver who 
approaches a STOP or YIELD sign on a side road 
is actually going to stop or yield. It is better to 
assume the other driver will not stop.
 

DRIVER DISTRACTIONS
 
 A distraction is anything that takes your 
attention away from driving. Distracted driving 
can cause crashes, resulting in injury, death, or 
property damage. Taking your eyes off the road 
or hands off the steering wheel presents obvious 
driving risks. Mental activities that take your mind 
away from driving are just as dangerous.
 
When driving:
 
  • Do not use cell phones or text.
 
  •  Avoid arguments and stressful or emotional 

conversations with passengers.
 
  • Avoid eating while driving.
 
  •  Be sure children are properly and  

safely restrained.
 
  •  Properly secure pets in a pet carrier or por-

table kennel.
 
 You must pay attention to the driving task. You 
are responsible for operating your vehicle in a  
safe manner.
 

AGGRESSIVE DRIVERS 
 
 Aggressive driving includes speeding, which 
often leads to following too closely, frequent or 
quick lane changes without a signal, passing on 
the shoulder or parts of the roadway that are not 
paved or being a nuisance to motorists, bicyclists 
or pedestrians, who don’t get out of the way. 
Aggressive drivers sometimes run stop signs and 

SAFE DRIVING TIPS
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red lights, pass stopped school buses, fail to keep 
right, drive while impaired by alcohol or drugs 
and drive in a reckless manner. Some aggressive 
drivers try to cause harm to another driver, and 
that is how aggressive driving becomes  
road rage.
 
 To prevent road rage, it is sometimes better 
not to make eye contact with another driver. The 
other driver can take this as being challenged.
 
When an aggressive driver confronts you:
 
  • Do not make eye contact.
 
  • Remain calm and relaxed. 

  • Try to move away safely. 
 
  •  Do not challenge an aggressive driver with 

increased speed or try to hold your position 
in your travel lane.

 
  •  Wear a seat belt and encourage your  

passengers to do the same. 

  •  Ignore gestures and shouts and do not  
return them.

 
  •  Report aggressive drivers to law enforce-

ment authorities and give a vehicle descrip-
tion, location, vehicle plate number and 
direction of travel.

 
  •  If an aggressive driver is following you, do 

not stop or get out of your vehicle. Drive to 
the nearest police station. 

  •  If an aggressive driver is involved in a crash, 
stop a safe distance from the crash scene. 
When the police arrive, report the driving 
behavior you saw.

 
To avoid becoming an aggressive driver:
 
  •  Allow enough travel time to reach your 

destination on schedule.
 
  •  Adjust your schedule to prevent driving 

during times with the most highway traffic.
  • If you are late, call ahead so you can relax.
 

  •  Do not drive when you are angry, upset or 
very tired.

 

  •  Make your vehicle comfortable. Listen to 
relaxing music and prevent conditions that 
make you anxious.

 

  •  When you drive, relax and be aware of how 
you sit. Sit back in your seat, loosen your  
hold on the steering wheel and do not grind 
your teeth.

 

  •  Be polite, courteous and forgiving to  
other drivers.

 

  •  You can control how you react. If another 
person drives aggressively, do not do  
the same.

 
 If you have the right-of-way, do not think of 
it as a complete right. Be prepared to yield the 
right-of-way to other highway users. To wait a few 
seconds for another driver is far better than to risk 
a crash.
 

ROAD RAGE
 
 What is “road rage”? Road rage is an angry, 
hostile state, which can increase into violent 
criminal actions or attempts of violent action that 
result from the operation of a motor vehicle. Road 
rage can include behavior to provoke others or to 
make them fearful.
 
 Aggressive driving is not road rage. Howev-
er, aggressive driving can become road rage. 
Aggressive driving generally involves the violation 
of a traffic safety law, while road rage involves the 
breaking of a criminal law.
 
 Who can become road raged? It could happen 
to anyone when our irritation or anger with others 
leads us to behavior that is a threat to ourselves 
and to the safety and lives of others on and near 
the road or highways. To endanger, threaten or 
assault another person is illegal. These behaviors 
can result in severe penalties that include fines, 
imprisonment and court-ordered probation. They 
can also result in revocation or suspension of a  
driver license.
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Road rage can include many behaviors, such as: 
 
  •  Shouts, excessive use of a horn or obscene 

gestures and threats.
 
  •  Driving actions like when you cut off another 

vehicle, drive too closely, block another 
vehicle so it cannot use a traffic lane, chase 
another vehicle or run it off the road, or 
deliberately slam into a vehicle.

 
  •  When you stop a vehicle at the side of the 

road, get out to threaten, attack, fight or 
injure another motorist or passenger or a 
pedestrian, bicyclist or other person.

 
 Research indicates that being in a state of rage 
can affect your blood pressure and your ability to 
reason and make decisions. As a driver, you will 
make more errors. The chance of being involved 
in a traffic crash will increase.
 
 Aggressive driving and road rage can lead to 
revoked or suspended driver licenses, problems 
between family members and friends, loss of 
employment and legal problems.
 
 Many drivers do not recognize when their own 
aggressive driving or road rage is affecting their 
ability to drive safely. State law requires every 
DMV-approved accident prevention course to 
address the hazards and dangers of road rage. 
For information about DMV-approved accident 
prevention courses, go to the DMV website at  
https://dmv.ny.gov/learn-more-about/pirp. You 
can also contact one of the program sponsors. 
Information is available at any state or county 
motor vehicle office.
 

SPEED
 
 You must obey the speed limit. If no limit is 
posted, drive no more than 55 mph (88 km/h). 
Often, it is common sense to keep your actual 
speed below the posted limit. For example, the 
legal limit on a slippery or fogged-in expressway 
might be 55 mph (88 km/h), or even 65 mph (100 
km/h), but the safe speed to drive would be much 
lower. Even if you were to drive at 50 mph (80 
km/h) on that hazardous highway, a police officer 
could ticket you for a speed “not reasonable” for 

the conditions.
 
 To keep a smooth traffic flow, some highways 
also have minimum speed limits. If you drive slow-
er than the minimum speed you can interfere with 
the traffic flow and create a dangerous condition. 
Even if there is no minimum speed limit, those 
driving too slow can be as dangerous as those 
who drive too fast.
 
 Know that some cities have speed limits less 
than 55 mph (88 km/h) that are not always posted. 
For example, the speed limit is 25 mph (48 km/h) 
in New York City unless another limit is posted.
 

ALLOW YOURSELF SPACE
 
 Four of every 10 crashes involve rear-end colli-
sions, normally because a person is following too 
closely (tailgating). Leave enough room between 
your vehicle and the one ahead so you can stop 
safely if the other vehicle stops suddenly. Brake 
early and gently when you prepare to stop or turn. 
It gives drivers behind you plenty of warning that 
you plan to decrease your speed.
 
 For a good “space cushion,” use the two-sec-
ond rule: Select an object near or above the road 
ahead like a sign, tree or overpass. As the vehicle 
ahead passes it, count slowly, “one thousand one, 
one thousand two.” If you reach the same object 
before you finish the count, you are following too 
closely. In bad weather and when following large 
trucks, increase the count to at least three or four 
seconds for additional space.
 
 If a driver follows you too closely (tailgates), 
move to another lane if possible or reduce speed 
and pull off the road to let the driver go by. Make 
sure to signal when you drive off the road and 
when you return to it. Do not press your brakes 
suddenly or unnecessarily as this may startle the 
motorist behind you and could escalate into  
road rage.
 
 In case you must change lanes quickly or pull 
over to avoid a hazard, leave some “escape” 
room to your left and right.

https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/point-insurance-reduction-program
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SEAT BELTS, CHILD SAFETY SEATS  
AND AIR BAGS
 
 Seat belts save lives and can prevent serious 
injuries in traffic crashes. This is why New York 
State requires seat belt use by adults in motor ve-
hicles and seat belts, booster seats or child safety 
seats for children.
 
 New York is a “primary enforcement” state, 
which means a police officer can pull you over 
just because you or one of your passengers isn’t 
wearing their seatbelt. A law enforcement officer 
can issue a traffic ticket for failure to wear a seat 
belt. This law also applies to visitors from outside 
New York State.  
 
 Highlights of the New York State occupant 
restraint law:
 
 •  The driver must be properly restrained by a 

seat belt. The driver can face a fine of up to 
$50 if they fail to buckle up. 

 
 •  A passenger age sixteen (16) years of age or 

older must be properly restrained by a seat 
belt, one person per belt. A passenger age 
sixteen (16) years of age or older can face a 
fine of up to $50 if they fail to buckle up.

 
 •  The driver must make sure that each 

passenger under the age of sixteen (16) 
is properly restrained by a seat belt or 
appropriate child restraint system. The driver 
can face a fine of $25 to $100 and receive 
three points on their driver license for each 
violation.

 
 •  A child under the age of four (4) must be 

restrained in a federally approved child 
safety seat (examples include infant only, 
convertible, combination, all-in-one car seat) 
that is attached to a vehicle by a safety belt or 
universal anchorage (LATCH) system. A child 
must be restrained in the rear-facing position 
until they are two (2) years old or reach 
the highest weight or height limit allowed 
by the car seat manufacturer. For babies 
that outgrow their infant-only car seat, it is 
recommended that a convertible or all-in-one 
seat be used in the rear facing position until 

they outgrow the highest weight or height 
limit allowed by the manufacturer for the rear 
facing position.

 
 •  A child between the age of four (4) and seven 

(7) must be restrained in an appropriate 
federally approved child restraint system 
(commonly referred to as a booster seat) used 
with lap and shoulder belt. An appropriate 
child safety restraint system means the child 
meets the size and weight recommendations 
of the manufacturer. A vehicle’s seat belts 
are not defined as appropriate child restraint 
systems under the law as they are not 
designed for use by children.

 
 •  All other passengers between the ages of 

eight (8) and fifteen (15) must be properly 
restrained by a seat belt, one person per 
belt. If a child is eight (8) years old or older 
and is under 4’9” tall or weighs less than 100 
pounds, continued use of an appropriate child 
restraint system is recommended. If the child 
is four (4) years of age or older, but under the 
age of eight (8) and is over 4’9” tall and/or 
weighs more than 100 pounds, the child may 
be restrained by a seat belt. If the seat belt 
does not fit correctly, it is recommended that 
the child continue to use an appropriate child 
restraint system.

 
 •  Exemptions: Seat belt use is not required in 

certain emergency vehicles, 1964 or older 
vehicles, by passengers in buses (except 
school buses; but seat belt use in a school 
bus can be required by a school district), rural 
letter carriers while discharging the duties 
of such employment, passengers in taxi and 
livery vehicles under the age of eight (8), and 
passengers or operators with a physically 
disabling condition that prevents them from 
being restrained, provided that such condition 
is duly certified by a physician.

 

 When you drive, you must make sure each 
person in your vehicle is properly restrained by 
a seat belt, child restraint system, or car seat. 
During a crash, a person not properly restrained 
becomes a flying object and a danger to each 
person in the vehicle.
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  •  For added protection, adjust your vehicle 
head rest, lock the doors and do not keep 
loose, heavy objects in the passenger area. 
Put them in the trunk.

 

  •  Air bags are meant to work WITH seat belts, 
not to replace them. An air bag protects a 
front-seat occupant in a head-on crash by 
inflating on impact and providing a cushion 
so the occupant does not collide with the 
steering wheel, dashboard or windshield. 
The combination of a seat belt and an air 
bag offers maximum protection, partly be-
cause they help the driver maintain control 
of the vehicle and help prevent  
secondary collisions.

 

 •  Air bags engage (expand quickly) from the 
steering wheel and/or dashboard. Most adults 
who are correctly fastened are safer in a 
vehicle with air bags, but the pressure of an 
air bag as it opens could injure those who sit 
too close to it. You should sit with at least 10 
inches between the center of your chest and 
the cover of the air bag. Place your hands on 
opposite sides of the steering wheel, at the 3 
and 9 clock positions, to keep them away if 
the air bag engages.

 
IMPORTANT: NEVER PUT AN INFANT IN A 
REAR-FACING CHILD SAFETY SEAT 
IN THE FRONT SEAT OF A VEHICLE THAT HAS 
A PASSENGER AIR BAG.

 
HOW TO DRIVE SAFELY IN WORK ZONES

 Areas where road work takes place are danger-
ous to drive in -- and to work in. That is why when 
you speed in work zones, ticket fines double, 
even when the workers or work vehicles are not 
there. Expect to find a work zone wherever you 
drive – you may have to decrease speed quickly 
or even stop. Traffic lanes can shift or be com-
pletely closed. Workers and work vehicles can be 
on or near your driving lane. When you drive in a 
work zone, make it safer because you know what 
to do.

 Orange signs in the shape of diamonds -- 
“work zone” warning signs – are often placed 
before road construction projects and other work 

areas that can change traffic flow. One sign can 
read: “flagger ahead.” A flagger is a worker who 
motions for you to stop, continue with caution or 
change lanes. A flagger has the same authority as 
a sign, which indicates you can receive a ticket for 
disobeying their directions. Decrease speed! Be 
Alert! Obey the signs!
 
Work Zone Tips:
 
  •  Some signs can indicate a detour that allows 

you to avoid the work zone. If you know 
where a work zone is ahead, you should try 
to use a different route.

 
|  •  As you enter a work zone, flashing signs or 

signs with arrows or signs that warn “lane 
closed ahead” mean you should merge 
your vehicle into the correct lane when it is 
safe. Do not speed to the end of the closed 
lane and try to get into the other lane. If you 
move to the correct lane at first notice, you 
will drive in a calmer, more efficient, and  
safe manner. 

 
  •  Decrease your speed when a sign indicates: 

“Road Work 1,500 feet,” that means your car, 
with a speed of 60 miles per hour, will get 
there in 17 seconds.

 
  •  The rear-end collision is the most com-

mon crash in a work zone. To avoid being 
involved in one, it helps to keep a braking 
distance of two seconds or more between 
you and the vehicle in front of you. (See 
“Allowing Yourself Space,” earlier in this 
chapter) Keep a safe distance between your 
vehicle and traffic barriers, trucks, construc-
tion equipment and workers.

 
  •  Some work zones are not stationary, like 

when workers paint lines, patch roads or 
mow. In these cases the size and/or location 
of the work zones may change. As work pro-
gresses, the work zone size may increase, 
decrease, or move to different sections of 
the roadway. Workers can be close even if 
you do not see them immediately after the 
warning signs. Obey the signs until you pass 
the one that states the work zone  
has ended.
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HOW TO DRIVE THROUGH A  
ROUNDABOUT
 

 A “roundabout” is a round intersection with 
a small diameter that makes drivers decrease 
speed, normally to 30 mph or less. Studies 
show a roundabout can reduce the number and 
severity of accidents at an intersection, compared 
to intersections controlled by stop signs or traffic 
signals. Roundabouts, or rotaries, are now more 
common in New York State and other states.  
 
 

When using roundabouts or traffic circles:
 

 

  •  As you get near the roundabout, look for 
the street and direction signs you need. This 
will help you know which exit to take. These 
signs will be provided along the roadside 
before you reach the entrance to the 
roundabout. Slow down when you enter the 
roundabout. A sign, like the one on the left 
above, warns of a roundabout.

 

  •  When you arrive at the roundabout, yield 
the right-of-way to any pedestrians and 
bicyclists. You must also yield to any drivers 
who were in the roundabout before you. 
Sometimes a stop sign or traffic signal will 
control your point of entry. When the traffic 
level allows enough space and time, you 
can enter the roundabout in a counterclock-
wise direction.

 

  •  While inside the roundabout, remain in your 
lane until you are ready to exit. Use your 
right turn signal to let the other users know 
your intention to move from the “inside 
path” to the “outside path”, or if you are in 
position to exit now. Start to signal at the 
exit BEFORE the one you want to take. Do 
not change lanes or take an exit before you 
check for vehicles that may be continuing 
through the roundabout in the lane next to 
you or behind you. Expect vehicles to be in 

the “blind spots” you cannot see in your mir-
rors. (For more about blind spots see, Large 
Vehicles, Chapter 11.)

 

DROWSY AND FATIGUED DRIVING
 

 Driving and sleep do not mix. When you are 
behind the wheel of a car or truck, fatigue is 
dangerous. If you are tired when driving you are 
slower to react, and not as aware as you should 
be and your judgment will be impaired. As with 
drugs and alcohol, drowsiness can contribute to a 
traffic crash.
 

Symptoms of Fatigue
 

Researchers have found the following symptoms 
to be associated with drowsy driving:
 

  •  Your eyes close or go out of focus by them-
selves. 

  • You find it difficult to keep your head up.
 

  • You continue to yawn.
 

  •  Your thoughts wander and are  
disconnected.

 

  •  You do not remember driving the last  
few miles.

 

  •  You drift between lanes, tailgate or miss  
traffic signs.

 

  • You must jerk the car back into the lane.
 

  •  You have drifted off the road and hit the  
rumble strips, which produce a loud noise 
and vibrations.

 

Who is Most at Risk? All Drivers who are:
 

  • Deprived of sleep or fatigued. 
 

  • Driving long distances without rest breaks.
 

  •  Driving through the night or at times when 
you are normally asleep.

 

  •  Taking medication that increases sleepiness 
or drinking alcohol.

 

  • Driving alone. 
 

  • Driving on long, rural, or boring roads.
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   •  Frequent travelers, e.g., business travelers 
and long-distance commuters.

 

  •  Young People – Drowsy driving crashes are 
most common for young people, who tend 
to stay up late, sleep too little and drive 
at night.

 

  •  Shift Workers – Drivers who have non-tradi-
tional work schedules have a greater risk of 
being involved in a fatigue-related  
traffic crash.

 

  •  People With Undiagnosed Sleep Disorders – 
The presence of a sleep disorder increases 
the risk of crashes. If you find you are regu-
larly tired in the daytime or experience any 
of these symptoms on a regular basis, you 
may have a sleep disorder and should seek 
medical help.

 

Effective Countermeasures
 

Prevention – Before you embark on a trip, you 
should:
 

  • Get enough sleep. 
  
  • Plan to drive long trips with a companion.
 

  •  Schedule regular stops for every 100 miles  
or two hours.

 

  •  Avoid alcohol and medications (over-the-
counter and prescribed) that may impair 
performance. Check with your doctor or  
pharmacist about any medication you are  
taking. Alcohol interacts with fatigue,  
increasing its effects.

 

  •  You are not at your best if you are ill or very 
tired. Do not drive for at least 15 minutes 
after waking from sleep.

 
Actions for the Drowsy Driver
 

If you suspect that you are drowsy when driving, 
you must:
  •  Recognize that you are close to sleep and 

cannot calculate when sleep may occur.
 
  •  Not depend on the radio, open window or 

other “tricks” to keep you awake.
 

  •  Find a safe place to stop for a break in 
response to symptoms of fatigue.

 

  •  Pull off into a safe area away from traffic and 
take a brief nap (15 to 45 minutes).

 

  •  Drink coffee or another source of caffeine to 
promote short-term alertness if needed. (It 
takes about 30 minutes for caffeine to enter 
the bloodstream.)

 

NOTE: See Chapter 9 for more information about 
the dangers of driving under the influence of 
alcohol and other drugs.
 

USING A CELLULAR OR MOBILE  
TELEPHONE
 

 A driver can become distracted from safe 
driving by use of a mobile telephone (like a 
cellular telephone). In New York State, it is a traffic 
infraction to speak into or listen to a hand-held 
mobile telephone while driving. For a first offense, 
you could be required to pay a fine up to $200 
and receive five license points. The phone may 
be hand-held to activate, begin, or end a call. 
Exemptions are provided for calls for emergency 
situations, for police and other law enforcement 
officers and for fire department personnel and op-
erators of authorized emergency vehicles in the 
performance of official duties. In New York State, 
a hands-free mobile telephone allows the user to 
communicate without the use of either hand. A 
driver can use a hands-free telephone at any time.
 

Penalties for texting, electronic device use
 

 In New York State, it is illegal to use portable 
electronic devices, such as cell phones and 
smart phones, to send or receive text messages 
or e-mails while driving. The penalty for a first 
offense is a fine of up to $200. A second offense 
(both committed within 18 months) is a fine up to 
$250. A third or subsequent offense (all commit-
ted within 18 months) is a fine up to $450. Also, 
drivers with probationary and junior licenses who 
use a hand-held phone or text while driving will 
receive a 120-day suspension for a first conviction 
and a revocation of at least one year for subse-
quent convictions within six months of the time a 
license is restored after suspension.
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VEHICLE CONDITION
 

No person shall operate or park a vehicle on pub-
lic highways unless it has been inspected at least 
once a year, but that does not mean it is the only 
time you should have safety equipment checked. 
Follow your owner’s manual for routine mainte-
nance. Have problems corrected by a qualified 
mechanic as soon as possible. Do not wait until 
mechanical problems cause breakdowns  
or crashes. 
 

 Pay special attention to the maintenance and 
repair of the brakes, steering mechanism, lights, 
tires and horn. Depend on your owner manual 
and an experienced mechanic as keys to a safe 
vehicle. It is the operator’s responsibility to ensure 
that the vehicle being driven is safe. 
 

Here are some common problems, and some 
equipment checks you can do:
 

BRAKES - Brakes that pull to one side may be wet 
or may need to be adjusted or repaired. If wet, 
you can dry them riding the pedal lightly. If this 
does not help, have your brakes checked by a 
mechanic. If you notice any change in the brake 
performance, have them checked immediately.
 

STEERING - There should not be much free 
movement in the steering wheel. If your vehicle 
has power steering, check the fluid level periodi-
cally. A noise like a whine when you make a sharp 
turn can indicate a problem.
 

LIGHTS - Keep your lights clean and free of dirt, 
snow and ice. Broken lenses can cause danger-
ous glare for other drivers, so replace them as 
soon as you can. Make sure headlights are adjust-
ed correctly to give you the best view of the road.
 

TIRES - The law requires that your tires have 
at least 2⁄32nds of an inch (.16 cm) of tread. Most 
tires for passenger cars and light trucks have 
indicators called “wear bars” that show across the 
tire grooves when the minimum tread depth is 
reached. You can check your tread depth with a 
penny. Hold a penny with Abraham Lincoln’s body 
between your thumb and forefinger. Place Lin-
coln’s head first into the deepest looking groove. 
Can you see all of his head? If yes, your tires are 
too worn – don’t drive on them, and make sure 
to get them replaced. It is also illegal to drive with 

tires that have cuts down to the cords, bumps or 
bulges. Refer to your owner manual or a tire store 
about correct tire pressure, and check it often 
with a reliable gauge.
 

GLASS - Keep your windows clean and clear.  
Replace worn wiper blades. Keep your defroster 
and rear window defogger in good condition and 
make sure there is enough windshield fluid in  
the reservoir.
 

HORN - Your horn is important safety equipment 
that could become your only means of warning 
other drivers or pedestrians of possible problems. 
If the horn does not work, get it repaired as soon 
as possible. It should be used properly, not to 
express anger at other drivers or pedestrians.
 

QUESTIONS
 
Before you move on to Chapter 9, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
  •  Should you always look straight ahead when 

you drive?
 
  •  If there is no posted speed limit, what is the 

fastest you can legally drive in New York 
City?

 
  •  Is it always safe to drive at the assigned 

speed limit?
 
  •  What is the purpose of minimum speed 

limits?
 
  •  Who must wear seat belts? Who should  

wear them?
 
  • How can you prevent fatigue on a long trip?
 
  •  What is road rage? How can you prevent 

becoming involved in road rage?
 
  •  How should you drive safely through a  

work zone? A roundabout?
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 You have probably heard the facts before - 
driving while impaired or intoxicated is a serious 
traffic safety problem in the United States. In New 
York State, more than 40 percent of all motor 
vehicle fatalities involve impaired driving. But the 
facts and statistics do not tell the whole story. 
Behind the numbers are thousands of lives cut 
short, permanent or disabling injuries, and families 
devastated because someone drove while under 
the influence of alcohol or other drugs.
 
 When you drink alcohol or take other drugs, 
safe driving is not possible.  Not every impaired or 
intoxicated driver causes a traffic crash, but each 
one is dangerous, putting their lives and those 
they share the road with at risk.
 
 Young people, who have less experience 
with alcohol or drugs and less experience with 
driving, are at high risk. Drivers under age 21 are 
approximately 4 percent of the driving population, 
but 7 percent of the impaired drivers involved in 
fatal crashes. This is one reason the driver license 
revocation penalties are more severe for young 
drivers who drive under the influence of alcohol 
or other drugs.
 
 Because driving “under the influence” is so 
dangerous, the penalties for alcohol or drug-
related violations are tough and enforcement 
is important. The chance of apprehension and 
conviction are high and New York State law strictly 
limits your ability to plea bargain when charged 
with an offense related to alcohol or drugs.
.
 

WHAT ALCOHOL DOES
 

 Alcohol delays your reaction time, reduces your 
ability to see clearly, changes your judgment of 
speed and distances, often makes you less inhib-
ited and makes you more prone to take chances. 
The important skills you need to drive safely are 
made weaker. 
 

 Because your vision is normally restricted at 
night, it is especially dangerous to drink and drive 
after dark. Alcohol also reduces your ability to re-
cover from the glare of headlights. When another 

vehicle moves toward you, you can be blinded by 
its headlights for a long period of time.
 You do not have to look or feel intoxicated 
for these things to occur. The effects of alcohol 
consumption can begin long before you become 
intoxicated or even legally impaired and begin 
with the first drink.
 
 As alcohol physically limits your ability to drive, 
it also makes you less aware of what is happening 
to your safe driving abilities. It becomes difficult 
for you to judge your condition. You can gain 
confidence about driving, when you should not be 
driving at all.
 
During each mile you drive, you make hundreds 
of decisions. Your decisions turn into actions that 
keep your vehicle controlled and ensure you 
avoid crashes. Alcohol makes it difficult to make 
correct decisions and to take the safest actions.
 
For example: You have just stopped at a STOP 
sign. You see another vehicle approaching the 
intersection. You must quickly make a decision 
whether it is safe to go through the intersection. 
Under the influence of alcohol, you are more like-
ly to make a wrong decision and “take a chance.” 
Your slower reaction time, and the bad decision, 
could cause a crash.
 

OTHER DRUGS
 
 Drugs, which include many prescription and 
over-the-counter medications, as well as illegal 
substances, can affect your ability to drive. They 
can have effects similar to alcohol or even worse. 
If you take medication, even a remedy for colds or 
allergies that is not prescribed, check the label for 
warnings about its effects. If you are unsure, ask 
your doctor or pharmacist about driving while on 
the medication.
 
 Never drink alcohol while you are taking other 
drugs. It could be dangerous, often enhancing 
the effects of the alcohol and the other drug. 
For example, taking one drink while you are also 
using a cold remedy could affect you as much as 
several drinks.
 
 

CHAPTER 9 / ALCOHOL & OTHER DRUGS
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 It can be a criminal offense to drive while 
impaired by the effect of drugs, alcohol or the 
combination of alcohol and drugs, including mari-
juana/cannabis, and illegal drugs such as,  
cocaine, LSD, heroin, opium and by some  
prescription drugs. Drugs can detrimentally affect 
your reflexes, judgment, vision and alertness and 
they may have other dangerous effects as well.
 
 A combination of alcohol and other drugs 
severely reduces your ability to drive and can 
cause serious health problems, which can  
include death.
 
 A combination of alcohol and other drugs se-
verely reduces your ability to drive and can cause 
serious health problems, which can include death.
 

ALCOHOL, OTHER DRUGS AND THE LAW
 
 In New York State, you can be arrested for 
any of these offenses: aggravated driving while 
intoxicated (Agg-DWI), driving while intoxicated 
(DWI), driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 
percent or more (.08 BAC), driving while ability im-
paired by a drug (DWAI-drug), driving while ability 
impaired by alcohol (DWAI), or driving under the 
combined influence of alcohol and drugs.
 
 Blood alcohol content (BAC) is the percentage 
of alcohol in your blood and is normally deter-
mined by a chemical test of breath, blood, urine 
or saliva. A BAC of more than .05 percent is legal 

evidence that you are impaired, a BAC of .08 
percent or higher is evidence of intoxication, and 
a BAC of .18 percent or more is evidence of aggra-
vated driving while intoxicated.
 
 Many people think chemical test evidence is  
required to prove you were intoxicated or im-
paired. However, the testimony of a police officer 
about the way you drive, However, the testimony 
of a police officer about the way you drive, and 
your appearance and behavior while interacting 
with and, behavior while interacting with the offi-
cer can provide enough evidence to convict you, 
even without a chemical test.
 
 If you are found guilty of any alcohol or drug-re-
lated violation, the court must revoke or suspend 
your driver license when you are sentenced. Even 
if the court allows you to continue driving for 20 
days, your driver license will be taken immediately.
 
 The BAC standards and penalties for commer-
cial drivers are even tougher than those indicated 
in this chapter. For complete information, see Sec-
tion 1 of the Commercial Driver’s Manual (CDL-10).

YOUR BAC
 
Your (BAC) depends on:
 
  • How much alcohol you drink.
 
  • How much time passes between drinks.

.02 BAC =

OR OR OR

5 oz. glass of wine 
12% alcohol

1 1⁄2 oz. liquor
80 proof 

12 oz. (360 ml)
can of beer
5% alcohol

12 oz. wine cooler
5% alcohol



Driver’s Manual  |  55

  • Your weight.
 
 Your BAC does not depend on the type of bev-
erage you drink, how fit you are, or how you can 
“hold your liquor.”
 
 Different types of drinks do not affect you differ-
ently. It is the amount of alcohol you consume, not 
whether it is in beer, wine or liquor that raises your 
BAC and reduces your driving ability. These drinks 
contain about the same amount of alcohol – 1-1⁄2 
ounces of liquor, 5 ounces of wine, 12 ounces of 
beer, and 12 ounces of wine cooler. None is “safer 
to drink” than the others.
 
 For a 150-pound male, each one of these drinks 
contains enough alcohol to increase his BAC by 
about .02 percent. On average, it takes the body 
approximately one hour to remove that much 
alcohol. Studies indicate that a woman will take 
longer to process and remove alcohol from the 
blood. This can cause a higher BAC over a longer 
period of time.
 
 Compared to the 150-pound male described 
above, your body weight can make some differ-
ence in the BAC and the effects of alcohol. No 
one has immunity to the effects of alcohol. It is a 
simple fact: the more you drink in a given period 
of time, the higher your BAC will be and the less 
safely you will drive.
 
 It takes only a few drinks to increase your BAC 
to levels at which it is illegal to drive. And remem-
ber, the effects of alcohol on your ability to drive 
begin at even lower BAC levels after just  
one drink.
 
 Eating before or while you drink helps slow the 
absorption of alcohol somewhat, but it cannot 
prevent intoxication or impairment if you have too 
much to drink.
 
 The only method to effectively reduce your 
BAC is not to drink over a period of time. Coffee, 
exercise and cold showers cannot reduce your 
BAC and the effects of alcohol. They can help you 
remain awake, but it cannot change your BAC or 
make you sober.
 

CHEMICAL TESTS
 
 Chemical tests use blood, breath, urine or saliva 
to measure the BAC of a person. If you are ar-
rested for an alcohol or drug related violation, the 
police officer will likely request that you submit to 
a chemical test (breath test analyzer). Under New 
York’s “Implied Consent” law, when you drive a 
car in this state you are considered to have given 
your consent to take this type of test.
 
 Chemical test refusal is a separate issue 
from whether you were guilty of an alcohol or 
drug-related violation. If you refuse to take the 
test after being arrested, your driver license will 
be suspended when you are arraigned in court 
on the alcohol or other drug-related charge. In 
addition, the fact that you refused a chemical test 
can be brought up in court when you are tried 
on the alcohol or drug-related charge. If a DMV 
hearing later confirms you refused the test, your 
driver license will be revoked even if you are 
found not guilty of the alcohol or other drug-relat-
ed violation. For information about driver license 
revocations and civil penalties for chemical test 
refusals, see Chapter 2.
 

THE CONSEQUENCES
 
 The table “Penalties for Alcohol/Drug Related 
Violations” describes fines, surcharges, license 
penalties and possible imprisonment if you are 
convicted of an alcohol or drug-related violation. 
Impaired or intoxicated driving can also have 
other serious results.
 
Repeat Offenders
 
 Drivers with repeat dangerous driving convic-
tions in New York State face one of the toughest 
licensing policies in the nation. These regulations 
call for:
 
  •  Lifetime Record Review by DMV: DMV will 

review the lifetime record of all drivers who 
apply to have a license reinstated after  
a revocation.

 
  •  Permanent License Denial for Persistently 

Drunk & Dangerous Drivers: After con-
ducting a lifetime record review, DMV will 
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deny any application for reinstatement of a 
license after revocation if the applicant has:

 
  •  Five or more alcohol or drug related driving 

convictions in his or her lifetime, or
 
  •  Three or four alcohol or drug related driving 

convictions in the 25 year look back period 
plus at least one other serious driving 
offense during that period. A serious driving 
offense includes: a fatal crash, a driving-re-
lated penal law conviction, an accumulation 
of 20 or more points assessed for driving 
violations within the 25 year look back peri-
od or having two or more driving convictions 
during the 25 year look back period each 
worth five points or more.

 
  •  Delayed Re-Licensing, Driving Restric-

tions, & Interlocks for Other Drivers with 
Repeated Alcohol- or Drug-Related Driv-
ing Convictions: For those drivers seeking 
reinstatement of a license after revocation 
who have three or four alcohol- or drug-re-
lated driving convictions but no serious driv-
ing offense in the 25 year look back period, 
DMV will:

 
  •  Deny their applications for five years beyond 

their statutory revocation period if the appli-
cant’s license was revoked for an alcohol- or 
drug-related offense; or two additional years 
if the applicant’s license was revoked for  
a reason other than an alcohol or drug  
related offense;

 
  •  Restore the applicant’s license after that 

additional period as a “restricted” license 
limiting the applicant’s driving to, for exam-
ple, travel to and from work or medical  
visits; and

 
  •  Require an interlock device on the vehicle 

driven by the applicant for five years from 
the date of issuance of the licensing docu-
ment. The interlock requirement applies to 
those motorists who were approved after 
the five-year waiting period.

 
  •  End the Reduction of Mandatory Suspen-

sion or Revocation Periods: Previously, 
drunk drivers whose licenses have been 

revoked or suspended  twice within a 
25-year period could get their full driving 
privileges back in as little as seven weeks by 
completing DMV’s Impaired Driver Program. 
DMV’s new regulations will ensure that 
those drivers cannot obtain their driving 
privileges until their full term of suspension 
or revocation has ended.

 
Zero Tolerance for Drivers Under Age 21
 
 The legal purchase and possession age for 
beverages containing alcohol in New York State 
is 21. Under the state’s “zero tolerance” law, it 
is a violation for a person under 21 to drive with 
any BAC that can be measured (.02 to .07). After 
a finding of violation is determined at a DMV 
hearing, the driver license will be suspended for 
six months. The driver then must pay a $100 sus-
pension termination fee and a $125 civil penalty 
to be re-licensed. For a second Zero Tolerance 
violation, the driver license will be revoked for 
at least one year or until the driver reaches 21, 
whichever is longer.
 
Illegal Purchase of Beverages  
Containing Alcohol
 
 When you use a driver license or Non-Driver ID 
card as proof of age to illegally purchase bever-
ages that contain alcohol, state law requires the 
suspension of your driver license or privilege to 
apply for a license.
 
Open Container Law
 
 It is a traffic infraction for a driver or passenger 
in a motor vehicle on a public highway, street or 
road to drink a beverage containing alcohol or to 
possess an open container containing an alco-
holic beverage. It is also a traffic infraction for a 
driver or passenger in a motor vehicle on a public 
highway, street or road to consume marijuana/
cannabis. The penalty for a first conviction is a 
fine up to $150, a mandatory surcharge, a crime 
victim assistance fee, and possible imprisonment 
of 15 days. Additional offenses within 18 months 
bring higher penalties. The law exempts passen-
gers in vehicles like stretch limousines and other 
vehicles that display a commerce certificate or 
permit issued by the U.S. Department of Transpor-
tation or the NYS Department of Transportation.
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NOTE: Higher fines, longer jail sentences, and increased license penalties (including lifetime revocation) may result from a third or subsequent 
conviction within 10 years. • *Conviction fine only, does not include mandatory surcharge or crime victims’ assistance fee.
 
** The Department of Motor Vehicle determines when your license can be returned. Its return or reinstatement, based on state law or regulation,  

is not automatic. You must reapply for your license and may have to pass a test.

NOTE: License actions for those under age 21 are different.

PENALTIES FOR ALCOHOL/DRUG RELATED VIOLATIONS

AGGRAVATED DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED 
AGG-DWI (0.18 and higher Blood Alcohol Content [BAC])

 CONVICTION FINE ONLY* JAIL SENTENCE REQUIRED
      LICENSE ACTION**

 1st Offense Minimum $1000 Up to 1 year Minimum 1-Year
 (Misdemeanor) Maximum $2500  Revocation

 2nd Offense Minimum $1000 Up to 4 years Minimum 18-Month
 (Class E Felony) Maximum $5000  Revocation
 Within 10 Years

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED OR 
DRIVING WHILE ABILITY IMPAIRED BY A DRUG 

DWI (0.08 and higher Blood Alcohol Content [BAC]) or DWAI-Drug

 CONVICTION FINE ONLY* JAIL SENTENCE REQUIRED
     LICENSE ACTION**

 1st Offense Minimum $500 Up to 1 year Minimum 6-Month
 (Misdemeanor) Maximum $1000  Revocation DWI;  
     Minimum 6-Month 
     Suspension (DWAI-D)

 2nd Offense Minimum $1000 Up to 4 years (DWI & DWAI-D): Minimum 1-Year
 (Class E Felony) Maximum $5000 minimum 5 days jail or 30 Revocation
 Within 10 Years   days of community service 
    (for DWI within prior 5 years)

DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED BY COMBINED ALCOHOL & DRUGS
DWAI-Combination

 CONVICTION FINE ONLY* JAIL SENTENCE REQUIRED
     LICENSE ACTION**

 1st Offense Minimum $500 Up to 1 year Minimum 6-Month
 (Misdemeanor) Maximum $1000  Revocation

 2nd Offense Minimum $1000   Up to 4 years Minimum 1-Year
 (Class E Felony) Maximum $5000  Revocation
 Within 10 Years

DRIVING WHILE ABILITY IMPAIRED 
DWAI (more than 0.05 up to 0.07 Blood Alcohol Content [BAC])

 CONVICTION FINE ONLY* JAIL SENTENCE REQUIRED
     LICENSE ACTION**

 2nd Offense Minimum $500 Up to 30 Days Minimum 6-Month
 (Traffic Infraction) Maximum $750  Revocation
 Within 5 Years

 1st Offense Minimum $300  Up to 15 Days 90 Day Suspension
 (Traffic Infraction) Maximum $500  

 3rd Offense Minimum $750 Up to 180 Days Minimum 6-Month
 (Misdemeanor) Maximum $1500  Revocation
 Within 10 Years
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The Ignition Interlock Program and Leandra’s 
Law
 

 Courts must order all persons convicted of 
driving while intoxicated or aggravated driving 
while intoxicated, or of a penal law offense for 
which an alcohol related violation of any provision 
of section 1192 of the Vehicle & Traffic Law is 
an essential element to install and maintain an 
ignition interlock on any vehicle owned or oper-
ated by such driver for at least 12 months. (This 
device, purchased and installed at the expense 
of the motorist, is connected to a motor vehicle 
ignition system and measures the alcohol content 
of the breath of the driver.  The vehicle cannot 
be started until the driver provides an acceptable 
sample breath.) The 12-month requirement may 
be waived by the court if the defendant demon-
strates that the interlock device was installed for 
at least six months, unless the court orders the 
interlock device to be installed for a longer period 
of time. The judge also must order an alcohol 
assessment for a repeat offender. If the assess-
ment indicates alcohol treatment is necessary, the 
judge may be required to order the completion of 
treatment as a condition of probation.
 
 Drivers who commit these alcohol-related 
offenses with a child under 16 years old in the 
vehicle may be charged with a class E felony, 
punishable by up to four years in prison.  
(This is known as Leandra’s Law.)
 
 The law also makes it a felony to drive drunk 
with a conditional license, which is a license that 
may be issued by the DMV when someone is 
convicted of an alcohol-related offense. Such a 
license may be used only for driving to and from 
essential destinations such as school, work and 
medical appointments.  The conditional driver 
license will be revoked if the motorist does not 
comply with the court terms or for a conviction for 
any traffic offense except parking, stopping  
or standing.
 

A FEW IMPORTANT REMINDERS
 

  •   If you kill or cause an injury to another 
person because of an alcohol or other 
drug-related violation, you can be convicted 
of criminally negligent homicide, aggravated 
vehicular homicide, vehicular manslaughter 

or vehicular assault. These carry a fine of 
thousands of dollars and can carry a maxi-
mum jail term of 25 years. 

  •  If you drive while your license is suspended 
or revoked, you face a mandatory fine of 
$200 to $1000 and a mandatory jail term or 
probation. If impaired or intoxicated when 
you are arrested, the maximum mandatory 
fine is $5,000 and the vehicle can  
be seized.

  •  Liability insurance may not cover the cost of 
injuries and damage from a traffic crash. You 
could be sued for thousands of dollars and 
you would find it difficult and expensive to 
buy liability insurance for several years.

 

  •  Besides fines and surcharges, you could 
also face costly legal fees.

 

  •  You could have a criminal record, which 
makes it harder to get a job or move forward 
in your job.

 

HOW TO AVOID TROUBLE
 

 You are not likely to worry about the results of 
your actions while you are impaired or intoxicat-
ed. The time to consider them, and how to 
 prevent them, is before you become impaired  
or intoxicated.
 

  •  If you go to events with the same group of 
friends, rotate drivers. Each friend takes a 
turn being the “designated driver” who does 
not drink any alcohol.

 

  •  Arrange to remain overnight or ride home 
with a friend who does not drink.

 

  •  Before you drink, give your car keys to a 
friend who does not drink and who will not 
let you drive after you drink.

 

  •  Call a cab, or contact a Ride Share operator 
or use public transportation.

 

  •  Drink slowly. Alternate between drinks with 
alcohol and drinks without any alcohol.

 

  •  Do not consume (e.g. smoke, vape, eat, etc.) 
marijuana/cannabis-based products 
 before driving.
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  •  Do not make alcohol the focus of your event
 
  •  If you have had too much alcohol, stop 

drinking several hours before you intend  
to leave so your body can begin to lower 
your BAC

 
QUESTIONS
 
Before you move on to Chapter 10, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
  •  How does impaired driving rank as a high-

way safety problem?
 
  •  What are the effects of alcohol on the skills 

you need to drive?
 
  •  Which of these drugs could affect your  

ability to drive: marijuana, a cold remedy,  
a tranquilizer?

 
  •  If you take a non-prescription drug, what 

must you do before you drive?
 
  •  What is a likely effect when you take another 

drug while you drink beverages  
containing alcohol?

 
  •  On what three conditions does your blood 

alcohol content (BAC) depend? 

  •  Which of these contains more alcohol than 
the other three: 1-1⁄2 ounces (30 ml) of liquor, 
five ounces (120 ml) wine, 12 ounces (360 ml) 
of beer, 12 ounces (360 ml) of wine cooler? 

  •  On average, how long does it take your 
body to remove the alcohol contained in 12 
ounces of beer?

 
  •  What is the only effective method to reduce 

your BAC?
 
  •  What happens to your driver license if you 

refuse a chemical test?
 
  •  Other than fines, action against your driver 

license and a possible jail term, what are 
some of the results when you drive under 
the influence of alcohol or other drugs?

 Even under the best conditions, driving requires 
your full attention and your best judgment. When 
special conditions or hazards occur, attention and 
judgment become even more important. To be a 
good and safe driver, you must learn how to drive 
on expressways, at night, in bad weather and 
when an emergency occurs.
 

RAILROAD CROSSINGS
 
GRADE CROSSINGS
 
 A grade crossing is the point at which train 
tracks intersect with a roadway and is considered 
an intersection. As you approach a crossing,  
always expect a train. Trains can run on any track, 
at any time, from either direction. Never race a 
train to a crossing, never drive around lowered 
gates, and do not stop on tracks. (You will learn 
later in the section what to do if your vehicle stalls 
or gets stuck on a track.) When crossing tracks, 
always stay in your lane and in the same gear.
 
 Some grade crossings have flashing red lights 
or lowering gates when a train approaches 
(“active” grade crossings). When approaching 
marked, or active, grade crossings, do not pro-
ceed until the gates are completely raised and 
the lights are off. It is illegal and dangerous to go 
around lowered gates or to cross while the lights 
are still flashing.
 
 Some grade crossings do not have gates or 
flashing lights. When approaching unmarked, 
or passive, grade crossings, slow down and be 
prepared to stop. Before you cross, be sure that a 
train is not coming. If you see a train coming, wait 
until it passes, and then cross the tracks when it is 
safe to do so. If there are multiple tracks, wait until 
you can clearly see down all sets of tracks in  
both directions for another approaching train 
before crossing.
 
 Remember that the train you see is closer and 
faster-moving than you think, and be aware that 
trains cannot stop quickly.
 

CHAPTER 10 /SPECIAL DRIVING CONDITIONS
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Railroad Crossing Warning Sign
 
COLOR: Yellow with black letters 
“RR” and “X” symbol.
 
MEANING: There is a railroad 
crossing ahead. Use caution, 
and be prepared to stop. If you 
are following a bus or truck  
approaching a railroad crossing, be careful.  
Most buses and some trucks must stop at  
railroad crossings.   
 
(See “Railroad Crossing Signals”.)
 
Railroad Crossing Signals
 
 Flashing red 
lights, lowered 
crossing gates 
and/or a bell at a 
railroad crossing 
indicate that you 
must stop, at least 
15 feet (5 m) from 
the tracks. Do 
not go across the 
tracks until the 
lights and bell have stopped and the crossing 
gates are completely up. Do not drive around or 
under a gate that is moving up or down. 
 
 Yield when you see a 
crossbuck sign, which is a sign 
shaped like an “X” with “RAIL-
ROAD CROSSING” printed on it 
(like the sign above but without 
flashing lights). If there are 
multiple train tracks, the sign 
will show the number of tracks.
 
 Look and listen for trains 
before crossing any railroad 
tracks. If an approaching train 
is near enough or going fast 
enough to be a danger, you  
cannot go across the tracks, 
even if they have no signals or 
the signals are not working.
 

 Do not under any circumstances, attempt to 
cross any railroad tracks unless you are certain 
your entire vehicle will clear all of the tracks at 
the crossing. You cannot go across any railroad 
tracks unless there is room for your vehicle on the 
other side. If other traffic prevents you from going 
fully across, wait and go across only when there  
is room.
 
 School buses with or without passengers, other 
buses with passengers on board and vehicles 
with explosives or flammable cargo must stop at 
all railroad crossings. Remember those rules if 
you are following one of these vehicles.  
 
Pavement Markings
 
 Sometimes, grade crossings do 
not have flashing red light signals 
or gates. Pavement markings 
will often show you that a grade 
crossing is ahead. Stay behind 
the stop line while waiting for a 
train to pass.   
 
Stalling on Railroad Tracks
 
What should you do if you 
stall on the tracks, for any 
reason?
 
  1.  GET OUT! (That 

includes EVERYONE 
in the car, children, babies, an elderly  
passenger, etc.)

 
  2.  Get away from the tracks, even if you do 

not see a train.
 
  3.  Locate the Emergency Notification System 

sign and call the number provided, telling 
them about the stalled vehicle.  

 
 Run toward the general direction the train is 
coming from. If a train is approaching, run toward 
the train but away from the tracks at a 45-degree 
angle. If you run “down the track,” in the same 
direction as the train, you can be hit with debris 
when the train hits your vehicle.
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EXPRESSWAY DRIVING
 

 “Expressway” means any divided highway 
where traffic moves in one direction on two 
or more lanes. You normally enter or exit the 
expressway on ramps (controlled-access). The 
speed limit is normally 55 mph (88 km/h), but can 
be posted at 65 mph (100 km/h) in some rural 
areas. Examples of expressways are the New 
York State Thruway, major interstate routes and 
parkways.  
 

 Before you travel on an expressway, identify 
your entrance and exit points on a road map. 
Know where to get on and off the expressway 
and be prepared to get into the correct lanes for 
your entrance and exit. If you enter an express-
way going a different direction than you intended, 
or at the wrong exit, stay on the expressway 
until the next exit. After you exit the expressway, 
you can figure out where you need to go and 
(if necessary) get back on the expressway. IT IS 
DANGEROUS to back up on an entrance or exit 
ramp, or to try to cross a median.
 

 Unless there is a STOP or YIELD sign or traffic 
light on the entrance ramp, use the ramp to accel-
erate to expressway speed and blend with traffic. 
Signal, then look over your shoulder for traffic 
already on the expressway. If necessary, slow 
down to safely merge into traffic.
 

 If the entrance lane is too short to allow accel-
eration to expressway speed, the safest method 
to enter is to stop and wait for a large space in 
traffic. Then enter the expressway and accelerate 
quickly. To avoid conflicts with other entrance 
lane traffic, stop when necessary and merge into 
expressway traffic as soon as possible.
 

 As you drive on the expressway, make sure 
to signal all lane changes and check over your 
shoulder to make sure you will not cut off any 
vehicles behind you. Make sure your directional 
signal goes off after you change lanes.
 

 Remain alert for traffic that enters ahead. If 
possible, move from the right lane when you 
approach the entrances to allow more room for 
traffic entering the expressway from the ramp. 
 

 To prevent a last-minute lane change, check the 
destination and exit signs and get into the correct 
lane for your exit ahead of time. Make sure to 
signal your exit at least 100 feet (30 m) before 
you reach the exit ramp. When you are on the 
exit ramp, decrease your speed. There is often a 
lower speed limit for the ramp.
 

 After you leave an expressway, look for speed 
limit signs and check your speedometer to be 
sure you are within the posted limit. You are not 
likely to be on a 55 mph (88 km/h) road.
 
 Expressway driving normally combines higher 
speeds with heavy traffic. The higher speed and 
amount of traffic require you to think faster and  
handle your vehicle in a more efficient manner 
than in most other conditions. On long trips, plan 
frequent rest stops. On a bright day, sunglasses 
can reduce glare and eye fatigue. 
 
 

NIGHT DRIVING
 

 About 90% of your decisions are based on what 
you see. At night, you must use extra caution to 
make up for reduced visibility. You should also 
know that the ability to see well at night decreas-
es with age.
 

 Night driving is more dangerous because the 
distance you can see ahead or to the side is 
reduced. You should drive slower than you would 
in daylight, especially in areas that are not known 
or on narrow roads with many curves. Your head-
lights cover about 350 feet ahead. It is important 
that you drive at a speed that allows you to stop 
safely within that distance. This is called “driving 
within the range” of your headlights.
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 The law requires you to use your headlights 
from one-half hour after the sun sets to one-half 
hour before the sun rises, when visibility is less 
than 1,000 feet (300 m) and when you use your 
windshield wipers to clear rain, snow or sleet. 
Turn your headlights on at dawn, dusk and in 
fog. Even when headlights do not help you see 
in low-light periods, they make it easier for other 
drivers and pedestrians to see your vehicle. Do 
not use parking lights or daytime running lights as 
a replacement. Headlights do a better job. If an 
oncoming driver flashes headlights at you during 
a period of low visibility, it means your vehicle 
was difficult to see and you should turn on your 
headlights.
 
 Be considerate when you use your high beams. 
Your headlights must be on low beam when you 
are within 500 feet (150 m) of an oncoming vehicle 
or within 200 feet (60 m) of a vehicle ahead of 
you, even if the vehicle ahead is in a different lane. 
You should also dim your lights for pedestrians 
who approach you. Any fog or driving lights your 
vehicle has must be arranged, adjusted or operat-
ed to avoid dangerous glare to other drivers.
 
 If an approaching driver does not dim the 
headlights, flash your headlights to high beam for 
a second, then return to low beam. To help avoid 
the glare of approaching high beams, move your 
eyes to the right. Use the road edge as a guide 
until the approaching vehicle passes by.
 
 To reduce glare from the lights of following 
vehicles, switch your inside rear view mirror to the 
“night” position.
 
 Light from inside your vehicle or from street 
lights makes it harder for you to see the road 
ahead. Keep the interior roof light off and dim the 
dashboard lights. Adjust your visors to reduce 
glare from lights from above.
 
 A dirty windshield increases glare from ap-
proaching headlights. Make sure your lights and 
windshield glass are clean for night driving. 
 

DRIVING IN RAIN, FOG OR SNOW
 
 A bit of rain, snow or ice makes roads slip-
pery. Wet leaves can be slippery and hazardous. 

Reduced speed and increased following distance 
improve your safety under these conditions (see 
Chapter 8). Take additional care on curves, turns 
and expressway ramps. 
 
 In heavy rain, your tires can begin to ride on  
the water that is on top of the road pavement. 
This is called “hydroplaning” and can cause 
complete loss of traction and control of steering. 
Hydroplaning normally occurs at higher speeds, 
but it also can occur if your tires are tread worn or 
not inflated properly. When there is heavy rain, it 
always makes sense to drive more slowly. If your 
vehicle begins to lose traction, decrease your 
speed even more. Good tires with deep tread 
help to prevent hydroplaning.
 
 Rain, fog or snow make it harder to see through 
your windshield, and difficult for other drivers to 
see you. New York State law requires you to turn 
on your headlights when the weather conditions 
require the use of windshield wipers to clear rain, 
snow, sleet or fog. “Daytime running lights” do not 
qualify as headlights.
 
 Headlights on high beams reflect rain, fog and 
snow as it falls. This makes it even harder for you 
to see. For better visibility during these weather 
conditions, keep your headlights on low beam. 
Reduce your speed. Signal your turns further 
ahead of time to give other drivers and roadway 
users more warning. Brake early when you 
decrease speed behind another vehicle or come 
to an intersection stop.
 
 Some vehicles have front fog lights or front 
and back fog lights, for use when heavy fog or 
similar hazardous weather conditions restrict 
visibility. In New York State, all fog lights must be 
correctly installed and of a type approved by the 
Commissioner of DMV.  Front fog lights can be 
amber or white in color. Back fog lights must be 
red and can be larger than the normal back lights 
- they will give advance warning of the presence 
of your vehicle to the drivers behind you. When 
visibility improves, you can switch off your fog 
lights to reduce the glare that can bother  
other drivers.
 

HOW TO DRIVE IN WINTER
 

 Winter is the most difficult season in which to 
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there are fewer hours of daylight.
 
 Before winter weather arrives, make sure your 
vehicle is in good condition. Make sure your 
vehicle has good snow tires. Put them on the 
vehicle before the first storm. Never combine 
radial and non-radial tires on the same vehicle. 
Tires with metal studs can be used in New York 
State only from October 16 through April 30.
 
 During ice or snow storms, do not drive unless 
you must. If you must drive, first clear the ice 
and snow from your vehicle. This includes the 
headlights and back lights, the windshield wipers, 
the hood and roof of your vehicle, and all of 
the windows. Make sure the windshield washer 
reservoir is filled with a cleaning solution that 
resists freezing.
 
 Drive slowly. Even if your vehicle has good 
traction in ice and snow, other drivers will travel 
with caution. Do not break the flow of traffic by 
driving faster than other vehicles.
 
 In a rear-wheel drive vehicle, you can normally 
feel a loss of traction or the start of a slide. With 
a front-wheel drive vehicle, there might not be 
a warning. Although front-wheel drive and four-
wheel drive vehicles normally handle better in 
ice and snow, they do not have flawless traction; 
skids can occur without a warning. Do not let the 
ability to better handle a front-wheel or four-wheel 
vehicle make you drive faster than the conditions 
dictate.
 
 The best method to recover from a skid is the 
same for all vehicles.
 
If your rear wheels start to skid:
 
  •  Turn the steering wheel in the direction the 

vehicle is trying to go. If your rear wheels 
slide left, steer left. If they slide right,  
steer right.

 
  •  If your rear wheels start to slide in the other 

direction as you recover, turn the steering 
wheel toward that side. You might have to 
turn the wheel left and right several times to 
get your vehicle completely controlled.

 
  •  If your vehicle has anti-lock brakes (ABS), 

keep your foot with even pressure on the 
brake pedal. If your vehicle does not have 
ABS, pump the pedal carefully. Pump more 
rapidly only as your car slows down. If you 
brake hard with regular brakes, it will make 
the situation worse.

 
If your front wheels skid:
 
  •  Take your foot off the gas and shift to neutral 

or push in the clutch, but do not try to  
immediately steer.

 
  •  As the wheels skid sideways, they will slow 

the vehicle and traction will return. As trac-
tion returns, turn the wheel in the direction 
you want to go. Then put the transmission  
in “drive” or release the clutch and  
accelerate carefully.

 
 To prevent skids on snow and ice, brake early, 
carefully and gently. “Press” your brakes in slow, 
steady strokes. Allow the wheels to keep turning. 
If they begin to lock, decrease pressure on the 
brake pedal. As your vehicle decreases speed, 
you can also shift into a lower gear.
 
 When sleet, freezing rain or snow begin to fall, 
remember that bridges, ramps and overpasses will 
freeze first. Also know that slippery spots may re-
main after road workers have removed the snow. 
 

HOW TO AVOID COLLISIONS WITH DEER
 
 Two-thirds of all deer-vehicle collisions occur 
during the months of October, November and 
December. This is also the time when deer breed 
and when they travel the most. Daily deer activity 
is highest at dawn and dusk, which often is the 
highest time of travel for motor-vehicle com-
muters. Deer travel in groups – if you see one, 
expect more. Areas where there have been many 
deer-vehicle collisions often are marked with 
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deer crossing signs. The New York State Depart-
ment of Environmental Conservation recommends 
these precautions motorists can take to reduce 
the chance of a deer hit:
 
  •  Be careful when you drive at dawn and 

dusk; this is when driver visibility is bad and 
the deer are most active.

 
  •  The risk of deer-vehicle collisions increases 

when deer movements increase during 
breeding season in October, November  
and December.

 
  •  Decrease speed when you approach deer 

near roadsides. Deer can “bolt” or change 
direction at the last minute.

 
  •  If you see a deer go across the road, de-

crease speed and be careful. Deer travel in 
groups, expect other deer to follow.

 
  •  Use emergency lights or flash your head-

lights to warn other drivers when deer are 
seen on or near the road.

 
  •  Use caution on roadways marked with deer 

crossing signs. These signs are put in areas 
that have had a large number of deer- 
vehicle collisions.

 

DRIVING EMERGENCIES
 
 The most important rule in any emergency is 
do not panic. You have a better chance in an 
emergency if you do not let fear take over. In most 
emergencies, you will have a second or two to 
think before you act.
 
 Here is what to do in different emergency 
situations:
 
TIRE BLOWOUT - A thumping sound can be a 
warning that a blowout is about to occur. If you 
hear it, get safely off the road and check your 
tires. If a tire blows out, hold the steering wheel 
tightly and slowly take your foot off the gas pedal. 
If your vehicle skids, handle it as you would on ice 
or snow. Do not use your brake until your vehicle 
is controlled. Leave the road when it is safe to  
do so.

LOSS OF A WHEEL - Handle this as you would 
a blowout. A thump or noise in the wheel can be 
a warning sound. Leave the roadway and stop. 
Then check your vehicle or have it checked.
 
STEERING FAILURE - If your vehicle suddenly will 
not respond when you steer, slowly take your foot 
off the gas pedal, turn on your emergency lights 
and keep your foot off the brake pedal while it is 
safe to do so. The balance of the vehicle will allow 
it to continue going straight, but a sudden change 
in speed could send it out of control. As the vehi-
cle decreases speed, you can brake very carefully 
to bring it to a stop.
 
BRAKE FAILURE - If your brake pedal suddenly 
goes to the floor, try pumping it to increase pres-
sure. If that does not help, use your emergency  
if you can apply it gradually- but use it gently. If 
you shift to a lower gear, it will help your vehicle  
decrease speed. 
 
HEADLIGHT FAILURE - If your headlights sudden-
ly go out, try your emergency lights, parking lights 
and directional signals. These may continue to 
work and can give you enough light to leave the 
roadway safely. If your headlights begin to dim, 
drive to a service station or pull off the road and 
go for help.
 
STUCK GAS PEDAL - Hook your shoe under the 
pedal and see if you can free it. If not, shift into 
neutral and use the brake to slow your vehicle 
and get off the road. Do not turn of the ignition as 
you could loose your steering control or or lock 
your steering wheel. 
 
RUNNING OFF THE PAVEMENT - If your wheels 
move off the pavement, do not suddenly steer or 
swerve back onto the pavement. Ease your foot 
off the gas pedal and brake gently. When your 
vehicle has decreased speed, check for traffic 
behind you, then turn carefully back onto  
the pavement.
 
VEHICLE APPROACHING HEAD-ON IN YOUR 
LANE – Decrease speed, pull over to the right 
and sound your horn to warn the other driver. 
Do not turn into the left lane. If you do, the other 
driver may suddenly recover and pull back into 
that lane, causing a head-on collision. 
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STALLING ON RAILROAD TRACKS - If a train 
approaches, release your seat belt, leave the 
vehicle and get as far away as you can from the 
tracks. Run toward the general direction the train 
is coming from. If you run “down the track” in the 
same direction as the train, you can be hit with 
debris when the train hits your vehicle. When you 
are completely sure no trains are coming, open 
your window to listen for a train and try to start the 
engine. If that fails, shift your vehicle into neutral 
and push it from the tracks.
 
GOING INTO WATER - A vehicle will normally 
float for a while, and you should have time to 
remove yourself before it starts to sink. Release 
your seat belt and escape through a window. An 
open door would cause water to rush in and the 
car could turn over on top of you.
 
 If the vehicle sinks before you can remove 
yourself, get into the back seat. An air pocket can 
form there as the weight of the engine pulls the 
vehicle down front first. When the vehicle settles, 
take a breath and escape through a window. 
When you rise air pressure will build in your lungs. 
Let it out in small breaths through your nose or 
lips as you surface. Do not hold your breath tight 
or try to blow air out; just allow the air to escape in 
a natural way.
 
FIRE - If you see smoke come from under the 
hood, pull off the road and park your vehicle. Turn 
off the ignition. Get away from the car and call the 
fire department. It is dangerous to try to fight the 
fire yourself.
 
BLOCKED VISION - If your hood opens suddenly 
or your vision through the windshield becomes 
blocked by some other object or wipers that have 
failed, you can open the side window so you can 
see. Turn on your emergency lights and carefully 
pull your vehicle off the road and park it.
 

QUESTIONS
 
Before you go on to Chapter 11, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
  •  What should you do if you miss an  

expressway exit? 

  •  What are expressway entrance ramps  
used for?

 
  •  What should you do if an entrance ramp  

is short?
 
  •  When should you signal that you are exiting 

an expressway?
 
  •  What should you check for when you leave 

an expressway?
 
  •  Why is expressway driving different from 

normal driving?
 
  •  What is the main reason night driving is 

more difficult than daytime driving?
 
  •  Driving within the range of your headlights 

indicates you can stop your vehicle within 
about how many feet?

 
  •  What should you do if you are blinded by 

the headlights on an approaching vehicle?
 
  •  Is it best to keep your headlights on high 

beam or low beam when there is fog, rain or 
falling snow?

 
  •  Which direction should you turn your steer-

ing wheel to get out of a skid?
 
  •  How should you use your brake pedal on a 

slippery road?
 
  •  What is the most important rule to remember 

in any emergency?
 
  •  What should you do if one of your tires  

blows out?
 
  •  What is the first thing you should do if your 

brakes fail?
 
  •  What should you do if your wheels move off 

the pavement?
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 As a driver, you must learn to safely share the 
road with a variety of other users. These include, 
but are not limited to: large vehicles, motorcycles, 
mopeds, pedestrians, bicyclists, in-line skat-
ers, roller skaters, skateboarders, slow moving 
vehicles, non-motorized scooters and horseback 
riders. You should know how to safely manage 
the problems they can present and understand 
the special rules they must obey.
 

PEDESTRIANS
 
 Pedestrians are at high risk in traffic. The law  
requires you to be extra careful to avoid a colli-
sion with them.
 
 Look out for children, near schools, bus stops, 
playgrounds, parks and ice cream trucks.
 
 When you back up your car or truck, look 
through your back window for pedestrians. Do 
not rely only on mirrors when children are near. 
Before you back into a driveway, or out of it, get 
out of the vehicle and check behind your vehicle.
 
 Pedestrians are supposed to walk on the side 
of the road and face the traffic in the lane nearest 
them. When you make a right turn, watch for 
those pedestrians on your right. When you make 
a left turn, watch for pedestrians on the other side 
of the road on your left.
 
 Pedestrians are supposed to walk on the side 
of the road and face the traffic in the lane nearest 
them. When you make a right turn watch for 
pedestrians on your right.  When you make a left 
turn, watch for pedestrians on the other side of 
the road on your left.
 
 A special right-of-way law allows blind pedes-
trians to go across the road with a guide dog or a 
white or metal cane. You must always give them 
the right-of-way when they are trying to cross at a 
marked or unmarked crosswalk even if the traffic 
signals or other right-of-way rules are not in  
their favor.

 Remember to move your eyes as you drive. 
Look to either side every few seconds to help  
you spot pedestrians near or approaching  
the roadway.
 
The law requires pedestrians to:
 
  •  Obey traffic and pedestrian signals, traffic 

officers and official signs.
 
  •  Use the sidewalk when available or face traf-

fic as they walk, as far from the near traffic 
lane as possible.

 
  •  Never stand in the road to hitchhike or  

conduct business with motorists.
 
Tips for Drivers:
 
  • Be alert: Always watch for pedestrians. 
 
  • Make sure the pedestrian sees you!
 
  •  Scan the road and the sides of the road 

ahead for pedestrians. 

  •  Do not expect a pedestrian to always follow 
the rules of the road and expect that a 
pedestrian may be entering the roadway 
at anytime, anywhere, including outside of 
crosswalks. Expect the unexpected.

 
  •  Before making a turn, look in all directions 

for pedestrians crossing. Then look 
again.  Particularly, left turns can be a very 
dangerous maneuver for a motor vehicle 
driver. 

 
  •  For example, > 35% of the NYC pedestrian 

injury crashes occur when a driver is 
attempting to make a left turn.  

 
  •  Don’t drive after consuming alcohol or other 

drugs, or when you are fatigued.
 
  •  Do not use your cell phone or text  

while driving.
 
  •  Do not use portable electronic devices, 

headphones or do any other activity that will 
distract you.

CHAPTER 11 /SHARING THE ROAD
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  •  Look carefully behind your vehicle for 
approaching pedestrians, especially small 
children, before backing up.

 
  •  For maximum visibility, keep your windshield 

clean and headlights on.
 
  •  Be responsible: Pedestrians have the right of  

way at all crosswalks.  Yield to pedestrians 
at all crosswalks and intersections, whether 
marked or unmarked. 

 
  •  When there is no traffic control signal, 

drivers must yield the right-of-way to 
pedestrians, particularly if a pedestrian is in 
a crosswalk, or there is potential danger to 
the pedestrian.

 
  •  Every driver approaching an intersection  

or crosswalk must yield the right-of-way to  
a pedestrian.

 
  •  Drivers may be issued a tickets if they are 

involved in a crash with a pedestrian, injure 
a pedestrian/bicyclist or fail to exercise  
due care. 

 
  •  Stop well back from the crossing to give 

other vehicles an opportunity to see the 
crossing pedestrians so they can stop too.

 
  •  Yield to pedestrians when making right or 

left turns at intersections.
 
  •  Expect that someone may be entering the 

roadway or crossing the street that may not 
see or hear you – expect that there may 
be persons with disabilities who may have 
hearing, sight or mobility challenges in and 
around crossings. 

 
  •  Pay particular attention to pedestrians 

accompanied by a guide dog, using a white 
cane or other mobility assistive devices.

 
  •  Use extra caution when driving near children 

playing along the street or older pedestrians.
 
  • Do not block or park in crosswalks.
 

  •  Always stop for a school bus with flashing 
red lights. Never pass or overtake a vehicle 
that is stopped for pedestrians.  
There may be people crossing where you 
can’t see.

 
  •  Obey speed limits and come to a complete 

stop at STOP signs.
 
  •  Use extra caution when driving in hard-to-

see conditions, such as nighttime or  
bad weather.

 
  •  Slow down and be prepared to stop when 

turning or otherwise entering a crosswalk.
 
  •  Be extra cautious when backing-up and look 

for pedestrians.
  
  •  Be aware of your vehicle’s a-pillars (vertical 

supports on the vehicle that are located 
around all glass) as these may interfere with 
seeing clearly (they can create blind spots!)  

 
  •  Never pass vehicles stopped at a crosswalk. 

There may be people crossing where you 
can’t see.

 
  •  Follow the speed limit, especially around 

people on the street, in school zones, in 
neighborhoods where children are present 
and as you approach an intersection.

BICYCLISTS
 
 Bicyclists have the right to share the road and 
travel in the same direction as motor vehicles. 
They are often hard to see in traffic and have no 
protection from a traffic crash. Check your “blind 
spots” before you make a turn, parallel park, open 
a door or leave a curb. Do not depend only on 
your mirrors – turn your head to look for bicyclists, 
skaters and scooter operators that may be next to 
you or approaching.
 
 Give bicyclists room when you drive. Reduce 
speed as you pass them. Air pressure from a 
vehicle that passes them quickly can send them 
off balance.
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 Be aware that the bicyclist near or in front of
you can react to road hazards like a motorcyclist 
would with sudden changes of speed, direction  
or lane position. 
 
Bicyclists must:
 
  •  Ride in a bicycle lane, if available. Where 

there is none, they must remain near the 
right curb or edge of the road or on a right 
shoulder of the road, to prevent interference 
with other traffic. When they prepare for a 
left turn or must move left to avoid hazards, 
cyclists do not have to remain to the right.

 
  •  Come to a full stop before they enter a road-

way from a driveway, an alley or over a curb.
 
  •  Never travel with more than two side-by-

side in a single lane.
 
  •  Never ride on a sidewalk if it is prohibited by 

local laws.
 
 Bicyclists and their passengers ages 1 - 13, must 
wear an approved helmet. Adults must obey any 
local laws or regulations about helmet use.
 
Bicyclists also must:
 
  •  Signal turns, lane changes and stops 

through the use of the hand signals shown. 
A bicyclist can signal a right turn when they 
extend the right arm straight out to the right. 

 
  •  Never carry an infant under a year old as 

a passenger. It is against the law. Child 
passengers ages 1 - 4 must ride in attached 
bicycle safety seats.  

 
  •  Never carry a passenger unless the bicycle 

has a passenger seat.
 
  •  Keep at least one hand on the handlebars 

at all times and do not carry any item which 
prevents correct control of the bicycle.

 
  •  Any bicycle crash that causes death or seri-

ous injury must be reported to DMV within 
10 days of the incident. Bicycle accident 
report forms (MV-104C) are available at any 
motor vehicle office.

 A bicycle driven on public highways must have 
adequate brakes and a horn or bell that can be 
heard at least 100 feet (30 m) away. A bicycle 
used at night must have a headlight visible from 
at least 500 feet (150 m) ahead and a red taillight 
visible from at least 300 feet (90 m) behind. One 
of these lights must be visible from at least 200 
feet (60 m) away on each side. A bicycle sold by 
a dealer must have wide-angle, spoke-mounted 
reflectors or reflective tires, a wide-angle rear 
reflector and pedal reflectors.
 
 The rules of the road and right-of-way apply to 
and protect these and other highway users. You 
must yield the right-of-way to them just as you 
would to another vehicle. And they must obey the 
rules of the road just as motor vehicle drivers do.

Tips for Drivers: 
 
  •  People on bicycles have the same rights and 

responsibilities as people behind the wheel 
of a motor vehicle.

 
  •  Drivers must be alert to the presence of 

bicyclists and drive responsibly to avoid 
colliding with them or encroaching on their 
rightful path of travel.

 
  •  Yield to bicyclists as you would other drivers 

and do not underestimate their speed. This 
will help avoid turning in front of a bicyclist 
traveling on the road or sidewalk, often at an 
intersection or driveway.

 
  • Give bicyclists extra space.
 
  • Make sure bicyclists see you.
  
  •  In parking lots, at stop signs, when backing 

up, when parking, and before opening your 
door,  search your surroundings for people,  
bicycles and other vehicles.
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  •  Learn to recognize common hand signals 
used by bicyclists to indicate right and left 
turns and stopping. 

 
  •  Drivers turning right on red should look 

to the right and behind to avoid hitting a 
bicyclist approaching from the right rear. 
Stop completely and look left-right-left and 
behind before turning right on red.

 
  •  Obey the speed limit, reduce speed for road 

conditions and drive defensively to avoid a 
crash with a cyclist.

 
  •  Give cyclists room. Do not pass too closely. 

Pass bicyclists as you would any other 
vehicle—when it’s safe to move over into 
an adjacent lane. Look before getting out 
of your parked vehicle; avoid opening your 
door into the path of an oncoming bicyclist. 

 
  •  When passing, reduce speed. Air pressure 

from your vehicle can send them  
off balance.

 
  •  Be aware that the bicyclist near or in front 

of you can react to road hazards like a 
motorcyclist would with sudden changes  
of speed, direction, or lane position.

  •  Learn to recognize designated bicycle 
lanes, bike boxes, 2-way cycle tracks, green 
painted cycle lanes and other roadway 
modifications designed for bicyclists to 
operate safely and efficiently. Drivers are 
prohibited from operating in these dedicated 
spaces and must be aware of how bicyclists 
operate in and around these spaces.  

 
  •  Bicycle lane – a marked lane dedicated for 

use by bicycles.
 
  •  2-way cycle track – a marked bicycle lane 

that allows travel in both directions, similar 
to a sidewalk for pedestrians.

 
  •  Bike Box – a marked area at an intersection, 

ahead of where traffic is required to stop. 
This area provides extra space for bicyclists.  
Some bike boxes extend across the entire 
intersection and function similar to a 
crosswalk for pedestrians. 

  •  Green painted bike lanes are used to 
increase visibility to cyclists in some high 
traffic areas. 

 
 The rules of the road and right-of-way apply to 
and protect bicyclists and other roadway users. 
You must yield the right-of-way to them just as 
you would to another vehicle. Bicyclists must also 
obey the rules of the road the same as a motor 
vehicle driver but as a driver you must anticipate 
that they will not follow the rules of the road.

 
IN-LINE SKATERS, SKATE BOARDERS 
AND NON-MOTORIZED SCOOTERS
 
 As with pedestrians and bicyclists, other road 
users such as in-line skaters, skateboarders and 
non-motorized scooters are vulnerable to the 
careless actions of motor vehicle drivers. Motor 
vehicle operators are responsible for safe and 
lawful operation of the vehicles they drive. It is 
important for you, as a driver, to do everything 
possible to respect the safety of all road users, 
including in-line skaters, skateboarders and 
non-motorized scooters. You as the driver are 
responsible to exercise due care by being aware, 
alert, and driving defensively.
 
 Just as you would when keeping an eye out for 
pedestrians and bicyclists, pay attention to the 
presence of other road users and exercise due 
care. Pay particular attention when you observe 
in-line skaters, skateboarders and non-motorized 
scooters operating along the roadside, in a desig-
nated bike lane, when approaching intersections 
and at crosswalks.

MOTORCYCLISTS
 
 As a driver, you share the road with a lot of 
other motorists – not all of which are driving 
cars or trucks. Motorcycles are common on New 
York roads. As a driver, you are responsible to 
be aware of motorcycles and understand how to 
safely share the road with them.
 
 Motorcyclists have the same rights and 
responsibilities as drivers of other vehicles, and 
must follow the same traffic laws as pedestrians, 
bicyclists and skaters. Though you may often see 
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motorcycles on the roads in the spring, summer, 
or fall – you can encounter motorcycles anytime 
and anywhere. Because we don’t see them all 
year, we may not actively think about them. 
 
 Motorcyclists have the same rights and respon-
sibilities as drivers of other vehicles, and must 
follow the same traffic laws. However, motorcy-
clists, like pedestrians, bicyclists and skaters, are 
less visible to drivers. Though you may often see 
motorcycles on the roads in the spring, summer, 
or fall – you can encounter motorcycles anytime 
and anywhere. Because we don’t see them all 
year, we may not actively think about them.
 
 When there is a crash involving a motorcycle 
and another vehicle, the rider (and passenger) 
have a much higher chance of being seriously 
hurt or killed than the driver (and passengers) of 
the other vehicle. Though motorcyclists are re-
quired to wear approved helmets and goggles or 
a face shield, motorcycles themselves do not offer 
the rider the protections that you have with other 
types of vehicles. For example, motorcycles don’t 
protect the rider with a frame around the rider.  
 
 Many drivers who are involved in a crash with 
a motorcyclist report that they did not see the 
motorcycle. The question is “why not?”  
 

 There are several factors that make motorcy-
clists less visible.  
 

  •  Motorcycles, when compared to other 
highway users, are smaller. No matter 
from which direction you view a motorcycle 
(front, back, or side), you’ll find they are 
smaller than most other highway users.  

 

  •  Motorcycles may appear to move faster 
than other vehicles. A motorcycle’s smaller 
size makes it seem much farther away, and 
makes it difficult to judge how far away they 
are or how fast they are going.  

 

  •  Motorcycles may not take up the entire 
lane because they are not as wide as oth-
er vehicles, but an experienced rider may 
move around within a lane to avoid obsta-
cles, or to help them see better. In addition 
to using the full lane, two motorcyclists are 
allowed to ride side-by-side in a single lane, 
but a motorcyclist cannot pass or share a 

lane with another motor vehicle that is not a 
motorcycle. If you are overtaking a car/SUV/
truck, you might not have seen the motor-
cycle in front of that vehicle until you’re 
already in the passing lane. The same holds 
true if you are entering an expressway. You 
may not see a motorcycle that is driving 
in the left portion of the lane you intend to 
merge into.

 
  •  Motorcycle lighting is different, and often 

less obvious, than other vehicles:
 
  •  Headlights and taillights on motorcycles 

must be illuminated when driving. But, 
with so many vehicles equipped with day-
time running lights (i.e. headlights that are 
always on – even in daylight), motorcycle 
headlights don’t stand out.

 
  •  It’s harder to see the brake lights. Tail 

lights on a motorcycle are generally smaller 
in size than those on other vehicles, and 
because motorcycle tail lights are always 
on, the brake lights don’t always stand out.

 
  •  Motorcycles don’t have a tail light at  

eye level. Most cars and trucks are 
equipped with a “Center High Mount Stop 
Light” (CHMSL) which is designed to be 
at, or close to, eye level.  Most motorcycle 
brake lights are mounted lower than eye 
level, which makes them less obvious to 
many motorists.

 
  •  Turn signals on motorcycles are often 

close to the headlight or taillights, which 
can make them more difficult to see. Addi-
tionally, on most motorcycles, the direc-
tional signal does not turn off automatically 
after a turn, so their turn signal may be on 
inadvertently when the motorcyclist has no 
intention of turning.

 
 Intersections can be especially dangerous for 
motorcycles. It’s human nature to notice large 
vehicles first. Motorcycles are smaller than other 
vehicles, and they may seem to “blend in.”  
Numbers help tell the story:
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  •  The National Highway Traffic Safety Admin-
istration reports that, in 2015, 41 percent of 
fatal motorcycle crashes in the US occurred 
with “the other vehicle turning left while the 
motorcycles were going straight, passing, or 
overtaking other vehicles.”  

 
  •  In 2014, there were 4,750 reported motor-

cycle crashes in New York State. 2,546 of 
these crashes involved another vehicle.  
That’s 53.6% of the reported crashes.  

 

 Another factor is that drivers may not see mo-
torcycles simply because they don’t look for mo-
torcycles. It’s human nature to look for something 
specific. A new driver may be told to look for cars 
(and trucks) before going through an intersection 
– and that is precisely what the driver will look for.  
All drivers need to train themselves to look for a 
multitude of hazards (including – BUT NOT  
LIMITED TO - trucks, buses, bicyclists, pedestrians, 
and motorcycles).
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 Because motorcyclists must take additional pre- 
cautions when they come upon special highway 
surfaces, you should know what a motorcyclist 
may do:
 

  •  The motorcyclist may quickly change speed 
or lane position to avoid loose gravel, 
debris, seams or grooves in the pavement, 
sewer or access covers or small animals.

 

  •  When approaching a railroad crossing, a 
motorcyclist may decrease speed and rise 
off the seat to cushion the rough crossing 
and change direction to go across the 
tracks at a right angle.

 

  •  On steel deck bridges the motorcyclist may 
move to the center of the lane to adjust  
for the surface that is not even. Stay a  
good distance behind a motorcyclist in  
this situation.

 

 Drivers need to adjust how they drive around 
motorcycles.  

   •  Don’t tailgate.  Motorcycles can stop in a 
shorter distance than cars – under the right 
conditions.  Also, it may be more difficult to 
notice they are slowing or stopping.

 
  •  If it’s raining, or dark, give motorcycles even 

more space.
 
  •  Be careful when you pass a motorcyclist. 

Like bicycles, the air pressure created by 
vehicles as they quickly pass by can  
affect motorcycles.

 
MOPED OPERATORS
 
 Limited use motorcycles, often called mopeds, 
are low speed, two- or three-wheeled vehicles for 
limited use on public highways. There are three 
different classes of mopeds based on maximum 
performance speed. The chart below describes 
the requirements for moped operation.
 

1 Except when making a left hand turn
2 If a Class C limited use motorcycle is used in a rental business, insurance is 
mandatory.
3  Safety responsibility is the requirement to pay for or post security for damage 

or personal injury you may cause in a traffic crash.
4 Usual learner permit and junior license restrictions apply.

5  least four square inches of reflective material on both sides. Motorcyclists 
must also wear approved eye protection, even if the motorcycle is equipped 
with a windshield. Prescription or made-to-order safety glasses may be used 
if the user can present written certification that they meet DMV standards. 
The eye protection must be manufactured in conformity with the regulations 
issued by the Vehicle Equipment Safety Commission (VESC-8).

GUIDE TO LIMITED USE MOTORCYCLE (MOPED) OPERATION

 Class A B C

 Top speed range mph (km/hr) 31 to 40
(over 48 to 64)

21 to 30
(32 to 48)

20 or less
(32 or less)

 Type of license or learner  
 permit required 4 M ANY CLASS 4

 Registration required YES (A Plate) YES (B Plate) YES (C Plate)

 Headlight to be on  
 when operating

YES YES YES

 Helmet & eye protection  
 required when operating 5 YES YES Recommended

 Where operation is permitted  Any Traffic Lane & Shoulder
 Right Hand Lane or  
 Shoulder 1

 Right Hand Lane or  
 Shoulder 1

 Mandatory insurance required YES YES Recommended 2

YES YES YES Safety responsibility applies 3

 Annual inspection required Recommended

NONONO

YES Recommended

 Title required

ANY CLASS 4
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 Class B and C mopeds can be driven only 
in the right lane of traffic, as far to the right as 
possible. Class A mopeds are allowed to drive in 
any lane and any section of a lane. Mopeds are 
not permitted on expressways or other controlled 
access highways unless posted signs permit it.
 

 When you approach a moped, use the same 
precautions you would when you approach  
a bicyclist.
 

LARGE VEHICLES
 

 In more than 60 percent of all fatal crashes that 
involve cars and big trucks, the car driver, not the 
truck driver, contributes to the cause of the traffic 
crash. Four out of five times, it is the car driver 
who is killed.
 

 Many of these crashes could be prevented if 
motorists know about truck (and bus) limitations 
and how to steer free from situations that are 
unsafe and involve large vehicles.
 

Large trucks, recreational vehicles and buses 
are not big cars. The bigger they are:
 

  • The bigger their blind spots.
 

  • The longer it takes them to stop.
 

  • The more room they need to maneuver.
 

  •  The longer it takes for an automobile to  
pass them.

 

 Different from cars, large vehicles have deep 
blind spots behind them. They also have larger 
blind spots on both sides than cars do. Tractors 
with long hoods can have a blind spot of 20 feet 
in front of the vehicle. You should avoid these  
“no zones.”
 

Side Blind Spots
 

 Large vehicles have large blind spots on both 
sides. If you drive in these blind spots, you cannot 
be seen by the driver. Even if the driver knows 
you are there, if you remain next to the vehicle, 
it can make it difficult for the driver to avoid a 
dangerous situation.
 

Blind Spots in Back
 

 If you remain in the back blind spot of a large 
vehicle, you increase the chance of a crash. The 
other driver cannot see your car and your view of 
other traffic will be 
blocked. 
 

Distance to Stop
 

 Large vehicles 
take much longer 
to stop than smaller 
vehicles that travel 
at the same speed. 
For tractor trailers, 
the difference comes 
from brake delay.  
Air brakes transmit 
brake power from 
the tractor to the 
trailer and this can 
add many feet to the 
distance it takes to 
stop. Leave plenty of 
space between your 
car and the truck. If 
you are in front of a 
truck, indicate your 
intention to turn or 
change lanes early. Do not make  
sudden moves. 
 

Ability to Maneuver
 

Large vehicles are not as maneuverable as cars. 
They take longer to stop and to accelerate and 
they often need to move wide to make their turns. 
 

You can reduce the chance of a collision with a 
large vehicle if you:
 

  •  Do not cut abruptly in front of the large ve-
hicle; when you exit, take a few additional 
seconds to decrease speed and exit behind 
it; when you pass, do not pull in front of it 
unless you can see the whole front of the 
vehicle in your mirror.

 

  •  Pay close attention to the turn signals. 
Because trucks make wide right turns, they 
move to the left before they turn right.  
Look at the turn signals.
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  •  Do not delay near a large vehicle. You may 
not be visible to the driver in the wide area 
the truck needs for making a turn.

 
When you pass
 
 When you pass a large vehicle, it takes a lon-
ger time and requires more space than when you 
pass a car. On a two-way road, leave more time 
and space when you pass a large vehicle. Make 
sure you can see the whole front of the vehicle 
before you return to your lane after you pass. A 
large vehicle normally loses speed on a grade or 
a hill. Look far ahead when you drive. If you need 
to pass a large vehicle, be prepared and know 
when you are near a grade that can cause the 
other vehicle to decrease speed. Also, as your 
own vehicle begins a downward grade, the speed 
of the other vehicle can increase significantly. This 
will increase the time it takes you to pass it.
 
When a truck is backing up
 
 Never pass close behind a large vehicle that 
is backing up. Often a truck driver has to block a 
road to back into an area to load or unload goods.  
Be patient!
 
 It is far better to wait until the large vehicle has 

completed its backup maneuver than to try to 
pass. If you try to pass in this situation, it is likely 
that you will enter one of the blind spots. This 
could make your vehicle invisible to the driver 
and increase the risk of a traffic crash.
 
When you approach a truck
 
 Do not underestimate the size and speed of an 
approaching tractor-trailer or other large vehicle. 
Its larger size will often make it appear to move at 
a slower speed than it really is. Also, from a dis-
tance it may not appear to be as large as it really 
is. The other vehicle will often reach you before 
you expect! When you drive on a two-way high-
way, it is often better to move as far to the right as 
possible to make sure your vehicle will not be hit 
by an approaching tractor-trailer or other  
large vehicle.
 
When you stop behind a truck
 
 Always leave space when you stop in back of a 
truck or bus at a traffic light or stop sign, especial-
ly when you face up a hill. The truck or bus could 
move backward slightly when it starts. If you leave 
enough room between your vehicle and the vehi-
cle ahead, you usually can pull away from behind 
and go around it.

*Distance based on a study of average braking distances by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety + reaction 
distance recommended by the National Safety Council

Passenger Car

Tractor-Trailer With Cool Brakes

Tractor-Trailer With Hot Brakes

Tractor - Trailer, Empty

Tractor Unit Only

Average Total Stopping Distance at 55 MPH*
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SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES
 
 The “slow-moving vehicle” symbol, a reflective 
orange triangle, must be displayed on the back 
of vehicles drawn by animals, most farm vehi-
cles, and construction equipment. The United 
States Postal Service also requires these orange 
safety-triangles to be displayed on all rural mail 
delivery vehicles. Use caution when you approach 
a slow-moving vehicle and make sure it is safe 
before you pass.
 

ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES AND  
SNOWMOBILES
 
 State law allows all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) and 
snowmobiles to legally go across many state 
highways and local roadways. Before they cross, 
they must come to a stop and yield to traffic. They 
must go across at a 90-degree angle to the  
road surface.
 

HORSE RIDERS
 
 Horse riders are subject to, and protected by, 
the rules of the road. They also must ride single 
file near the right curb or road edge or on a right 
shoulder, lane or path that can be used.
 
 The law requires you to be careful when you 
approach a horse being ridden or walked along a 
road. You must drive at an acceptable speed and 
at an acceptable distance away from the horse. It 
is illegal to sound your horn when you approach 
or pass a horse.
 

QUESTIONS
 
Before you go on to Chapter 12, make sure you 
can answer these questions:
 
  •  How do the blind spots around a large com-

mercial vehicle differ from the blind spots 
around a car?

 
  •  How does the stopping distance of a large 

vehicle with air brakes compare with the 
stopping distance of a car?

 

  •  After you pass a large vehicle, what should 
you make sure of before you return to the 
lane of the large vehicle?

 
  •  What is the best method to follow when you 

approach a large vehicle that is in reverse 
as it moves toward a loading area?

 
  •  When children are close, what should you 

do before you back out of a driveway?
 
  •  How can you identify a blind pedestrian to 

whom you must yield the right-of-way?
 
  •  Where must a pedestrian walk when there 

are no sidewalks?
 
  • How must you approach a bicyclist?
 
  • Must a bicyclist obey traffic laws and signs?
 
  •  Where there is no bicycle lane, where on 

the road must a bicyclist ride?
 
  •  What equipment must a bicycle have when 

used at night?
 
  •  What can a driver do to be more aware  

of motorcyclists?
 
  •  What factors contribute to drivers not being 

aware of motorcycles?
 
  • Why are motorcycles harder to see? 
 
  •  Why is it important for a motorist to be 

aware of motorcycles?
 
  •  May three motorcyclists ride side-by-side in 

a single lane?
 
  • What is the slow moving vehicle symbol?
 
  •  Where are you likely to find an ATV, snow-

mobile or horse rider?
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 There are more than 300,000 traffic crashes 
in New York State each year. Even If you obey 
the law and follow the advice in this manual, it is 
possible you will avoid a crash. Yet even the most 
careful drivers are involved in crashes caused by 
events that are not planned or the errors of other 
drivers. If you are in a traffic crash, you must be 
ready to act in a responsible manner at the scene 
and obey the law when you report the incident. 
 
 You can carry an emergency kit in your vehicle 
that has flares and first aid supplies. Emergency 
road-kits are available in department stores or 
stores that sell automobile goods.
 

AT THE SCENE
 
 If you are in a crash, you must stop. The level 
of damage does not matter. You must stop. It is a 
traffic violation to leave the scene of an incident, 
like a traffic crash that involves property damage. 
It is a criminal violation to leave the scene of an 
incident that involves a fatality or personal injury. 
Even if the crash involves only property damage, 
you must exchange information with other drivers 
involved. Give your name, address, driver license 
number and vehicle registration and insurance 
information. This includes the insurance policy 
number and effective date. Give the information 
to the other drivers and police on the scene. You 
must show your insurance identification card if re-
quested. If a parked vehicle or property different 
from a vehicle is damaged or if a domestic animal 
is injured, you must try to find the owner or notify 
the police.
 
 If any person is injured or killed, the police must 
be notified immediately and you should make 
sure ambulance or rescue personnel have been 
called.
 
 If possible, move your vehicle off the road. Pro-
tect the scene with reflectors or flares, but watch 
for any fuel that may leak. Make sure to protect 
yourself and others from oncoming traffic.
 

EMERGENCY FIRST-AID
 
 Do not stop at a crash scene unless you are  
involved or emergency help has not arrived.  
Focus on driving and the directions given by  
traffic officers.
 
 Follow these first-aid tips if help is not immedi-
ately available:
 
  •  Do not move an injured person unless it 

becomes necessary because of fire or 
another life threatening danger. If you must 
move an injured person, keep the back and 
neck as straight as possible. Put your arms 
under the back, and carefully support the 
neck with your upper arms. Hold clothing 
with your hands and pull the victim head 
first away from the danger.

 
  •  If there are wires down, do not go near 

them. If wires touch the vehicle or lay near 
it, warn the occupants to remain inside until 
help arrives.

 

REPORTS TO DMV
 
 If you are in a traffic crash that involves a fatality 
or personal injury, you must report it to the DMV. 
You must also report any traffic incident or crash 
that involves $1,000 or more in damage to the 
property of any one person. The form Report of 
Motor Vehicle Accident (MV-104) is available at 
any motor vehicle office, from most insurance 
agents, and from the DMV website dmv.ny.gov 
(search under Forms).
 
 When you report a crash or incident to your 
insurance company, it does not mean your legal 
obligation is finished. You must file a report with 
DMV within 10 days of the event. The failure to re-
port an accident is a criminal offense (misdemean-
or) and can mean the suspension or revocation of 
your driver license and/or registrations and those 
of the vehicle owner.
 
 If the driver is injured and unable to complete 
the report, a passenger or the vehicle owner may 
do so.

CHAPTER 12 /IF YOU ARE IN A TRAFFIC CRASH

https://dmv.ny.gov/
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UPSTATE REGION
 
Albany 
855 Central Ave 12206
Albany, NY 12206

Peekskill
1045 Park Street 
Peekskill, NY 10566

Syracuse
4671 Onondaga Boulevard,
Western Lights Plaza 
Syracuse, NY 13219

North Syracuse
5801 East Taft Road 
North Syracuse, NY 13212

West Haverstraw
50 Samsondale Plaza, State Route 9W 
West Haverstraw, NY 10993

White Plains
1 Maple Ave
White Plains, NY 10605
 
LONG ISLAND REGION
 
Bethpage
4031 Hempstead Turnpike 
Bethpage, NY 11714

Garden City 
400 Oak Street
Garden City, NY 11530

Hauppauge
250 Veterans Memorial Highway
Hauppauge, NY 11788

Dix Hills
1815 E. Jericho Turnpike 
Huntington, NY 11743

Massapequa
927 Carmans Road, Carmans Plaza Shopping Center 
Massapequa, NY 11758

Medford
2799 Route 112, Suite 1 
Medford, NY 11763

Port Jefferson
3 Roads Plaza,
1055 Route 112 
Port Jefferson, NY 11776
No CDL testing. No written tests.

Riverhead
200 Old Country Road, Route 58
Riverhead, NY 11901
 
METROPOLITAN REGION
 
Manhattan
 
 •  Harlem 

5 West 125th Street 
2nd Floor 
New York, NY, 10027

 
 •  Midtown Manhattan  

366 West 31st Street, 
2nd Floor New York 10001 

 •  License Express 
145 West 30th Street New York 10001 
No permit testing.

 
 •  New York District Office 

11 Greenwich Street  
New York, NY 10004 

Brooklyn – Atlantic Center
625 Atlantic Avenue, 2nd Floor 
Brooklyn, NY 11217

Brooklyn - Coney Island
2875 West 8th Street 
Brooklyn, NY 11224

Bronx District Office
696 East Fordham Road 
Jamaica, NY 11434

Bronx Licensing Center
1350 Commerce Avenue 10461
Bronx, NY

Jamaica
168-46 91st Avenue, 2nd Floor 11432
Jamaica, NY 11432
 
 •  Springfield Gardens 

168-35 Rockaway Boulevard 
Jamaica, NY 11434 

 •  College Point  
30-56 Whitestone Expressway  
Flushing, NY 11354

 
Richmond
1775 South Avenue,
West Shore Shopping Plaza 
Staten Island, NY 10314 
 
Yonkers
1 Larkin Plaza 10701 
Yonkers, NY 10701 

DMV CONSUMER DIRECTORY  
STATE DMV OFFICES
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Allegany
7 Court Street, Court House
Belmont 14813
 
Broome
137 Washington Avenue
Endicott 13760
 
•   Binghamton 

81 Chenango Street 13901
 
Cattaraugus
303 Court Street
Little Valley 14755
 
•  Delevan 

46 North Main Street 14042
 
•  Olean 

1 Leo Moss Drive, 
Suite 1412 14760

 
Cayuga
160 Genesee Street
Auburn 13021
 
Chautauqua
7 North Erie Street
Mayville 14757
 
•  Dunkirk 

3988 Vineyard Drive 14048
 
•  Jamestown 

512 West 3rd Street 14701
 
Chemung 
425-477 Pennsylvania Avenue 
Elmira 14904
 
Chenango
5 Court Street
Norwich 13815
 
Clinton
137 Margaret Street
Plattsburgh 12901
 
Columbia
560 Warren Street
Hudson 12534 
 
Cortland
112 River Street 13045
 
Delaware
1 Court House Square, Suite 1
Delhi 13753
 
•  Deposit 

3 Elm Street 13754
 
•  Margaretville 

773 Main Street 12455

•  Sidney 
21 Liberty Street, Civic Center 
13838

 
Dutchess
22 Market Street, County Office 
Building, Poughkeepsie 12601
 
•   Beacon 

223 Main Street 12508
 
•  Millbrook 

15 Merritt Avenue 12545
 
•  Wappingers Falls 

29 Marshall Road, Suite 3B 12590
 
Erie 
170 Pearl Street, Rath Building, 
Buffalo 14202
 
•  Cheektowaga 

2122 George Urban Boulevard 
Depew 14043

 
•  Eastern Hills Mall 

4545 Transit Road 
Williamsville 14221

 
•  Evans Town Hall 

8787 Erie Road (Route 5) 
Angola 14006

 
•  Amherst - Tonawanda 

2309 Eggert Road Tonawanda 
14150

•  Derby 
6853 Erie Road,  
Derby, NY 14047

•   West Seneca – Southgate Plaza 
1088-B Union Rd,  
W. Seneca 14224 

Essex
7559 Court Street
Elizabethtown 12932
 
•  Lake Placid 

2693 Main St 12946
 
•  Ticonderoga 

132 Montcalm Street Suite 3 
12883

 
Franklin
355 West Main Street Room 107 
Malone 12953
 
•  Saranac Lake 

39 Main Street Suite 4 12983
 
Fulton
223 West Main Street
Johnstown 12095

 
Genesee
15 Main Street County Building 1
Batavia 14020
 
Greene
411 Main Street Catskill 12414
 
Hamilton
County Office Building, Route 8
Lake Pleasant 12108
 
Herkimer
109 Mary Street, Suite 1111
13350
 
•  Old Forge 

183 Park Avenue 13420
 
Jefferson
175 Arsenal Street, County Building 
1st Floor Watertown 13601
 
Lewis
7513 E. State St
Lowville 13367

 
Livingston
6 Court Street, Room 204
Geneseo 14454 
 
•  Dansville 

North Dansville Town Hall 
14 Clara Barton Street 14437

 
Madison
138 North Court Street, Building 4
Wampsville 13163
 
Monroe
1225 Jefferson Rd, Rochester, NY 
14623 Suite A 26 A

•  Rochester Downtown 
200 E. Main St, Suite 101,  
Rochester 14604

•  Greece 
Greece Ridge Mall, 152 Greece 
Ridge Center, Rochester 14626

 
•  Irondequoit 

545 Titus Avenue  
Rochester 14617

 
•  Westside Mobile Units 

1940 West Ridge Road 
Rochester 14626

 
Montgomery
County Office Building
64 Broadway, Fonda 12068
 
Niagara
111 Main Street Lockport 14095

DMV CONSUMER DIRECTORY  
COUNTY DMV OFFICES
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Oneida
321 Main Street Utica 13501
 
•  Rome 

301 West Dominick Street 13440
 
Ontario
20 Ontario Street
Canandaigua 14424
 
•  Geneva 

83 Seneca Street 14456
 
Orange
255 Main St, Orange County Government Center,  
Goshen 10924

•  Newburgh 
128 Broadway 12550

 
•  Middletown 

12 King Street 10940
 
Orleans
14016 Route 31 West Albion 14411
 
Oswego
384 East River Road 13126
 
•  Fulton 

200 North Second Street 13069
 
•  Pulaski 

2 Broad Street 13142
 
Otsego
197 Main Street Cooperstown 13326
 
Putnam
1 Geneva Road
Terravest Corporate Park, Route 312 Brewster 10509
(adjacent to Exit 19 of I-84)
 
Rensselaer
1600 Seventh Avenue Troy 12180
 
•  Schodack 

Schodack Town Hall 
265 Schuurman Road 12033

 
St. Lawrence
80 State Highway 310, Suite 3
Canton 13617
 
•  Gouveneur 

1227 US Highway 11 13642
 
•  Massena 

21 Harrowgate Commons 
13622

•  Ogdensburg 
206-210 Ford Street 13669

 

Saratoga
40 McMaster Street
Ballston Spa 12020
 
•  Clifton Park 

22 Clifton Country Center 12065
 
•  Saratoga Springs 

3065 Route 50, Wilton Mall 12866
 
Schenectady
2025 State Street 12305
 
Schoharie
284 Main Street 12157 
 
Schuyler
105 Ninth Street Watkins Glen 14891
 
Seneca
1 DiPronio Drive Waterloo 13165
 
Steuben
3 East Pulteney Square Bath 14810
 
•  Corning 

77 Victory Highway, Painted Post, NY 14870 
  
•   Hornell 

7604 Seneca Rd, Suite B 14843

Sullivan
100 North Street, County Government Center,  
Monticello 12701
 
Tioga
56 Main Street Owego 13827
 
Tompkins
301 Third Street Ithaca 14850
 
Ulster
244 Fair Street Kingston 12401
 
Warren
1340 State Route 9
Lake George 12845
 
Washington
383 Broadway
Fort Edward 12828
 
Wayne
9 Pearl Street. Lyons 14489
 
Wyoming
6 Perry Avenue Warsaw 14569
 
Yates
417 Liberty Street, Suite 1067
Penn Yan 14527 
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DMV CALL CENTERS
 
Metropolitan New York City:
From area codes 212, 347, 646, 718, 917, 929: 
1-(212)-645-5550 or 1-(718)-966-6155
 
Downstate Call Center General Assistance: 
1-(718)-477-4820
 
Albany Call Center General Assistance:  
1-(518)-486-9786
 
EDL Helpline: 1-(518) 474-9981
 
TTY/TDD (Telecommunications Device for the 
Deaf):
Within New York State: 1-(800) 368-1186,  
Outside New York State: 1-(518) 473-9002
 
To schedule a road test: dmv.ny.gov or  
1-(518)-402-2100
 

IMPORTANT DMV ADDRESSES &  
TELEPHONE NUMBERS
 
Office of Traffic Violations
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
(See DMV Call Centers)
 
To contact a Traffic Violations Bureau
about a scheduled hearing:
New York City TVB: 1-(718) 488-5710
 
Driver Improvement Bureau
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
1-(518) 474-0774
 
Financial Security Bureau
(formerly Insurance Services Bureau)
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
1-(518) 474-0700

Bureau of Consumer & Facility Services
PO Box 2700-ESP
Albany, NY 12220-0700
 
 •  Complaints about a repair shop/dealership/

inspection station: 1-(518) 474-8943
 
 •  Questions about Emissions Inspections: 

1-(518)-473-0597
 
Custom Plates Unit
6 Empire State Plaza
P.O. Box 2775
Albany, NY 12220
1-(518)-402-4838
 
Title Services Bureau
6 Empire State Plaza
Albany, NY 12228
1-(518)-486-4714 
 
 
For the most recent updates of state and county motor 
vehicle office locations, useful DMV addresses
and telephone numbers, and other important information, 
please visit our website.
 
The DMV website: dmv.ny.gov
 
Note: Approximate metric equivalents to U.S. measures 
are provided for information only.
New York State laws and regulations use U.S. measure-
ments only.
 
The information in this manual is as accurate as possible 
at the time of publication but is subject to change. 
This manual is intended to provide basic information and 
cannot possibly cover every traffic law or situation.
 
If you have a question about the information supplied in 
this manual or a situation not covered, consult a motor 
vehicles representative at any motor vehicle office, or 
write to: Office of Communications, Department of Motor 
Vehicles, 6 Empire State Plaza, Albany, NY 12228
 
© Copyright 2018, New York State Department of Motor 
Vehicles. All rights reserved.

TELEPHONE NUMBERS

https://dmv.ny.gov/
https://dmv.ny.gov/
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